We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and a bargain.”
Review of J. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J. Hotel
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in August. Rooms were spotless, had air con and a few interesting trimmings. For £12 a night, it was an absolute bargain! The location was a 1 minute walk from the beach and I would have been happy to pay double for what we got. I can't imagine finding anywhere nearly as nice for the price paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dellie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Good location, staff friendly and good price,
Rooms big for the price and clean.
We were on the ground floor which was okay, but you would be better on the first ,second or third floor facing the front as those rooms have balcony facing out.
Only down side is that the hotel does not have a lift or tea making facilities.however the 7/11 is accross the road.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the front on either first, second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazzah000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Location wise, it's opposite Family Mart and 7-11 and a few minutes away from McDonalds, Subway and Starbucks.

The building is old but the rooms are surprisingly spacious and clean. We paid S$45 for two nights. The WIFI password they gave us was wrong and we couldn't connect to it, so our only entertainment in the room was the old CRT tv.

Service wise, the bed was made and rubbish cleared. Other than that, the receptionists are more interested in their hair and phones than service. You get what you pay for, I suppose.

The one lesson I learnt from this is that there's no point scrimping when room prices are already so low. Get a better hotel elsewhere. Unless you're on a budget where every cent counts, this one will meet your most basic needs - clean, working air-conditioning and a private bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

First, we decided to stay 4 nights instead of 2 because of the price and the quality of the room. It is only 560 bahts to stay there one night. The room was quite big and very clean. We had a big balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. The air conditioner and the fan were ok. The service was good, depending of who was the receptionist. All our questions were answered and we received interesting tips about restaurants and activities we can do around. Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sicoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed 4 nights at J. Hotel in July 2013. For the price we paid it was great: location, size of the room and the bathroom. We were on the ground floor and had a balcony with no view (except for the fish pond) but that suited us well. The hotel is not on the main road but really close. There were at least 3 pharmacies, 4 shops, a postbox nearby. Staff was a bit disinterested looking at first, although helpful at the same time, but as soon as we smiled they became much more pleasant. They phoned the airport shuttle service for us to make sure they stop for us the day we needed their service.
Verdict: our choice for the next visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0Kat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Pretty close to the beach and the main shopping/eating area. The service was not particularly great as the staff seemed more interested in playing on their smartphones and watching TV, but the room was fantastic for the money paid - very sizeable, reasonably decorated and in good upkeep. It is certainly not luxurious, but for 2,600 Baht for 4 nights (approximately 50 quid) I am not complaining. You could certainly do a lot worse for the same money and when you consider its great location then it is an absolute steal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalaysianExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in J Hotel for 2 nights whilst in Ao nang. For the price we paid per night (560 bht) you can't beat it. The location is perfect - just a few minutes walk to Ao nang beach. The rooms were large and spacious and the bed was better than most guest houses we stayed in whilst in Thailand. The bathroom was also large and new, with again one of the best showers we had. The reason I wouldn't give 5 stars is because the room smelt a little on the musty side and the wifi was intermittent in the room. Don't let these put you off as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
4.2 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#29 of 111 in Ao Nang
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#73 of 111 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#50 of 111 in Ao Nang
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#45 of 111 in Ao Nang
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Hotel

Address: 23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £13 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J. Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your J. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J. Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing