We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorly run hotel that should be tops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Have taken some time to write this review as I dont like being critical however having paid for 3 poolside rooms for my family and having stayed for 3 weeks as a base while visiting friends I feel obliged to make comment.
Firstly the hotel complex is nice and has a jungle feel that should be pleasant. The rooms while needing to be upgraded are large and roomy. The rooms however have very little storage space and this is a bit annoying. At night it can get a bit noisy and a bit scary with wildlife although this is the payback from the jungle type setting and should be acceptable.
The pool is lovely however the staff provide no service to people using it, if you purchase food as desribed in previous reports plates will be left for days.
Ants are also a problem especially around the open plan breakfast area. It is not helped by the staff not caring whether they feed you or the anys with food seldom covered or finished food replace.
As described before the main problem wth the hotel is the staff. While I did not experience rudeness the overiding attitude was one of indifferance - they appear not to care less if you enjoyed or hated your stay with them. For that reason I would not recommend staying at this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimthefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed at Somkiet Buri in Krabi for 3 nights, the room was moldy and smelly. The staff didn't seem to care about any of our requests. And avoid the spa, they hire ladies from the cheap massage shops and charge you double!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found this place to be amazing. Super peaceful, nice and very clean rooms, full of charm in this jungle Garden and a superb and very quiet swimming pool at the back. Loved it. All this at an amazing price. Will come again next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanguy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Ao Nang is a bit naff - must be said! I was disappointed in how tacky it was given how beautiful the beach and surrounding countryside is. However, Somkiet Buri is an incredibly peaceful resort and you would not believe how close you are to a busy road as it is truly a tranquil paradise. Staff are a mixed bag - some smiley - some cant be bothered - in sharp contrast to staff at Khao Sok or Khao Lak properties. Still worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for pool villa with pool access - best room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghCollection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We chose here for its price and location and were not disappointed. We were a bit worried because of some of the reviews but the resort met all our hopes. We had a pool view room that was huge with a large balcony overlooking the pool, lots of little touches like a platter of fresh fruit was placed in our room after servicing. The room had a very efficient air conditiong unit. We were there in the rainy season and liked the fact umbrellas were provided in the rooms. Free Wifi available in all areas. The pool was amazing so beautiful with all the tropical trees around it although did have to chase the sun a bit.
The complementary breakfast consisted of Thai hot foods, cereals, juice, fresh fruit, cooked to order omelets and eggs, pastries, toast and pancakes, tea and coffee. Nothing overly flash but perfectly adequate.
The hotel is off one of the main roads set in a tropical forest setting, but very quiet close to lots of local bars and restaurants it is alcohol free in the dining room but this wasn't a problem for us.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandKiwifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked this Hotel as the reviews seemed good and we wanted a resort with a Sauna/steam room and spa. I asked the female manager to turn on the Sauna and she told me that it was broken. I asked how long it had been broken and she said about three weeks. I explained that they need to put this on the website as we chose to stay here as it had a Sauna. Later I spoke to a German couple who said they were told that the Sauna area is closed down in low season. So she is not telling the truth, also they should put on the Website that they are Muslim owned as they do not allow any alcohol, bacon products or smoking at the restaurant. They should also tell guests or have a sign to say that you must take your blue pool towel back to the room otherwise they will charge you for the loss of the towel. The Resort needs a good clean and is a little tired. The tables and chairs in the outside restaurant need a good scrub and clean and they should spray the millions of ants that climb all over you while you are eating. There was a seal missing off the Muesli jar and everyday it was full of ants. I showed them and they did nothing. I watched birds eating the food off the breakfast area while the staff sat around. The staff here do not seem happy and are not welcoming, very complacent. Some of the rooms do not have internet as advertised and the response was: just come to the restaurant to use it. In the rainy season there are a lot of mosquitos so you need to burn coils which you can buy across the road at 7/11. The cleaning staff also leave the rooms open and so everyday the rooms are filled with mosquitos. Lucky the rooms are off the ground as this is a swamp area and we saw rats running around. We can understand if people like to be here for the forest and the pool is nice and clean. Be aware also that there is only one English movie channel. Lucky we only booked three nights so we were able to find a few nicer hotels along the front of the beach area for the same price.

Room Tip: If you want internet in your room then you need to choose a room closest to the restaurant. Upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MermaidOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, this is the low season so it rained a lot but we expected that and just wanted a good break and rest.
On arrival the welcome was OK, no tour to show the pool location etc. mostly disinterest from the staff as we come from Thailand so probably did not expect a tip from us. However the rooms are spacious and well equipped, minor issues like the shower not working properly were reported but never fixed, the grounds are beautiful and sitting on the veranda to chill out was perfect, even if it was raining!
One unusual point, no alcohol available in the hotel but given the predominately Muslim community in this area of Thailand is not a problem, there are plenty of bars or shops to buy alcohol within a short walk.
The breakfast was not the best, the first day they ran out of ham, this at 7:30 ! We did not eat in the hotel, plenty of places to eat outside, but avoid the places catering for foreigners, overpriced and poor quality.
Customer service poor, given that only 10 rooms were occupied then it must be a nightmare in high season.
Overall, beautiful location and rooms but let down by indifferent customer service.
Ao Nang is the area the resort is in, not the best beaches in Thailand and too much foreigner type bars and restaurants for us, but we all have our own preferences.

Room Tip: Upper floor is better and quieter, facing the pool is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#37 of 111 in Ao Nang
657 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Nine Thipthara Klongson Resort
1 mi away
Rooms Republic
Rooms Republic
#68 of 111 in Ao Nang
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aonang Orchid Resort
Aonang Orchid Resort
#60 of 111 in Ao Nang
526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ao Nang Phu Pi Maan Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
#54 of 111 in Ao Nang
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: £31 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing