We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and staff in very poor surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have just spent a lovely week here as a final "beach-flop" to our 2 week trek around Thailand.The Hotel staff and facilities are great, however it`s location is more than disapointing. We were lead to believe that it was a short stroll to a lovely beach, as we normaly have beach-fronting locations, but it seems that none of the 4+5* Hotels have this facility here. Not only did we have the local "tip" next door, which took some passing in hot humid weather!! but the small un- light street to the town at night was worrying and the beach was not what we had expected in Thailand. After we had tried the Hotel`s Private Beach club and found it to be as poor as our local one, we used the Long-tail boats every day to Railay Beach and others near by which were excellent. So, if you like to stay around the pool, and just like a small reasonably un-spoilt town this Hotel is a winner. Plus the host of small restaurants opposite are very good.

Room Tip: We had up-graded to deluxe, with a garden view, but what we got was a lovely room on the ground floo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacific-junkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Krabi Thai Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

After travelling Cambodia for 6 days we were looking forward to a nice 7 days of total luxury. What a disapointment! The reviews on tripadvisor was far from what we experienced and Camdodia seemed like 5 star plus. I think the Thai Krabi Village is overrated, but if you like kitch,kareoke, noisy aircons and fake grass around yor swimming pool the stay will be ok. The hotel is in a desperate need for a make over and update. Maybe a few years back it was a top rated place to stay. We had a friendly welcome, but the shock came when we were taken to our rooms. Our daughter were travelling with us and we booked 2 deluxe rooms with a confirmation on a double bed room for me and my husband. We were taken to 2 downstairs rooms between the spa and noisy backside cleaners/aircon part of the hotel. When the rooms were unlocked we were greeted by a stuffy mildew smell, rattling aircon, window with a huge chip, no windows that can open, no balcony, no swimming pool view, 2 single beds, small bunker type windows and watching peoples legs as they walked pass the window, broken telephone, 1970-80 TV, broken smoke alarm, no hairdryer, spider webs, dirty walls and a big smile on the managers face saying this is our room. We had no words to describe our feelings. If you ever plan to stay there and is given rooms 901 and 902 - run! We complained immediately to the manager and took photo's of our rooms. The manager was making excuses for everything and her story different everytime we went to her. We also contacted our travel agent, who emailed them immediately. In the end we got a free dinner, 3 free thai massages and free wi-fi for 7 days (The wi-fi was $10 a day) and was promised an "upgrade" the next day. They were quite friendly for 1 day and after our "upgrade" we were given the cold shoulder. The real rooms of the hotel is not bad with beautiful wooden floors and large doors that open onto a balcony, altough the aircon was still noisy.We decided to stay and not move out to another hotel, despite what we experienced the first night. The breakfast is ok, but nothing to talk about and nobody refilled our coffee at the table.They just walked passed us with the coffee and we had to get up most of the time to refill our cups. The only plus was the egg station. We never had lunch or dinner there. Although it is only a 10 minute walk to the beach and with the nr1 trip advisor restaurant in Ao Nang just opposite the hotel, I would not recommend it if you want the real Thailand beach experience and unfotunately first impressions is lasting impressions.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms on the third floor overlooking the swimming pool. Stay away from room 901 an...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hanli750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have just returned from 3 weeks touring Singapore, Thailand and Dubai. We spent a week at the Thai Village after a hectic week in Patong. Our initial impressions were very good, we liked the typical Thai feel of the resort and the quiet location. However we were shocked and amazed when after asking for a bucket of ice to go in our sundowners on the balcony that there would be a charge of 47 Bhats, when asking why we were told they have to buy the ice in they do not have their own ice making facilities. We have travelled all over the world and have never been charged before. I also broke a lid of a body lotion bottle (it fell off the bathroom counter top) I found the maid and she said there were no spares and I would have to pay. Sure enough next morning there was a bill on the bed for 100 Bhats, I sought out the manager and she waived the charge. We saw the no taking of bananas out of the restaurant notice, in fact there were too many notices. On the positive side we took advantage of the shuttle bus to the private beach and the free wi Fi was great. Overall we all felt this could be a great hotel but it just needs to be updated it is in a bit of a time warp.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if mobility is a problem ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just got back from a 10 nights B&B in Krabi Thai Village. The hotel is very well maintained inside and out. The room was large with good air conditioning plus a ceiling fan and a large comfortable bed. The room was cleaned every day. There was a good choice at breakfast, and always someone around to re-fill your coffee or tea cup. The staff were helpful and friendly. We did not eat at the hotel at other times as there is such a wide choice of restaurants etc from just a few minutes walk away.
It takes about 10 minutes at the most to get to the main strip where you can find any type of food you fancy (including McDonalds if you want it !!) Directly opposite the hotel is Carnivore restaurant, this serves the best steaks and ribs that we have had... anywhere ! and the seafood soup is excellent !! You will need to book as it gets very busy, but it is well worth a visit (or two). We were out and about most days as there are plenty of things to do and Ao Nang is a very good base for getting around by taxi, tuktuk, bus and boat. However one day we planned to stay at the pool, but the beds were all covered with towels by 10:00 am...not too much of a problem for us - we just went out - but it may be for some people. The only thing I can complain about is the price charged in the bar. Including 10% service charge and 7% hotel tax it cost us about £24 for 4 glasses of red wine, which I thought was rather a lot. All in all the hotel is of a very good standard and in great location, just far away enough from the main strip to be quiet and close enough to everything you need for a great holiday

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaP764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Lots of people have moaned about the distance from this hotel to the main street - its about 10 mins or less - and the benefit far outweighs the negatives of this. Namely its very peaceful. Sitting by the pools you can here birds sing and it feals a little like your in the country rather than just 10 min walk to the town.

The hotel now has free wifi in teh lobby bar which is good. Prices are a little on the hign side compared to the other bars and restaurants - and can be a little costsly sitting by the pool ordering drinks all day.

A bit of adice to the hotel - please stop people putting towels on beds first thing in teh morning and then not coming back to them until past lunchtime!

Rooms are a good size and clean - with nice balconies.

There are two exceptional restaurants directly outside the hotel - Cafe del Mar which is Thai and do a wonderful Massomon and Red Curry as well as delicious prawn toasta and Spicy Papaya salad and teh dutch owned Carivore - awesome staks and ribs coooked perfectly - any questions feel free to message me

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuggsSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great staff. Great hotel. Great pool bar. Great rooms. Loved it.
Off the main drag of Ao Nang, Tutu bikes right outside the hotel for the 10 minute drive to Central Point and the beach. The seafront is busy and full of tourist clothes shops with copy clothes. Barter barter barter. Some very good prices.
Back to the hotel. Breakfast the same every morning but plenty of choices. Pool area clean and safe for children. Pool bar staff very good and friendly.
A great place to explore Ao Nang and the islands off the coast,

Room Tip: Book 2nd or 3rd floor over looking the pool. Rooms to the left of the pool are the best as you great...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johngfry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Been there Feb 2013 with family
Really nice clean hotel. Peaceful and good for rest, Reasonable distance from town centre makes it good base. Air-con in rooms plus fan on the celling.
Be aware - free internet only in lobby [slow due to guys watching rugby permanently via internet...] - in room wifi is paid extra good speed :) - best value buy 7 days access.

Overpriced restaurant - but again close to town centre and there you can eat for 5 times cheaper.
Same about in hotel SPA - but if you need touch expensive luxury - go for it :)
Overall very good hotel.

Room Tip: Higher level of rooms near restaurant may have free wifi in range
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Projektvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#18 of 109 in Ao Nang
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#31 of 109 in Ao Nang
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 109 in Ao Nang
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Address: 260 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £29 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing