We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect.”
Review of J. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J. Hotel
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 1 April 2013

From airport pick-up to huge, clean and very affordable rooms and great tours, what more could you ask for? We booked using Booking.com without any deposit 10 months before the trip. No other reservations were done except for airport pick-up the day before the trip. Thanks to our faithful driver Mr. Zakaria from the hotel itself, who introduced us to cheaper tours and driving us all around until our departure day, we all had a great time. Please find him. He was so kind!

About the rooms provided, GREAT! huge rooms, very clean and only 850 baht a night. The hotel is only minutes away from Aonang Beach where the stretch of shop and restaurants are. For food, we havent been to any restaurant that didnt serve good food. Even all the food in the night market are soo delicious. Do not be afraid to try them. Just ask Zakaria, he knows where to eat good food.

All in all great trip, great hotel, great tours. All by JHotel.

Cons: The lady that works during the day at the reception has attitude issues. She's not helpful at all. Our room's a/c broke down the 1st day and when we informed her she didnt offer any help at all and complained in thai language instead. Luckily we informed Zakaria and it was fixed the next day. Apart from that crazzy lady, everything was almost perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emigrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

I did a lot of research before our trip to Thailand and read numerous TA reviews. I am very glad that we chose this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our two week trip in Thailand. The room was just what we needed-perfect size, VERY close to everything, clean, and AC. The staff was very helpful, they helped us book an Elephant Trekking tour for only 500 baht, where all other places wanted at least 800 baht for the same tour. So that was very nice of them. The only reason I didn't give them five stars was because of the situation with our airport transfer. Our plane was departing at 7.55 so we had booked a taxi with the front desk for 5.30. NO taxi showed up and we had to call and buzz the hotel (since the doors were locked and we had left the keys inside since we checked out and the front desk didn't open till 7). After buzzing and calling, finally at 6.00 one of the hotel workers came to the front door and we told him that we were waiting for our taxi and he ended up driving us. I am not sure if he was suppose to drive us in the beginning and maybe that he overslept? Anyways, everything worked out in the end, but it was just very stressful and lots of fast driving! I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Its a great price and perfect location. To me it makes more sense to book at a hotel like this, rather than book one of the larger hotels on the beach, because the Ao Nang beach isn't even that nice and you will most likely end up taking a longtail boat to another beach. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Ao Nang.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caralina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night before we went to koh lanta. Room was very big and clean. They have a communal computer you can use which was useful as their wifi didn't work all the time. All in all I would return for a few more nights as the location was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here twice while visiting the Thai islands. The first time was much better than the second. The good - the rooms with a view out are nice, clean and spacious. The bad - the rooms without a view are dark, and the one we had was overpriced for what it was. My issue with this hotel is the staff - they are friendly when they want your money to book anything, or to check you in - but completely useless if you have a problem. The wifi wouldn't work for me so I asked if they could help - I was just told by the staff at the front counter that 'mine works' and then ignored. When I asked again they said the wifi works - sometimes, and sometimes it doesn't - try and use the wifi of the hotel next door!! Their attitude was terrible, the staff just talked to each other in thai and laughed about it. I wouldn't stay here - simply because if you have any issues they just don't care - for the money I'm sure there is much better in Ao nang.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

J Hotel was perfect for the semi-budget/mid-range traveller looking for basic accommodations. But if you’re looking for perfection or a “western equivalent” hotel experience, this is not your place. It’s got AC, fridge, TV. Nothing fancy, but comfortable. Great location near the beach (5 min walk) and near good street food and bars. It’s perfect for the price – We paid 900 b or like $30 Canadian.
The girl up front was very helpful and always smiling. The man (manager) was also quite helpful as his English was pretty good. We booked a boat trip and our ferry to Lanta through the front desk and both were seamless.
Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hotel did not have our reservation! Although we had booked through Agoda and fully paid for it. After a lot of discussion, we were offered the sister hotel J. Mansion. We had to lug our heavy baggage all the way up 4 floors as the hotel did not have a lift.

The rooms were nice and clean with all basic amenities provided. The staff were helpful and very informative. Breakfast is available at additional costs. Very close to the beach and right in the middle of the main shopping and dining area. There is a scooter for hire shop just next to the hotel.

Please note: You are not allowed to enter the hotel with you footwear. You will need to leave them at frontdesk whenever you get back to your rooms. You are allowed to carry them back only in the night once the front desk is closed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dexter_theboygenuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel in OCtober'2011. Came to Krabi for my honeymoon with my wife. The manager and his staff are all very helpful with directions and recommendations. Room is very clean, spacious and wehave the sea-view room.
This hotel wasn't really very expensive and was right smack in the shopping streets.
Very convenient to get food and to order your tours for the next day.
I will definitely stay here again the next time I go to Krabi again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricTanGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
4.2 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#35 of 111 in Ao Nang
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#47 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#75 of 111 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#53 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#37 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Hotel

Address: 23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J. Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your J. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J. Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing