We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
J. Hotel
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel is clean, rooms spacious, air conditioned and equipped with hot water shower. Free WIFI in rooms. Location is near the walking street and there are many shops and restaurants around. Lady that checked us in was slightly frosty but other than that I would recommend staying here for those on a budget!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dezarray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    118
    52
    18
    7
See reviews for
22
112
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I booked here based on trip advisor reviews.
It is the perfect location. 3 minute walk to the beach, and just off the main road for a quiet nights sleep.
It's a budget hotel so basic but clean with huge rooms. No breakfast or pool but for under $20 a night it's a much better alternative than staying at a back packers. Staff are lovely but their english limited so don't expect too much help with tourist stuff. There are plenty of tourist places nearby to help. Bus from Krabi airport was 150 baht and dropped me off right outside the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank binvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights initially and extended by 2 nights...we were impressed! I thought the staff were pretty good, helpful. Provided us with a beach towel (normal large bathroom towel) for free. The best rooms are the 3 top floor rooms as the have a very large roof area to sit etc and the views were fantastic. We looked in the lower floor rooms when they were being cleaned and they looked excellent too but we couldn't tell what the views were like. We would recommend asking for a top (3 floors if I remember right, was an easy walk up) floor room if you don't mind a few stairs. Located just 4-5 mins short walk from the beach. We hired a moped for 200bt per 24 hours which was a great way to see the area and get off the beaten track a bit. Recommended... It was underpriced at 650 baht.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Returning to Aonang the second time, stayed 3 nights at J Hotel. The location is great, the hotel itself is a bit old, the room is comfortable and clean, good wifi connection in the room, there is a fridge (to chill the beer), a place to hang and dry your clothes, no problem in communicating english with the front desk staff, but they are not so friendly. Avoid the "semi-restaurant" at the junction, it is really expensive with moderate quality. If you are looking for cheaper and more authentic Thai food, walk a bit further up north (approx. 5 to 10 minutes).

Day trip to the islands: During low season you can expect 20% to 50% discount. You still have to bargain, sometimes the hotel can give you a cheaper rate but some trips are more expensive than what you can get on the street.

If you are arriving from Krabi Airport, catch a shuttle bus (the white old bus) for THB150 per person, purchase the ticket before exiting the hall. It will take 1 hour to Aonang, just tell the bus driver that you want to get off at J Hotel, he will deliver you to the door step (or somewhere near).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainejenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Booked for 5 days but stayed another 3 it was so nice. A few minutes to the beach, perfect location. The girls on the desk were delightful, nothing was too much trouble. Clean towels, loo roll and water every day and ask for a beach towel when u go to the beach. For the money the room was fab, would definitely stay here again and recommend to all!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaraineBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with my family last month. The room very basic but spacious and clean. The toilet seemed just renovated and looked new.

The other plus point is the Strong WiFi signal, and all the facilities worked well. For location, just few steps to the main street, so its good because not noisy.

Moreover, There're some restaurants and massage around the hotel so very convenience. 7-11 also just few steps as its on the main street.

Overall, its good accommodation for budget traveller and there's no issue during my stay. However, its not recommended for honeymoon, lol...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cungik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had 2 nights stay at J hotel. The room is spacious and clean. It has balcony, unfortunately we stay at ground floor, so no point having a balcony. No view at all. Our room has fridge but too bad no kettle and hair dryer provided. I love the fact that this hotel has high speed internet connection. We can watching on line movie without buffering. Please to remind that in Thailand they are using 2 pin plug and socket. Make sure you bring your adapter.

The location is very decent. In front of the hotel, there is a spa for massage & facial treatment. Nearby the hotel there is a lot of shops, tour guide center, taxi, tuktuk and restaurant. You can find a hawker selling delicious pancake nearby the hotel from evening until late night. 24 hours 7 eleven shop is just a cross the street. Ao nang beach is just 5-10minutes walk from the hotel.

The hotel also can help you with tour guide package, arrange for motorcycle rental and transportation to airport. The staff is helpful even though not so friendly. Overall the service is good. Recommended for budget travel.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayamiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#75 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#37 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#28 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#27 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#46 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chandee Guesthouse
Chandee Guesthouse
#69 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Hotel

Property: J. Hotel
Address: 23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — J. Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your J. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J. Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing