We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somkiet Buri Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Krabi Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Krabi La Playa Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ananta Burin Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
120
166
62
30
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
166
62
30
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I agree with most other customer comments. The property is in an excellent location just off the main road to the beach but in quiet tropical grounds with a good sized, clean pool. We stayed in room 1014 which I think is the best room as it is the only one with direct access to the pool with it's own terrace and sun loungers. It also gets the best of the sun. We had a glimpse in to some of the other rooms and what we saw all looked ok and private. The family room in particular has it's own terrace and sun loungers. It is true the rooms are no longer 4/5 star but they are cleaned daily, a good size and "they are what they are" a little tired. The sheets, towels etc., were very clean. The most annoying thing for us was that there were no bedside lights. When we asked if we could have lamps (as they were obviously meant to be there as shown in their publicity photos and there is a button for them on the light panel), we were just told no rooms had bedside lights and we couldn't have any. This is only a small thing but slightly annoying for the price we paid 4000bht per night high season (early Jan) including breakfast and as you are in the jungle it would have been good to have a dimmer light on at night. We sat out a few nights and weren't overly bothered my mosquito's. The aircon worked well so we didn't have any issues with mosquito's in the room. The breakfast was ok but as other reviews state, the buffet is left out for quite a while. The fruit although had a cloche over it was covered in flies. We just stuck to cereals then fresh cooked eggs, toast & coffee which did us fine. They make whatever eggs you want to order, the mixed omelette was particularly good. The staff were just ok but again like previous reviews you can tell that they are disinterested & best left alone. The resort is for sale and someone could turn this is in to a truly fantastic place. We got their airport transfer from Krabi for 700bht which worked well in a good air-conditioned people carrier. We looked at other options to get back to the airport and decided for a decent private car, the difference we could bargain one of the local reps down to wasn't worth the inconvenience so we used their car again to get back to the airport. There is no gym but directly opposite the entrance to the hotel is P.U.S.H gym run by an English bloke. It has a couple of running machines, cross trainers, bikes, large range of weights and it suited me at 300bht a visit. Lots of bars & restaurants near by. Thailandia followed by Chanaya Dutch Thai were our favourites just minutes walk from the hotel. The Seven 11 opposite the hotel was the cheapest we found for alcohol in Ao nang as there is no alcohol served at the hotel but no problem to drink in your room or around the pool & there are plenty of bars near by. In all, we were very happy with our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms very picturesque but think all rooms have some outlook and all should be quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was the middle stop on an excellent Andaman Adventures tour of the region. We started off on Koh Lanta, then moved up here to Ao Nang, then finished up on Phuket. There was quite a bit of taxiing involved an I was worried the kids would become a handful, but that didn’t happen, as the minivan driver (private) stopped off at places en route so we could stretch our legs and do some fun things like an elephant trek (en route from Lanta to Ao nang) and a cave and temple visit (between Ao Nang and Phuket).
The Somkiet Buri is a nature-inspired resort with jungle all around, this means that you have to expect some bugs though. We didn’t have a mosquito problem but there were little lizards on the walls. We were told that they were completely harmless so decided to ignore them. There is no alcohol served at this resort, which brought out a surprising reaction in my husband who said “great” – when I asked why he said because presumably that meant that he could pop out to the 7-11 round the corner and buy lots of beer at cheap prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachloverfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is located about 10mins walk to the beach. Consists of several 2 story buildings around a central swimming pool in a jungle like setting. There is a main accommodation block further away from the pool.
Check-in not many smiles, miserable staff not too helpful.
Our family stayed 5 nights in one of the pool side buildings, parents on top and the boys below.
Our room had obviously not been used for several weeks when we moved in and had not been cleaned since then. There were dead insects in the bed and blood by the headboard. Complained the next morning to an un-apologetic reception person.
There was a very strong rotting smell throughout the room particulary from the headboard. We had to sleep the other way around as the smell was so bad.
The a/c unit even though there was a remote control it was uncontrollable. Remote control unit was incompatible with the a/c unit. Fan stuck on high speed and very noisy. Complaint made but nothing done. Had to stand on chair to switch the thing off manually.
TV reception made viewing impossible, complaint made but not rectified or apology made.
Water pressure too low in room, sometimes no water in the morning.
Massive falling coconut branch missed me by inches tearing a hole in my bag and breaking the water bottle. All my stuff soaked. Mentioned to reception staff who said "these things happen". They found me a new bag but refused to get me another bottle of water. The couldn't-give-a-damn attitude was noted. The injuries would have been horrific if it had hit me.
WiFi, useless.
There is an elevated disco bar not too far away from the hotel and the noise does affect the upper story of the poolside rooms. Usually stops about 2am.
As the hotel is jungle like setting there are plenty of mosquitos...at all times, so sleeping with room windows open is out.
I've stayed in much cheaper and better accommodation than this in Ao Nang where the staff have been friendly and helpful.
If the staff had paid a bit more attention to their guests than putting up lots a tacky Christmas decorations then maybe things would have been different.
Sorry Somkiet but you have failed!

Room Tip: check room thoroughly before unpacking your bag. Look at other hotels.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

weve stayed ithis hotel 4 nights , the location is very good , a large breakfest .
we stayed in a room that you can get directely to the pool.
the hotel is inside aplace like a jungle .
near the hotel there are a lot of restaurants and to the beach is only 5 minutes walking .

Room Tip: the best rooms are near the pool
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The good: Nice hotel, well kept, rooms were clean, pool was large and clean, beautiful lush jungle surrounding and the hotel rooms were pretty to look at. Just be careful of the wooden planks/steps as some are uneven. All the activities/transfers/drivers knew where to pick us up and drop us off even though you can't see it from the main strip, it's across the street and down the alley from the McDonalds and 7 Eleven on the main strip. Breakfast was decent, although we think we may have gotten sick from the fruit, so we ended up sticking to the cooked food. Interestingly, they don't serve alcohol because the owners are Muslim, but they don't mind if you bring your own alcohol, and they also serve pork during breakfast! The walk to the beach was about 5 or 10 minutes. Songthaew or bus to Krabi Town was about 15 or 20 minutes. There were lot's of shops and restaurants nearby.

The bad: Wifi sucked, and when we interrupted the lady at the front desk from her online shopping, all she said was "some times it's good, some times it's not," then continued with her shopping. They had security and always had one or two people at the front desk, but they were not very welcoming. Every other sort of business we went to in Thailand seemed to have a friendly Thai greeting, but not here. Expect to say hi to them and not get one in return, it seemed like they were unhappy with their jobs. One more thing, the pancakes had been sitting out for some time, we had asked for a new pancake and the omelette/pancake maker was very unhappy, and wouldn't make them! LOL They weren't always too happy with requests, but when they were just sitting down and had no customers, they looked so happy and not miserable.

We are actually very "whatever" with hotels and don't ask for too much or expect too much, we usually just use the place to sleep and shower (and eat if breakfast is available). We just wanted to share some of our complaints which may help other people decide if this place is for them, we really had a great time and the hotel exceeded our needs.

Room Tip: We asked for a view, but I think every room had a view. The balcony faced the center of the hotel, we could see parts of our neighbor's balcony but for the most part, it was very private.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indioandchanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews