We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Krabi La Playa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Krabi Tipa Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Krabi Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ananta Burin Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort(Ao Nang)(Great Value!)
US$433
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveller rating
352
519
145
48
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
519
145
48
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barbeach bagemerald poolpool access roombars and restaurantspool sidethe main roadstreet vendorstour desklarge poolgreat pooldeluxe roomstayed here for nightsnoodlesrainy seasonegg stationlanguage barrier
Filter
Updating list...
685 - 690 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day break here and we would highly recommend this hotel and resort. The hotel is clean and spacious and the staff are very friendly, especially Pond who works at the pool bar. Happy hour is between 18.00-19.00 where you can buy one cocktail and get one free and the La Playa Specials are divine! Breakfast is buffet style between 07.00-10.00 and has everything you want. The rooms are massive and have a fridge with a mini bar which is relatively cheap.
The resort of Ao Nang is a great central base to explore the beautiful local area/islands. We booked a number of tours with a tour guide who was based just outside the back entrance of the hotel (by the pool area), turn right and just before the Supermarkets there is a the small tour operator stall. The tour operator there often got us better deals than the published leaflet prices and was very efficient. Trips we did which we would thoroughly recommend are:
- Catching a longtail boat over to Railay beach (100 baht each) and visiting Phranang Cave beach on the East side which is beautiful (great for snorkelling as the water is so clear). Just walk down to Ao Nang beach and you can just buy a boat ticket there and then
- Kayakking in the mangrove forests, canyon and lagoons at Ao Thalan where you get to see curious monkeys in their natural habitat & then an elephant trekking tour at Nosey Parkers which was a magical experience (approx 1000 baht each includes a tasty lunch)
- Emerald Pool, Hot Springs Waterfall (its like being in a natural jacuzzi 35-40c!) and the Tiger Cave Temple - an amazing temple at the top of a mountain, with spectacular views. However the 1237 steps to its summit is definitely not for the faint hearted...but its really worth it! (approx 1200 baht each which includes lunch)
- Catching a speed boat to Bamboo Island (amazing turquiose sea and powdery white sand) and then onto Maya Bay (where "The Beach" was shot...however don't expect it to look as tranquil as the film as the place is chok-a-block with tourists), then onto the Phi Phi Islands for lunch (included in price) then snorkelling in the open sea where you see beautiful fish and coral (they provide snorkels on the tour)...we smuggled some french toast out at breakfast and fed the fish right out of our hands so you get to see them right close up and personal!
- Catching the small bus (50 baht each) to Krabi Night Market (it's on Friday, Saturday & Sunday night) is well worth it. The buses go every 20 mins and you can flag one down like a taxi. If you leave through the back pool entrance and turn left and walk to the end of the road and cross over the road you can pick one up. Last bus leaves Krabi at 10pm. Make sure you go hungry though as the choice of food stalls there is amazing and so, so cheap. You'll also find clothes, trinkets, jewellery etc.

The restaurants in Ao Nang are all of a high quality as are the food stalls, prices for main meals are approx 90-250 baht. For lunch we ate a couple of times at the Luna Beach Restaurant which overlooks Noppharat Beach as the cool sea breeze was very welcome! (Through back entrance, turn left, at end of road turn right over bridge and restaurant can be found on beach) If you want to push the boat out though and you like your meat, then do try the Carnivore Restaurant (approx 5 min walk up the hill)...it has the best steaks we've ever had (approx 750 baht each). If you like curries, Tandoori Nights (opposite McDonalds) is highly recommended...you can get a tuk-tuk there for 40 baht.There are plenty of bars to choose from, we enjoyed the cocktails at The Airport (upstairs) and The Longhorn which is found in the Centre Point across from Ao Nang beach.
Ao Nang is a very friendly, safe and genuine place (a world away from the stereotypes of lady boys, sex shows etc) It was an awesome holiday and if you're thinking of going here we hope that you enjoy your holiday as much as we did! :-)
Ps. A big HELLO to Carrie & Becky! ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TheWelshEddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went to Krabi la playa ao nang in march for three week. This is s great hotel do not listen to anyone giving a bad review. Rooms are lovely we were on the 5th floor great views and all very clean with great balconies very large. Free water every day and very cheap mini bar and snacks. We ate in the hotel a fee timed at night food was very good. Breakfast is also very good don't know why people are saying it's not. There is everything you want bacon ( and yes it's good fun cooking your own ) eggs lots of cold meat salads fruits cereal yoghurt even soup and noodles don't know what people want. Great area local to everything but quiet. Just one last thing the staff are all so friendly maybe not the best english spoken but that does not matter they are all very helpful would go back again
Chris & Steve

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrislondon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have recently returned from a 10 day stay here. It was in an ideal location at the quiter end of Ao Nang but a short walk away from shops and restaurants. We had a choice of two beaches nearby, Ao Nang and Napparat Thara Beach which was quieter. The hotel is traditional looking with a cosy and friendly feel. We were upgraded to two poolside rooms which were very spacious and included a lounger and large coffee table as well as a study area. We had a private pool access off the balcony. Breakfast was adequate with a choice of hot or cold, main meal choices were also served at this time.

During our stay there was a Tsunami evacuation, the first since boxing day 2004. However the staff were fantastic and kept calm and helpful. Minibuses were provided to get us to higher ground where mats, water and pillows were handed out. On our return a hot meal was provided for all the guests and the staff ensured that everyone was ok. I would like to take this opportunity to say a massive Thank You to all the staff for their support during what was quite a frightening experience.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are very spacious and lovely feature
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caribbeanqueen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have recently just come back from the Krabi La Playa Resort in Thailand, and i must say i throughly enjoyed my stay there, we had a deluxe suite on the 5th floor which was very spacious, comfortable, clean with a separate shower from bath,flat screen TV, table & Chairs in room and also on terrace,the swimming pool area was great, walk in pool ideal for my wife who is disabled, few sun beds that really need upgrading with new mattresses but fine, theme night on friday very good, food fantastic but show okay, the road leading to the hotel not very good, maintenance work taking place whilst there, road was dug up and left for a few days during songkran, not ideal for my wife in wheel chair, the location of the hotel is not to bad a couple of minutes walk and you are on top of the bars and street vendors etc, only 200 metres from beach, no sunbeds or deck chairs on the beach in the aonang or napporattt thani area was very disappointing, beaches & sea very nice and clean, the area it self not as busy as Phuket or Pattaya but enjoyable and more laid back, during our stay at the Krabi La Playa there was an earth quake of 8.5 in indonesia, we felt the hotel moving quiet a lot for a few minutes which was very frightening, then there was a Tsunarmi warning issued by local officials which sent everyone fleeing to higher ground, the staff in the hotel was absolutely fabulous, my wife being disabled was very upset but the staff at the hotel drove us up to into the hills to an holding area and supplied water and some food during our 3 hours stay there before we was given the all clear to return to the hotel, I would just like to make one more point to all the fantastic,helpful and friendly staff at the Krabi La Playa Resort A VERY BIG BIG THANKYOU FOR ALL YOUR HELP, GOD BLESS YOU ALL

Room Tip: Higher Floors have limited view of sea, garden view rooms no pool view, but most other room have a pool view. All rooms are very spacious, air con bit noisy but okay when you have a few beers
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffcEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned (18/4/2012) from our stay at the La Playa in Ao Nang and have had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is not lavish but is clean and basic with a good location and several plus points. The staff are all excellent, the rooms are very nice as well as being clean and the pool area is lovely. Prices for food and drink are very reasonable, although there are so many restaraunts nearby we never had a main meal at the hotel. The only negative points were 1. The breakfasts were not to our taste so we found ourselves getting breakfast externally and 2. Sun loungers were in short supply. These things aside the La Playa is a good hotel for couples or families to stay.

Room Tip: Dont stay in any rooms ending 01 i.e. 101, 201 etc. They are next to the lift and very VERY noisy!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joninho75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews