We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle like atmosphere and slightly smelly rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #63 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The rooms have a rustic and weird smell. We faced problems with the air conditioner as well. Its at a 10 minute walking distance from the beach. There are lot of shops once you get onto the main road. The trees and fauna inside the hotel premises dont seem to be well maintained. We saw a snake in the hotel premises. They also have a monitor lizard in one of the small lotus ponds inside. Lot of lizards are running around the walls in the hotel room which is a little creepy. I also suspect there are many more snakes around due to the overgrown trees. I would suggest that you book for the Koh Phi Phi or Ko Lanta trip from outside as the hotel is more expensive. The breakfast buffet was pathetic and had flies all over the bread and fruits and even when I brought it to the notice of the hotel staff, they did nothing about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reethika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Back again for our second visit and nothing much has changed here, was actually given the same room too.

Only downsides to this hotel is the pool area really doesn’t get much sun due to the trees, yes its nice to be able to move into the shade if you are too hot but annoying having to ‘chase the sun’ and move sun loungers. Suggest the hotel invests in some hard core pruning as the trees have obviously grown since our last visit!

Also the walk round the raised decking from the entrance to your room does get a bit annoying it’s quite a long way and if wet it is really quite slippery (also some foliage pruning needed here too)

Air con has been upgraded but our room still refused to go below 24 degrees even with the unit on full for a long time.

No DVD players to rent or hot water boilers, some of the larger rooms do have these provided so were surprised they couldn’t be supplied as we were happy to pay.

Would we return, probably yes as the standard hasn’t slipped just really need to cut back the trees!!!

Room Tip: Upper floor have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had never been to Krabi before so I did a lot of research and really liked the look of this hotel and we were not disappointed at all. The gardens around the pool and the rooms is absolutely beautiful. Very lush and green, lots of birds, butterflies, lizards, squirrels etc in and around. The pool is small but perfectly adequate for the number of rooms (not many at all) and is very shady and peaceful.

As soon as you arrive at this hotel you feel like you are a long way from anywhere but in fact you are a short walk to the shops and markets and beach and restaurants.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Loved the large balcony to sit and enjoy a few drinks or to quietly read a book. Airconditioning was nice and cold and the bed was really comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool are really nice - ground floor better as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieH6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Nice location, loved the feel of being in a jungle bungalow. And it was great to have a little covered porch. A Hot shower and a spacious bathroom were welcome features too! The breakfast buffet is tasty and the outdoor spaces like the bar and restaurant were comfy. We had trouble accessing wifi in the room but walked to the front desk are to get access. Service at the front desk wasn't very courteous or helpful, but thankfully we didn't need much during our stay. We didn't try to book any excursions through the hotel and instead used one of the street vendors.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I was so nervous about making a reservation in Ao Nang, as I'd never been there before and had no idea what to expect. The moment I arrived at Somkiet Buri Resort with my family (husband and two children, ages 7 and 8), I knew I'd made the right choice. Somkiet Buri Resort is just absolutely lovely. It's set back from the busy road that runs through Ao Nang to the beach. Being there you feel like you're in the jungle, in this peaceful, clean, well-kept retreat. The pool is wonderful. The rooms are great. Breakfast was good (not mind-blowing, but good enough.) The wifi worked, as promised (yay!). The whole experience was perfect. Before we went I was worried about having to walk 5-10 minutes to the beach from Somkiet Buri, but once there I realized this was perfect. The beach is busy and it was great to not to be in the middle of the action all the time. Plus, the walk was good excuse to see all the restaurants and shops on the way. I cannot recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moxie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed here while in Krabi and had a fantastic time.

The location is amazing and is very secluded even though its only a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Ao Nang.

Our room was amazing, like a treehouse in the jungle! Bed was really comfortable, bathroom massive and the balcony was really nice with a pool view but secluded also.

Our breakfast was included in the room price and we got our tickets for each morning we were there. Alot of selection to choose from and really nice food.

The only issue we had was that our room, number 2012, was right at the back of the resort so we did get a bit of noise coming from the pubs and bars later at night however it wasnt a majour issue. The fridge in the room was a little bit noise but again it wasnt a majour issue.

I would defiantly stay here again and its somewhere for families/couples.

xxxx

Room Tip: we were number 2012 which was really private and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

These are beautiful accommodations. I was pleasantly surprised at how close the resort is located to the main road but how isolated you feel. It's only about 100 yards from the main road, you can see it from the main road and it definitely feels like a safe walk. I walked it several times alone after dark.

All of the rooms are buried in the deep tropical foliage. You really feel like you are in the jungle. When I first arrived I wanted to find a specific tattoo shop in town. I ask at the front desk where it was and one of the hotel staff drove me there on a motorcycle for no charge. Very nice!

It is literally a five minute walk from the main water front road. It is an easy walk and there are shops and food carts everywhere.

The pool is spectacular! It is one of the prettiest I've seen because of the landscaping and shape. Very nice. I wasn't aware when I booked the hotel was Muslim owned and they wouldn't sell alcohol but as another reviewer said, you can buy right across the street at 7-11 and bring it with you, no big deal.

The room was very spacious with a nice big balcony. It had all the basics, safe, fridge, tv, robes, house shoes, umbrellas, flashlight. I loved the room and was very impressed. What I didn't like:

The room smelled. It's not a bad smell, it's just a very different smell and it's loud! I think it was something intended to repel bugs but it was overpowering. I was glad I brought a candle to mask the odor. I found the source of the smell, for future travelers. They make these room decorations out of what looks like palm fronds. That is where the smell is coming from. Those have now been moved out onto my balcony.

Two, the plumbing is old (like a really loose sink faucet) and the shower was odd. You had to step up high to get into the shower tub and then the shower head was a removable one that was very high. It was uncomfortable and I keep thinking how dangerous and difficult it would be to use for a less stable person.

Third, the air conditioner thermostat wouldn't work. I told the management after my first night, they said they would fix it. Nothing happened. I learned to just turn it off at the main unit (near the ceiling) and then turn it back on. In theory the entire room was controlled by one of those central boxes by the bed but it wouldn't turn tv on/off, it wouldn't adjust the air, and the time was off by about 8 hours.

None of those things were deal beakers but I don't think I will stay here next year with my parents. I think it would be tough for them. That's unfortunate too because I really think it's one of the most beautiful places I have seen!

If you go knowing there are a few quirks, you won't be surprised. The beautiful thick green foliage made it worth it for me.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamrickpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
658 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Nine Thipthara Klongson Resort
0.1 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Rooms Republic
Rooms Republic
#68 of 111 in Ao Nang
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Orchid Resort
Aonang Orchid Resort
#61 of 111 in Ao Nang
526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baan Habeebee Resort
Baan Habeebee Resort
#12 of 111 in Ao Nang
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: £31 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing