We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and smelly !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #53 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very average and smelly !”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

In short Krabi itself is not the real Thailand ! its more like Costa Krabi, If you want to see Thailand go to Phi Phi or Koh Lanta , do the islands etc...
Krabi is a giant tourist trap these days with Krabi Thai village 25 min walk away from the cheap shops selling tacky rip offs.

Hotel is tired and full of families and screaming kids ! Hmm sorry bit not my idea of heaven !

Rooms are pretty, but as soon as you switch the air con on in the evening, the smell of sewage hits you ! not nice.

Pool is worn and cloudy from all the sun oil, obviously not cleaned daily !

Food overpriced £60 for two in the evening. (excluding wine)

On the whole wouldn't come back , was ok for a few days but not a patch on the places we stayed in in Bangkok - Hilton Millenium 5* Zeovola Hotel 5* on Phi Phi.

Wish we had chosed the Amari Vogue or Sheraton.

Oh yes and finally at 5.30 they have a buy one get one free cocktail time, It was embarrasing to see only big fat red sunburned Brits holding up the bar over the age of 50 trying to chat up the bar maids ! Rule Brittania !! Hmmm right !

Finally Ao Nang beach - full of long tail boats- Not great - AFTER PHI PHI ISLAND THE BEACH WAS NO COMPARISON.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    294
    145
    59
    36
See reviews for
143
389
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We have just returned from The Thai Village hotel - this hotel was excellent, very clean, wonderful room overlooking the pool, certainly four star standard. The food was very good, plenty of variety. The hotel is in a good location handy for the beach etc. We visited the local bar and restaurant across the road Swaisee which was very good. We would not hesitate to recomend this hotel.

The Manager and staff and were very helpful and friendly and always smiling nothing was too much trouble.

Janette & Dave Campbell

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbellDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We arrived on 2nd February staying 10 days at Thai Village. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff very helpful and polite. No lift - our room was on the third floor, luckily the bell boys brought up the cases! Very quiet at night. You don't need to bring any towels, toiletries or hairdryer. Free towels for pool from the pool bar and from reception to take to the beach. Always got sun loungers, though some inconsiderate people did leave their towels on them very early. Pools were well maintained. Pool side bar good for cocktails and food though a bit pricey. Very quiet at hotel , mainly scandinavian traveller - any english books quickly disappeared from the book table! There was a singer in the bar each night but very few people seemed to eat dinner at the hotel. Superb restaurant opposite hotel - something del Mar - and recommend Blue Mango on the road to the beach but everywhere served good food. Had one massage in hotel but pricey, and not as good as the two massage p;aces over the road or the one next to Thai Thai restaurant on the beach. The coconut oil massage was fabulous. Taxi rank over the road and Tuk tuks cost 40baht to and from the beach though easy walking . Booked several trips through the rep - did Phi Phi islands and 4 islands which were very good and great for snorkelling and the rainforest and tiger temple one. All excellent value. Had half a day at Ao Nang cookery school - really enjoyed it. Watch out for jelly fish on beach. Good idea to use Deet insect repellent in evening but didn't need malaria tablets here.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We've just returned from our third trip to Thailand however this was the first time we'd visited the Krabi area and this hotel. We loved the Thai Village Resort and couldn't fault it. The staff in traditional Thai style were very friendly and couldn't do enough. We had a fantastic view from our room overlooking the pool and the tropical surroundings and the room itself was great. The restaurant had a good variety of foods on offer at sensible prices . It was also a nice distance to walk down to Ao Nang beachfront to try the local offerings so didn't feel like we were trapped in the hotel. Would definitely go back here in the future given the chance. Having usually spent most of our time in Phuket in the past, in Patong Beach we loved Ao Nang as an alternative - still commerical and lots going on but had a nicer feel and more scenic. Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Liked — tropical surroundings, pool
  • Disliked — staying on top floor of building - lots of steps
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eb144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at the village resort at the end of January 2009. We read the reviews before going and I think there may be some confusion between this hotel and the Krabi Resort just down the road. Be that as it may we found the hotel very nice. It is quiiet and we had no trouble getting sunbeds around the pool. The hotel is a little tired and the food and drinks are overpriced. A beer across the road was 100 baht for a large Singha but it was 180 bahts for a small Singha in the hotel. Similarly the food was pricey, a simple fried rice just outside the hotel was about 80 baht. It was not a problem as there are 4 restaurants immediately over the road from the hotel and the food was excellent in all of them. Ao Nang itself is a short walk, it is 1 mile to the last fishermans bar, at the far end of the beach lovely for sunsets and a cold beer after the walk. We saw the monkeys but were warned by a doctor that there was a risk of rabies so we just watched them.
Overall the hotel was good as there was enough support around, in one review they mention that the hotel missed a trick with its prices and I agree. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — prices
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Krabi: Krabi Thai Viallage Resort
Date: Jan 16 2009
Reviewer: BJCB Nottingham England
This is not a 4* hotel; just about a 3*
The pool area was tired and uninviting. The sun beds and mattresses were well past their best - rusty and stained. There was a constant drain smell around the pool and this was also prevalent in the bathrooms - very smelly.

We were in executive rooms but although large they were very dark and the bathroom just didn't work. No privacy when using the toilet!! The furnishings were ok but nothing special; not 4* standard. The lighting made shaving and putting on make up difficult. There was a good English speaking movie channel on the TV and we did get two bottles of drinking water each day. There were slippers in the room and we have travelled and stayed in many hotels where these are complimentary. On checking out we had to pay 150 bhat for them!! There was no noticed in the rooms to this effect so beware do not take the slippers!!

The breakfast was poor and unless you went in at 7am (we did on our last day due to getting to the airport) the food was cold. We complained but nothing really improved. The selection of cold breakfast fruit etc. was not varied in the 6 days we were there. The tea was always very hot though.

Prices in the bar were expensive and they did have a happy hour but we were not allowed to drink the happy hour drinks in the reception area next to the bar ( which was more comfortable and better furnished) for some bizarre reason. It was never really busy in the bar due to the price and being uninviting.

The whole hotel was very tired around the edges and we would not go back and certainly would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Standard
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBJBNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in December. We also stayed in the Kata Thani in Phuket and Phi Phi Island village. They were both miles in front of Krabi Thai Village. I couldn't fault either of those.

Although the hotel was up a hill that wasn't really a problem, if you were feeling lazy you could get a tuc tuc that didn't break the bank. There are also some lovely restaurants on the walk down to the town.

The reception area is very impressive and we did got a lovely welcome. However I felt that some of the staff uniforms looked a bit shabby. I know that might sound pedantic, but in the other hotels we stayed in the staff looked really smart and I feel it makes a difference. I also felt that the staff were not as helpful as they could have been.

There were two big pools that were great but I felt that it needed some improvement. Even a lick of paint.

I couldn't really fault the room. Was presented beautifully on arrival.

The breakfast was not very good, often some of the intended hot food was served cold ie eggs, pancakes and bacon.

Overall it was fine, nothing special. I also feel that 6 nights was too long in Krabi, I think 4 would be plenty.

  • Liked — The large bedroom
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baileyOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#15 of 108 in Ao Nang
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#20 of 108 in Ao Nang
611 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krabi Cha-Da Resort
Krabi Cha-Da Resort
#54 of 108 in Ao Nang
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Property: Krabi Thai Village Resort
Address: 260 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing