We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Affordable hotel with good service and good location."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krabi La Playa Resort
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Affordable hotel with good service and good location."”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Here you have a hotel with a location that you can relax from the rest of Krabi, a good location and short distance to the shopping street and beach with longtail boats that take you to the islands. Nice hotel area with pool, bar, massage and resturant and also a small gym. Great service and hotel condition is good. There is access to wifi. A nice breakfast blend from Europe to Asia. The overall appearance gives the score really good but go down a bit for cleanliness. I recommend this hotel for its excellent location, the hotel is located, nice environment and the superb service.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies facing the sea. Best view is from the top floor (5th). Lower floor you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSteihle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    467
    129
    43
    29
See reviews for
182
518
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
SEA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Found this place to be quiet yet close enough to the street to be accessible to the shops and restaurants or even street food nearby within 5 mins walk. It is a small hotel which is intimate and cozy. Room sizes are big and clean. Room had a huge bed, equal to 2 double beds. Nice balcony, which can be enjoyed during the day. Too many mosquitoes in the evenings. Breakfast was nice with a change of the thai breakfast selection everyday. Though not a widespread but still decent.

The hotel offers transfers to the airport at 500 baht for 1-3 persons which is rather reasonable. So, you may want to make arrangements with the hotel for transfers. Airport bus transfer is 150 baht per person.

Do try out the restaurant Kodam Kitchen which is just up the alley from the hotel, reasonable prices and good thai food. There is also a massage palour/spa up the stairs from the restaurant which is great and cheaper than the hotel. It is well rated by Tripadvisor.

There are many hotels nearby, but am glad that we choose this place for its accessibility and size of establishment. Price is rather on the high side for we booked late and had a bigger room. There is no free wifi in the room, though the free wifi in the lobby worked well. There were comfortable seating available in the lobby for happy surfing :).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipper_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a fantastic time here and found the package via premier holidays to be great value. The menu gets a little dull towards the end. But there are so many places to eat locally it really doesn't matter.

Room Tip: If you can get a pool side room, do it. Not only do you get access to the pool directly from your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEFFIELD
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 11 nights at this hotel, it is in the best location for getting to the beach, restaurants and bars tucked out of the way, at the better end of Ao Nang.
Katie the Front Office Manager is fabulous she welcomes you with a big smile and it continues through your stay, also she is very efficient and accommodating. all the staff are pleasant . If staying try to get a room on the 3rd floor and above, they have large balconies and are spacious, odd little tired bits, but ok.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PETERSCOTHORN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

we (wife & I plus son and partner) weren't due to stay here but this became our second choice when our travel counsellor 'phoned a few weeks before we were due to leave for Karon beach in west Phuket to say building works at an adjoining hotel may make our stay less enjoyable!

The decision on the Playa was, therefore, taken quite quickly.

We were told because of the late change there were no upgrades available (we'd chosen a pool room in Karon beach) so were expecting the worse. Needlessly, as it turned out.

It's not 5* luxury but more than adequate. The staff are, without exception, friendly, helpful and courteous, the large [4th floor] room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast should satisfy most tastes - buffet style; we chose to have lunch at the hotel given the temperature and it is as inexpensive as eating out and the Thai curries were superb.

The two large pools and sunbeds were never too crowded - we often had the top pool to ourselves and swam 25m lengths uninterrupted. The hotel caters for all age groups and we were surrounded by holiday makers from many different countries; no one group dominated.

Although only 5 minutes from the bussling streets, it is quiet and relaxing. 5-10 minutes to the beach (depending upon which direction you chose)....take a short cut through the Krabi Resort hotel opposite.

There was no need to pay for in-room wifi - the free lobby facility was fault free

Totally relaxed; pleased with the choice.

Room Tip: 5th floor has sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank por911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked to stay at La Playa for our honeymoon and stayed there from the 1st-12th Feb this year. The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean, breakfast was tasty and there was lots to choose from and we were more than happy with our choice.
One member of staff in particular, Pond, made us feel welcome from the start and always took the time out to find out what we were up to for the day and always found us to ask how the day had gone. This was a lovely touch and Pond is a credit to the hotel.
We had a pool access room at the end of our holiday which was great.
We would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The pool access rooms are great, but standard rooms are also fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We, 2 couples late 60s,stayed at the La Playa in Jan. as part of a 2 centre Thai holiday along with Khao Lak, having previously stayed in Phuket and other parts of Thailand.
The hotel was a good choice being clean comfortable and having very pleasant and friendly staff. It is centrally situated having good access to all Ao Nang has to offer, inc. numerous restaurants, The only downside was that the closest beach was not very good and the sanitation in Ao Nang is not all it could be! The far south side of the beach (20min walk) is excellent but we did not discover it until the last day.
We had 1 full day trip to the 5 Islands for which we hired a long tail boat for £50 which was excellent value.
Breakfast at the hotel was good, as was the choice for lunch ,but we tended to eat out and were never disappointed. The Hilltop is particularly recommended.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone except those who really want a beachside holiday and I would definitely stay there again, subject to this reservation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Property: Krabi La Playa Resort
Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing