We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 19 December 2013

weve stayed ithis hotel 4 nights , the location is very good , a large breakfest .
we stayed in a room that you can get directely to the pool.
the hotel is inside aplace like a jungle .
near the hotel there are a lot of restaurants and to the beach is only 5 minutes walking .

Room Tip: the best rooms are near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

The good: Nice hotel, well kept, rooms were clean, pool was large and clean, beautiful lush jungle surrounding and the hotel rooms were pretty to look at. Just be careful of the wooden planks/steps as some are uneven. All the activities/transfers/drivers knew where to pick us up and drop us off even though you can't see it from the main strip, it's across the street and down the alley from the McDonalds and 7 Eleven on the main strip. Breakfast was decent, although we think we may have gotten sick from the fruit, so we ended up sticking to the cooked food. Interestingly, they don't serve alcohol because the owners are Muslim, but they don't mind if you bring your own alcohol, and they also serve pork during breakfast! The walk to the beach was about 5 or 10 minutes. Songthaew or bus to Krabi Town was about 15 or 20 minutes. There were lot's of shops and restaurants nearby.

The bad: Wifi sucked, and when we interrupted the lady at the front desk from her online shopping, all she said was "some times it's good, some times it's not," then continued with her shopping. They had security and always had one or two people at the front desk, but they were not very welcoming. Every other sort of business we went to in Thailand seemed to have a friendly Thai greeting, but not here. Expect to say hi to them and not get one in return, it seemed like they were unhappy with their jobs. One more thing, the pancakes had been sitting out for some time, we had asked for a new pancake and the omelette/pancake maker was very unhappy, and wouldn't make them! LOL They weren't always too happy with requests, but when they were just sitting down and had no customers, they looked so happy and not miserable.

We are actually very "whatever" with hotels and don't ask for too much or expect too much, we usually just use the place to sleep and shower (and eat if breakfast is available). We just wanted to share some of our complaints which may help other people decide if this place is for them, we really had a great time and the hotel exceeded our needs.

Room Tip: We asked for a view, but I think every room had a view. The balcony faced the center of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indioandchanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you are staying Ao Nang, this might be a great hotel option for you. The biggest plus is its location. The hotel is about a five minute walk from the beach and on the main road, so it easy to walk the shops, street stalls, and restaurants Ao Nang has to offer without the need for ever taking a taxi. The rooms were adequate and could use a little update. When we arrived, the woman at the front desk said she upgraded our room. However, when we got to the room it wasn't clear what the upgrade was and made me wonder what the regular rooms were like. Also, the rooms weren't particular clean-- when we first got to our room we walked around barefoot and the bottom of both our feet became almost black. They provided bottled water and fresh fruit in the room, which was a nice feature. Also, because the hotel is situated off the main road and has a jungle feel, it was very quiet and secluded. Just make sure to bring mosquito repellant and be prepared to see some lizards in your room! The pool was very pretty and the hotel's best feature.

Service was a mixed bag. Some of the people working there seemed nice and friendly, while others seemed uninterested and unhelpful. I think indifferent would be a good word to describe the staff. If you stay in other locations in Thailand, the lack of emphasis on hospitality and friendliness became very noticeable.

We had free breakfast each morning, which wasn't extensive but had the basics and made to order omelettes. Don't be surprised to find ants crawling on the tables and your plate, but again you are staying in a jungle environment, so that shouldn't be unexpected.

Wifi was free and seemed to be pretty good.

Overall, this was a nice hotel but compared to the other hotels we stayed while in Thailand, it was a bit overpriced for what we got. If I were to come to Ao Nang again, I would probably try another hotel, but wouldn't necessarily not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is beautiful, with wood slat paths leading to the rooms. The hotel upgraded us to a cute bungalow room when we checked in. It was nice, the hotel has hot water, air conditioning, and breakfast was included. Bottled water is provided every day, and they left fresh fruit in the room on arrival. The hotel also was accommodating on our check out date and held our bags until 9:00 pm that night for us (check out is at noon). We kept our beach towels for the day and spent the day down at the beach while waiting for our taxi to the airport. It might be a little over-priced for what you get, but, we were grateful for the free upgrade and overall had a good experience here.

Its located along the main street, just 5 minutes to walk down to the beach. If you head down to the beach and turn right along the main road there are tons of shops and vendors. We enjoyed dinner from a street cart in front of the subway every night which was amazing! We had chicken kebabs, spring rolls, wontons, and grilled corn and the food was better than the one restaurant we tried while in Ao Nong.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are planning on going to the Province of Krabi, it's totally worth taking the 30 min drive and staying in Ao Nang. Somkiet Buri was a great place to stay in Ao Nang. Just a short stroll down the main strip to the beach and right in the middle of all the restaurants, 7 eleven across the street, and plenty of shops on either side. However, it's tucked away from the busy street in a jungle giving it the quiet and private feel you want for your vacation. The room was clean and the staff was always willing to help. The pool was one of the cleanest I saw and provides stops of sun or shade when you get sun burned :)

The only reason I didn't give it a 5 out of 5 was because of the breakfast and restaurant. We didn't eat at the restaurant because a) it was always dead (not a good sign) b) the breakfast was marginal. There was plenty of bread and always a thai style option and an egg station, but we sure got tired of the options after a week. Having said that, this was my second trip to thailand and it's not uncommon to have a marginal breakfast when you get it included in the price of the room.

With all that said, I was SO impressed with what we got. The location is PERFECT especially considering the price. (I don't think it's worth spending the extra money to be right on the beach) The staff was amazing and even though they don't sell alcohol right in the hotel its ok to take it back to your room and there are so many places close by that do buy 1 get 1 free it really didn't matter to us.

Other tips: Arrange for the hotel to pick you up at the airport ahead of time (it's tiny and finding a taxi could be challanging especially if coming in the PM) it was 700 baht for 4 people to get to the hotel in a nice van with AC, water, and help with luggage. Check out the Monkey trail at the far end of the beach right down the road, just don't take anything in plastic bags or have shinny stuff out (they STEAL!) Take bananas with you :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Tarzan and Jane in the jungle. So we felt. The hotel area was incredibly well done with lot of trees and green. We were in the second floor of a bungalow similar houses. The room was ok and quite nicely decorated. We only had 10 meters to the pool and usually we do not use such but this time we have to jump in. It was so nice. The breakfast was quite ok. It was not high season but everything worked fine anyway.

Room Tip: Near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cityscramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in late November as part of our Thailand trip.
We stayed here before a few years ago and liked it, so much in fact that this was the only hotel we choose to return to. The location of the hotel is ideal.

I booked a poolside room. Yes our room is next to the pool but upstairs which was disappointing as I assumed a pool side room would…….anyhow, possibly that was my fault. Never assume anything.

Part of the attraction of the accommodation is that it is set in a jungle type environment and of course in Thailand one expects insects. However, I expect my room to be insect free on first entering it.

The room had a musty smell and many little flies and mosquitoes were in the room. I was bitten within ten minutes. I had to go to the 7-11 at the top of the street and buy bug spray to fumigate the room. Shortly after we found a cockroach in the bathroom and my wife was bitten by an ant like creature in our bed. At this point we also had no running g water and the electric kept going off (in fairness possibly not the hotels fault). It’s fair to say that we had got off to a bad start.

The standard of cleanliness is poor (see pictures).Had I have booked for any longer than two nights we would have left early.

The room has a fridge (empty), old style TV with some English channels and a safe. The bed was comfortable with clean sheets. A lot of the plug sockets in the room didn't work so keeping everything charged and mosquito killer plugged in was a juggling act. No kettle is provided. Air con wouldn't work on high fan speed and the temperature would never go below 25 no matter how long it was left on for (it was 29 outside).

The shower in the bathroom was poor and the loo seat could do with a good scrub.
The swimming pool was nice with plenty of loungers.

The hotel does not have a bar as such as due to religious reasons they do not sell beer, (that explains the empty fridge and also why no bacon for breakfast).
For breakfast think eggs, toast and fruit. There were some fake sausages but I didn't try them. Coffee was luke warm. Breakfast finishes at 10.30

Staff at reception / tourist information unable to sell us the correct tickets for a ferry to Koh lanta, so we gave up and bought them elsewhere.

Overall it was a very disappointing stay and we will certainly never return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Timber House Resort
Timber House Resort
#69 of 111 in Ao Nang
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueSotel Krabi
BlueSotel Krabi
#28 of 111 in Ao Nang
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#48 of 111 in Ao Nang
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aonang All Seasons Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Ava Sea Resort
Ava Sea Resort
#75 of 111 in Ao Nang
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Silver Orchid Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: £31 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing