We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in January 2014. We had purchased an internet deal and were not sure what to expect, we had read some bad reviews, but we were pleasantly suprised. We loved the resort and would stay there again. Our room was lovely, it was an Executive Deluxe room on the top level overlooking the pools. It was large, clean, had a great view, was very quiet, had a lovely hot shower and a good air conditioner and ceiling fan. Each night we would have a different flower arrangement on our bed which was really sweet.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the tour desk staff organised all our tours which we really enjoyed. The breakfast was great, could not have asked for more. We only ate there one night as we wanted to experience the other local restaurants, but the one meal we had was very nice. The good thing is that if you don't want to eat here you don't have to as there are plenty of other restaurants in walking distance. The "Hilltop" restaurant next to the hotel was lovely.

Yes the resort is a 10 minute walk to Ao Nang and the beach (which other people have complained about) but that is not the resorts fault, people should research before they stay here if they want to be right on the beach. We were not concerned about this at all, we love walking and it was only a 10 minute walk and is interesting to see the local sights on the way. You could either walk on the main road, which was very safe, or a quieter path with no cars. As we spent the best part of every day either at the beach or on day tours to the local islands, we were happy enough to not be right on the beach once we returned to the hotel. It was very quiet and private.

The pools were lovely, all very big and clean. The top pool was a quiet area and was for adults only which suited us. The bottom pool had a pool bar which was great and a seperate smaller pool for the kids with a playground area.

We did go the gym once which was well equipped. One cross trainer was not working but the other one was and there was lots of other equipment and weights.

The area around Krabi was beautiful, it was only a short boat trip from Ao Nang to the Railay Peninsula which was stunning. And the day tours to the local islands were great, we did the Four Islands Tour, Hong Islands and James Bond Island. The only thing I would say is that if you don't like to be crammed on a boat with lots of people spend a bit more and take your own private tour.

Overall we loved our trip and would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet, peaceful atmosphere and don't mind a short walk to the town and beach. Just make sure you ask for a nice room as I am not sure what the cheaper rooms are like.

Room Tip: Go for an Executive Deluxe room on the top level overlooking the pool. Large bright room, very quie...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Krabi Thai Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel during the off season so got it at a very good price (1500 per night). For that specific price, it was very good. Room was large and had everything you'd want. Although the bathroom did smell a little musty. Breakfast was great, good selection of western and thai, plus lots of fruit. Pool is lovely, as are the grounds. Staff could have been friendlier, but weren't necessarily rude. Location is good, right next to a few very good restaurants. It's a 20 minute walk to the beach, but, your in Thailand, just rent a bike for 200 baht and go explore yourself. All in all, I'd recommend it. If I had paid 4000/5000 per night, I would have given it a lower rating, but for what we paid it was good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lukeyp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We loved this hotel - the pool was amazing, great cocktails at the swim up bar. The rooms were gorgeous with a private balcony, we found it very clean and comfortable (aside from the lack of a door to the toilet). Sure the staff don't have perfect English, but they communicated perfectly well enough to provide everything we needed and were very friendly and helpful. We also felt very safe here. Lots of kids around too - seemed quite family friendly. We were sad to leave this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 857cz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Krabi thai village earlier this month.

'Ok' is the best way to describe everything really... Breakfast, staff, pool area, bar....

The rooms are nice and spacious with comfy beds and all the amenities you need. It is close enough to stroll to all the shops, beach, monkey trail and restaurants in ao nang.

I did have my sunglasses taken out of my beach bag on my lounger which was upsetting- they were irreplaceable and we were only in the pool a couple of metres away for no longer than 15 minutes.

The staff were not interested or helpful at all which was disappointing. I could tell they wanted us to just drop the subject and forget about it, which made me feel like I didn't want to stay there any longer really.

Overall, very mediocre... A few nights stay is fine. However, if you want a relaxation and luxury or you're going for a special occasion, I would stay somewhere else.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dreammeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The resort itself is nice and quiet , good facilities, room was clean and specious, bed was comfy and the room had the usual amenities (TV, tea/coffee making facilities, air con, safe). one thing bother us was that every morning cleaners make lot of noise... very nice swimming pools with bar within. Breakfast selection is good. Staff friendly... Free Wi-Fi only in the lobby area..
It's about 10 min walk from hotel to the beach and town , road leading to the town has no pavement so you have to watch yourself :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

the resort itself is nice, we booked for executive rooms and they are huge. breakfast selection is good they even have some thai dishes which was very impressing. they even have a bar within the pool so we can order drinks there. the staff are not so helpful but i think it's because of the language barrier.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Arrived reasonably late for the check-in in the evening after a very stressfully airport transfer journey in a minibus driven by “Prince Bira”. So we relived that we were expected and found the registration and welcome processes refreshing and very calming. We were shown to the room and our bags were delivered to us in the room.

On the first night, there was an awful drain/toilet smell in the bathroom which had also permeated into the bedroom given the layout of the room. This caused some distress and raised our anxiety levels and also set our expectations for the rest of our stay. In addition we noticed the next morning that shower hadn’t been cleaned properly since the last occupants left the room (see picture) and TV was not working. The next morning we reported the problems once we found one of only two people who really spoke and understood English. To the hotel’s credit the issues were resolved by the time we returned to our rooms the very same afternoon. The rest of our stay regarding the housekeeping and maintenance of the room remained issue free.

Generally we found the hotel facilities and rooms a little bit tied and dated which in turn was reflected in the quality of the service received from the staff. Invariably the staff looked sullen and reserved when performing their duties. Interestingly whenever they talked amongst themselves they were gregarious, all smiles and full of the joys of life.

There was a tendency for the staff to use the same facilities provided for the guests. It was disconcerting to see staff members waiting outside the guest toilet facilities with their plastic measuring jugs or aluminium kettles full of water, talking to their colleagues who were inside performing their ablutions and using the toilets meant for the hotel guests! We noticed this in the main toilets in the reception area as well as the pool side guest toilet facilities. Occasionally, their mobile phones would ring and they would be content to answer their calls in the middle of the breakfast service. I noticed a couple of times, staff members smoking away whilst going about their duties within the hotel grounds.

The breakfast service was of mixed quality. The fruit salad and vegetable salads were good as was the freshly cooked to order omelettes and scrambled eggs service each morning but the “English” breakfast offerings were basically disgusting - Tinned sausages cooked in their own brine, tinned ham cooked in their own brine, burnt to a crisp bacon and brown chicken bacon! There was also quite a generous choice and quantity of good quality Thai curries and dishes but we wondered if these were cooked for the staff to consume later as very few guests were selecting from this range. One morning we saw a cockroach meandering along the restaurant floor. We pointed it out to one of the waiters who just nodded and smiled but ignored it! On our last morning we went down for breakfast at 06:45am but despite the breakfast service starting at 06:30am, the staff were still in the process of setting up, female staff members were preening and grooming themselves in the corner of the restaurant whilst another staff member was helping themselves to the breakfast already set out.

The Hotel bar lacked atmosphere and ambiance. The resident hotel singing duo tried their best to liven up the evenings but they failed miserably. The bar prices were expensive compared to the bars and restaurants opposite the hotel so hardly anyone used the bar for its original purpose. This was the only point where the free wi-fi service was available so everyone used it for that purpose only which created a very internet café style soulless atmosphere. On the odd occasion we decided to have a late night drink in the bar, the bar tender made it pretty obvious by his actions that we wanted to lock up. It was only 11:00 pm.

The hotel had laid on a “compulsory” Christmas Eve gala with a buffet dinner and entertainment at considerable price for the guests. It appeared that additional staff had been bought in to act as waiters and servers for the evening. But this turned out to be a very chaotic evening, with drink orders getting confused and mismanaged, dinner dishes were incorrectly labelled, coffee was served from the tea urns and tea from the coffee jugs. Lots of staff wearing Chef’s hats about but none could tell you which fish or shellfish cooking on the grills were ready to eat or where certain advertised dishes were being served. Occasionally, they refused to serve you the selected grilled fish without any explanation giving the impression that they were reserving the food for themselves. A large proportion of the guests left the gala show once they had eaten their dinner due to the chaotic nature of the evening. The traditional entertainment would have been interesting to watch were it not for the layout of the dinner tables (high seating chairs near the stage and lower once furthest away from the stage). So the guests towards the back couldn’t see much of the show. Also towards the end, and during the final acts, the staff started stacking chairs in front of the stage and blocking the view of the remaining guests who had remained to watch the show.

One major presence that was missing from the hotel was that of any hotel management. There was not clear leadership around and the staff appeared to doing their own thing. We got the impression that the staff thought the hotel was theirs to utilise and the hotel guests were just an irritating distraction.

With a bit of management giving proper leadership, direction, training and motivation to the staff this really could be a 4 star hotel it claims to be but during our stay it was a long way from that 4* standard.

Room Tip: Any issues should be reported asap allowing the staff to resolve issues.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#20 of 109 in Ao Nang
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#31 of 109 in Ao Nang
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Address: 260 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £29 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing