We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #57 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Our large "wedding group" continued from Phuket over to Krabi for the final 4 days of our holiday. We stayed 4 nights at Krabi Thai Village.
When we checked in, all 8 rooms were waiting, swift check in then a group chat about the hotel from the Manageress with welcome drinks. Perfect!
3 of our rooms were very lucky, we got our room upgraded total surprise)
Our room was huge, beautiful flower arrangements every day on our bed, rooms very clean and I loved the fact it had Air con and a ceiling fan above the bed (I hate aircon when sleeping). The other rooms the group were staying I were just as lovely just a tiny bit smaller. Simply lovely.
The pool is in the middle of the hotel with 9 blocks going around it. There are no lifts in this hotel so if you are not fit or cant do stairs make sure your on the ground floor. Even though this hotel is big it feels very personal, small and quiet.
The breakfast in the morning was ok - nothing special - some of the waitresses looked rather grumpy and extremely thin but I just figured it was because it was early morning and they clearly needed a good meal!
The lunches were lovely in the hotel except from the fish cakes. Loved that we can order lunch by the pool and the service was just as good as sitting in the hotel restaurant.
The spa was lovely but in hindsight I should not of been so lazy and gone for a massage near the sea front.
Drinks in the hotel were expensive by the time you added the tax on top! But they gave you lovely crisps with them!
The hotel is a 5 minute walk/stroll to the main strip/area of Al Nang. or a 1 minute tuk tuk ride (20 bhat per person) at a standard cost. Loved the Tuk Tuk's!
Across from the hotel there is a few restaurants - which were lovely - plus the Indian on the corner (after 2 weeks away I needed an Indian) was superb.
Overall I would go to this hotel again if I went back to Ao Nang. Near to lots of restaurants bars and the stalls. A little bit of luxury in a busy place!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2010

We found the rooms of excellent standard; spacious, nicely decorated, with all amenities. The housekeeping was excellent and the service was in general ok, We had some trouble with the AC making some noise, and this was not addressed by the staff even though we mentioned a couple of times. Other than that the staff was forthcoming and engaged. We had a go at the spa treatment, which was great. The pool is a nice design and has a cool pool-side bar. Note that the hotel is situated some 10 mins from the action in Ao Nang, but staying in Ao Nang in the first place requires able-bodied people and the quick walk down to the seaside was never a problem. The hotel is situated next to the forest so it is quiet and nice. All in all a great experience staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerimo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Hotel was very dated & a bit far away from the beach,
Breakfast was a bit boring and very suprised at the hard unflavoured pinapple in a country were it normally so juicy and sweet!
Coctails watery and tasteless.
We chose the Hotel as it had a gym as my partner is training for the London Marathon. The gym is deadly, Beach running was the only option.
Bell boys were lovely and friendly
Other staff OK but did not really go out of there way as they normally do in the other Thai Hotels tht we have stayed in,
We had a lovely holiday but would chose a different hotel next time

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieGSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.
Its not close to the beach and even when we did get to the hotel our room was so far away (top floor second room to the end) and there arent any lifts.
The room was cleaned well but very very oudated, the bedding was always tatty (sometimes threadbare and sometimes torn) the floors in the bathroom and main room were very slippery as are the walkways to the rooms.
Breakfast is exceptionally bad and after the first 3 days we stopped bothering - really awful, from the coffee to the rubbish toaster and cold eggs (if you ask for fresh they insist you take the ones out meaning that you get a cold old egg, when we were lucky enough to get there just in time for fresh ones they were undercooked!) the 'crispy' bacon was the chewiest thing ive ever eaten, so after that we didnt eat in the restaurant in the evening.
The staff are lazy (i feel awful saying that but they are literally hiding round the corners to avoid doing anything) and want tipping for EVERYTHING. Our phone in the room didnt work (we were charged for asking front desk to ring a taxi for us, it took seconds and i still cant believe that they charged us)
The aircon was noisy, the room smelled like sewage and it was incredibly noisy, we had 3 nights good sleep out of 11. I have no idea what the noises were, the would range between screeches and bangs and one night we were woken to the sound of somehing (animals presumably) running on the roof, even though the roofs werent flat so even worse this means that it was in the ceilings!!!!!!
As we couldnt use the phone (which i told the manager about) we purchased an overpriced internet voucher to use the hotels 'high' speed internet and computers - MASSIVE mistake, it was costly and worked for 5 minutes before crashing. We had 24 hours worth of usage and we were never able to get onto the internet again. There a 1bt/per min inernet cafes in Ao Nang so we used those in the end.
I really wouldnt recommend this hotel, Krabi is beautiful so go but please dont stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GemGem1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The room was spacious and well furnished; the wardrobe was small and contained possibly the tiniest safe in the world - good for your passport and wallet but forget valuables bigger than an iPhone. Every day when we returned to the room in the late afternoon, there was an unpleasant smell in the room, which disappeared after a few minutes of leaving the air con on - this only happened in the daytime, there was nothing noticeable when we returned to the room after dinner.

In response to an earlier post, we found the shower to be powerful and sufficiently hot, no matter the time of day or night. The bathroom is small.

Watch out for the slippery tiled floors outside the rooms - after the rain (and there is a lot of rain) they can be a death trap if you've got the wrong shoes on.

The hotel has two main swimming pools - the one on the lower level (with a bar) was always very busy (but not so busy that there were no loungers), the one on the higher level was much quieter, which suited us when we were infrequently around the pool. Towels were provided - some of these were showing their age while others were new and fluffy. Of better quality were the beach towels provided which we always took with us when we left the hotel.

Breakfast was a huge disappointment - a basic selection of fruit and western items - the real let down was the very poor quality and selection of Thai dishes served. On the basis of breakfast, we wouldn't have tried the restaurant for lunch or dinner - there is in any case no need as there are plenty of restaurants nearby in Ao Nang (and a few across the street).

The hotel is a ten minute walk from the beach - but Tuk Tuks are always available and cheap if you've run out of energy to walk back up the hill.

Watch out for the glass water bottles in the room which carry a (relatively) hefty charge if they go missing - on our last full day we had two empty bottles taken away and only one replaced - on check out, the missing bottle, was on our bill - to be fair this was quickly removed following a brief conversation with the manager - I wonder how many people don't query this.

We generally use a hotel as a base for seeing what's outside and for this purpose, the Krabi Thai Village was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bad_u_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Our stay was very enjoyable, the rooms were clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the overall property was beautiful. We can't find anything to complain about. It was a great value for the price; an outstanding 3 star, good 4 star experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveler148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

What a disappointment this Hotel was. After reading reviews from other travellers we decided on this Hotel but never again. The room was so outdated and the bathroom was ancient. Never had a decent shower the whole time we were there. The cold tap gave hot water and the hot tap gave hot water. Just as well there were no children as they would have been scalded. The towels in the bathroom were threadbare, as were the ones for the beach. Had a meal in the Restaurant and it was awful. Everything was cold. When in the bar having a few drinks after the meal we were given our bill at 11 p.m. We knew the bar shut at 11 p.m. but it would have been nice to have asked for the bill ourselves. They obviously wanted shut right away after the duo finished singing. They were not giving you the chance to order another drink. Also no ironing board or iron. Everything had to be sent for ironing in the Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasgowluvthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#21 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Peace Laguna Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Address: 260 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#25 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £38 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing