We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a gem of a hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #56 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is a gem of a hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids and 4 other couples. The 4 couples all got deluxe rooms pool access and my family took the 2 bedroom suite. Great little hotel very quiet and hidden away. Was great for our weekend as the staff were happy to let us do what we want. Breakfast is good and we had dinner one night. then all 3 nights we were back on the terrace of our suite for drinks. The resort itself does not sell alcohol but this is fine because you can bring your own from 7/11 across the road (which is cheaper). Overall we had a great reunion weekend here and would be sure to stay here again on our return. Value for your bath unbeatable.

Room Tip: For extra space the big suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConorOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    166
    62
    30
    8
See reviews for
88
153
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in a pool access room, i think 2202 was the room number. We found the hotel perfect for our 3 day stay, where we just needed to rest after our visits to BKK, Samui and Phuket. The hotel is beautifully set out, you really do feel like you in a lush tropical jungle. It also has an amazing pool, sunbeds are not a problem if you have a pool access room because 2 are provided on your patio.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped, we did find the bathroom a little dark though, but all in all the hotel is fantastic value. We booked on sawadee.com.
The breakfast selection i found a little thin, the usual suspects made the list minus pork products as the hotel is halaal, which wasnt a problem as we knew this before booking.
The location is fantastic too, just off the main road and a easy 5 minute stroll to the beach. There is free wifi in the rooms too, but i found the signal strength very weak in our room. I had to go outside to get some signal.
Because of the tropical surrounding expect lots of mozzies and insects. So keep the repellant handy day and night.
I would definitley recommend this hotel to friends and families, great stay at a great price!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madiba_magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Travelling with 2 yrs old kid this hotel is very nicely located just few hundred meters from the Aonang beach. We stayed in Superior room which was spacious and in good condition. Spacious bathroom. Read here that staff is not very nice. We don't agree to this, found them helpful instead.

Room Tip: Superior room is very good if travelling with one child (and maybe with two children)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henkka1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is not your typical massive resort with 3 lagoon style pools that you find in most parts of the world. It is what other travellers have stated. Its like a tropical paradise with a stunning cliff backdrop. My family stayed in the family suite (2015) and my wife was amazed at the amount of space we had including a kitchen / living area, 2 massive bedrooms with a outdoor spa/ shower / toilet up one end and up the other end off the second bedroom a bath, shower, toilet. Not to forget the huge decking plus 3 tvs. The decore was completely different to any other resort we have stayed at in our 3 visits to Thailand as this was a welcome change. Unfortunately when we were there it rained a lot but I could imagine how stunning this place would be on a beautiful day. As for the staff the front desk ladies, they were lovely and always had time for a chat with our 2 boys aged 5 and 7.We also had a little trouble with one TV and DVD. This was rectified within 15 minutes. Again great customer service. I would certainly reccomend this resort to others and if I had to find a fault it was a drop of about 5 feet near the pool onto some rocks that worried me with little children, however I did mention this to one of the front desk ladies and she advised that she would advise management. Please not that I have not rated fitness centre or room service as I did not utilise (actually not sure if they have a fitness centre)

In all this resort is so different that it made us feel like we were on a different holiday as we stayed in Patong prior to coming here and Karon ater this

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Beautiful hotel in great location. Just off the main road but still only a 5-10 minute walk to Ao Nang beach. You feel like you are in your own private jungle paradise. Very friendly staff, clean room and beautiful grounds. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Krabi.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackAlleyExploits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I really have to recomend this hotel especially this place! It was the most beautiful place I have ever visited! Not so comfortable, but clean and so so calm and private. Little jungle in the city :-) ... just 5 minutes away from the main beach Ao Nang.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaPedroDeLaVedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pringle Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stunning grounds, beautiful large well appointed rooms with balcony. Tucked away from the main drag, but only 2 minutes walk away. Unobtrusive staff, good breakfast in outdoor area and free wifi in rooms

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaye_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#33 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#41 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#14 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#39 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#19 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Property: Somkiet Buri Resort
Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing