We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend if you get the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #55 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would recommend if you get the right room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We arrived at Krabi Thai Village Resort on the 31st of March 2013. After a 27 hours of travelling, door to door, we were shown to our room, we paid extra for an executive. The room was on the ground floor at the far end of the hotel with NO view! We had requested a higher floor as the ground floor rooms people could walk past and look into the room so the curtains had to be kept shut at all times and we could not sit on the terrace due to people walking past! So, no privacy. We immediately asked to be moved and were told that another room would be available for us the following day. We moved at 10 am the following morning to a 3rd floor room (934) overlooking the pool bar and pools. We were very happy with this room.
Now, onto the hotel itself. As you are doing now, we read reports on trip advisor regarding the establishment. Take no notice of all the negative comments as most of them are untrue (for us anyway).
Some of the staff are very friendly but the pool staff not so much. We read that there would be no pool beds available due to them being saved early morning. We have been at the pool most days with plenty of beds available ALL through the day, at times only 6 people up on the top pool.
There is free wifi in the lobby bar which everybody goes down to use but the bar has NO atmosphere at all. There are two singers on every night and, to be honest I feel sorry for them as no one listens to them as people have their faces stuck in an I pad or phone! Bar prices are cheaper than where we stayed last year (Centara Grand Beach Resort) but still too expensive considering you have plenty of places to go just outside the hotel. Happy hour is between 6pm and 7pm and then again between 10pm and 11pm. Food is nice in the hotel but again you can eat out just as good and a lot cheaper.
I have to agree with many reports that the breakfast is limited but nice, especially the freshly made omelettes.
As for the gym well, there is one but none of the machines work! My husband runs every day at home on the tread mill and one of the reasons for choosing this hotel was for the use of the facility. He has to get up at 6 am in order to run on the beach before it gets too hot!
We went to the Hilltop Restaurant which is on the hill at the the back of the hotel and it was lovely. We had 2 starters, 2 mains, a few beers, glass of wine and 4 cocktails which came to just over 3,000 baht. A couple of nights later we went to the Lae Ley which is the one just a little lower down, we found this to be a lot better, with a better food choice and service was outstanding, prices a little cheaper which is always a bonus.
With being here last year we knew what was around and to be honest we have done far more this year than we did last as the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main town but plenty to see when walking down. Yes, there is a a little waste ground just as you turn left out of the hotel but by no way will it spoil your holiday.
In summery. I would recommend this hotel depending on the room you get.

Places that we recommend.

The last cafe ( between 4pm & 5pm) monkeys playing on the beach nice to watch with a glass of wine, me with the wine not the monkeys!
Mr. Cocks street bar
Lae Ley restaurant.
Hilltop restaurant
No 18, on the beach for a massage
Black canyon coffee house for the best coffee and milk shakes (the best vanilla milk shake ever for 60 baht)
Long tail boat to Railey beach 400 baht return (but be careful, they will not bring you back till the boat has 8 people on it.) We waited nearly 2 hours and ended up paying more for him to bring us back!!!!! Lovely beach with lots of bars and cafes.

Date today 12th March 2013 and we are still here. Weather is very, very hot! Looking forward to Songkran tomorrow.

Hope this has been of some help.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank HARRUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    291
    144
    57
    36
See reviews for
141
385
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Room 133 top floor nice and spacious...staff helpful.....breakfast was adequate unless u want the shebang....couple of good restaurants nearby namely hilltop,lealay grill and carnivore....and a cheap thai one that looks like a shack nice tho....10 mins walk into town..

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights just last week. Our room was great with fresh flowers left on the bed every other day. The maids were very efficient. Breakfast was fine but nothing special. We didn't have evening meal here so I can't comment. Pool area was nice but a little tired in places and the service at the bar was very slow. Reception area was very pretty and the staff helpful. Air con and fan in the room but both were noisy and my husband wore earplugs for the last few nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynU862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at Krabi Thai Village last year, for sonkran, with our family and friends. We had a terrific time. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were great and the service for the rooms was excellent-if you needed anything, including any type of maintenence, it was done very quickly. The pools are surrounded with astro turf that I feel is good, as who wants ants, bugs or whatever crawling over you. The pools are kept in good condition and the top pool was quite warm (better than too cold). The hotel is built on a hill side and during the day you can hear the wild animals, my daughter was calling to a gibbon that would respond, each time, from the jungle-wow! Breakfast was good with a large variety of dishes. We tended to eat away from the resort during the day as we were always touring around. We had clothes washed/cleaned at a little shop just down the road from the resort, at a very reasonable price (charge per kilo). Boat trips to the islands were excellent with meals included in the price. We are preparing to make this trip, to the same resort shortly and we are looking forward to it again-meeting the beautiful Thai people and experiencing their culture and food.

I am unable to understand these people who have made adverse comments about this place-oh well, it takes all sorts and some have greater expectations than others-maybe they don't know how to have fun and relax (try a laxative next time???)

We have also met with people from other countries and during this time, not one person complained-all were very happy with the resort and its staff.

Krabi Thai Village-be warned, Sue, my family, friends and I are on our way back to again enjoy your hospitality and culture. Brian

Room Tip: All rooms appear to face towards the pool areas-palm trees, in front of some balconies can obstruct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianB332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

very pleasant hotel.excellent swimming pools very clean, problems during busiier periods with people reserving sunbeds with towels.good choice for breakfast omlettes very good,however the price of drinks tend to make you eat in local restaurants where both food and drink are reasonably priced and very good quality(the banbusaba in particular)the room was kept spotless by a wonderful maid(,we were in 805)the only downside was the fact that the room was so dark and the fountain outside the room was home to some rather nasty mosquitos

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have just arrived here and we are deffinetly not disappointed, trip from the airport is a very quick 20minuets or so and get a real insight to thailand culture passing local shops, houses and temples. On arrival you are greated with complementry drink which is very refreshing and a lovely thai warm welcome, you baggage and yourself are shown to the room however you do not carry your bags this is done for you for a small charge (optional). We arrived mid day and had read reviews about sun beds being taken however this was not the case, but could change as stay go's on. Staff are very friendly however English is limited which is understandable considering we can't speak thai, the staff are consistently trying there best for you to make your stay enjoyable. Room is large and modern offering classic thai mixed in with modern, large walk in shower and a bath with seperate sink. However my only problem was storage with three adults in one room its alittle tight. We have not yet ventured outside hotel but are sure the thai culture and warm welcome will continue. Food in hotel is amazing and priced well, we are on half board which is worth paying extra for. As I have said we have had no problem as of yet, don't let other remours put you off and see it for yourself as everyone is different and expect different things from a holiday.

Room Tip: Definetly go for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meganb5395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worplesdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed in Krabi Thai village for 8 nights and was very happy with everything. The hotel has a great location about 3mins from the main Ao nang street which has lots of shops, bars, restaurants. We had a lovely room on the first floor (928) overlooking the pool. Breakfast was good I don't understand people who are saying it is repetitive. I wonder what they eat at home as the breakfast choice includes everything from fruit to proper cooked meals. Can't comment on other food in hotel as we always ate in the nearby restaurants. The Hilltop restaurant almost next to the hotel is a MUST. It has amazing views so don't forget to book it for about 6.15pm when the sunset starts. The pools in the hotel are clean. Free wi-fi only in the lobby bar. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpfull. 10 min walk from Ao nang beach. Overall great hotel with great location.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vera211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#13 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#16 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Property: Krabi Thai Village Resort
Address: 260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing