We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Resort and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at Centara from 26 - 29 October with our four kids. What a gorgeous place! After reading reviews we were concerned about the boat access, but frankly, it was very easy and the transfer boats the hotel provides are quite nice. Contrary to other reviews, though, I would not recommend you book the airport van transfer to the pier in advance. Our family was quoted 3600 baht (outrageous!) by the hotel a day before we arrived for their transport to the pier. I got lazy and waited until we arrived. We met the Centara rep immediately upon arrival at the airport, were quoted 1050 baht, and went straight to the pier. No doubt the same driver that would have taken us for over three times the price had I been proactive and planned in advance. Not the best first impression! Felt like I came close to getting a bit ripped off.

Having said that, I cannot imagine a more beautiful, restful, or well-kept resort. It's pristine, and the location is a great part of the charm. While there were only a few families we noticed with small kids, our kids were none-the-less treated like gold here. We've been to many excellent resorts, but what makes this place stand out is that somehow Centara manages to be family friendly without compromising on the quality or standards of this resort. And it's beautiful without being pretentious.
As for the reviews commenting on the staff, we found the staff to be wonderful, friendly, helpful and always available in every way. I had problems with the internet, and one phone call brought the IT rep from the resort all the way to my door in under 10 minutes.
Our premier sea view rooms were well appointed, clean, and large. I was glad to not have rented a villa, since the sea view rooms had plenty of privacy and superb, large balconies for significantly less money.
Spa treatments were great, with that special extra touch that lets you know you're in a quality resort. Very impressive.
Overall, our family was very happy here. Would love to see the resort add an extra boat for transport to Ao Nang, especially at night when the boat shuttles fill up quickly. Learned our lesson - next trip we'll book our transports a day in advance like everybody else that knows how quickly they book.
In the meantime, we're looking forward to returning again and again to this amazing resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a premium ocean view room as high up as possible to get a real view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Dear DaveMom,
Thank you for recently staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Krabi. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The entire team are very appreciative of your good comments. Delighted to hear that you will be coming back, we look forward to welcoming you all again.

Best regards
Mark O'Sullivan
Resident Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,462 - 2,468 of 3,797 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed here in October 2011; weather was warm and humid, not too sunny. Rain storms were frequent but didn't cause problems because it was so warm.

For us, we had to change room due to strange red colour leak from room above. But the upgrade was perfect and we had a breathtaking room with sea view.

Slightly disappointed with the maids ability to clean the room but I'm guessing staff shortages due to the huge flooding issues.

The hotel prices are similar to UK so eating out is a must. Take care when eating at the road side.

We took the Elephant rides, snake dancing and the four island hoping.. Which were excellent.

I would also watch the prices, my girlfriend being Thai managed to frequently get the "local" price rather than the "tourist" price which is a good x3 times!

I would and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twickspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Dear Twickspik...
Thank you for recently staying with us here at Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Krabi. We are very pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that we will take on board your feedback as we are always striving to improve our service. We thank you for your very positive comments and we hope and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Best regards
Mark O'Sullivan
Resident Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Unless you are a confident traveler definitely organise transfers from the airport - hotel before you arrive.
The only way to get to this resort is by boat transfer.
We organised a private luxury car transfer to the beach to then catch our boat transfer, it was lovely!
The boat ride itself is amazing so make sure to have the camera handy for those island happy snaps.

When the resort comes into view, settled into the side of surrounding limestone cliffs, it takes your breath away.
We were greeted on the floating jetty (an experience in itself) by Bond, one of the staff members.

As we had booked a Spa Facing Deluxe - the Club room we were showed to the club lounge for our private check-in.
The club lounge is great with fresh juices and snacks all throughout the day.
Happy hour at the club is recommended and it runs from 5:30 - 7:00pm and actually has cocktails!!

The only downside about the club benefits is that you only get 30mins free internet a day, not a lot compared to other hotel club benefits.
There is free computers in the library with free internet for everyone.
We purchased wifi for our room for AUD$7 (24hrs) but it didn't work for most of the time so best not to waste your money!

The room was incredible - massive bathroom, big bed (although quite hard), huge spa on the balcony and incredible views!
We were in room 1215, pretty sure this room has some of the best views to be had.

The food wasn't that cheap, close to Australian prices when you add the 17% tax / vat.
The Thai restaurant is great on a Saturday night with a buffet and Thai dancing show.
The food at Hagi (Japanese) is great and so filling, highly recommend the tepanyaki set dinner.
We found On the Rocks beachfront dining to have wonderful ambiance at night but the menu is quite limited.
The breakfast buffet is great, so much variety and the egg station is awesome for fresh omelettes!

The spa is not as nice as you would expect but the therapists are all lovely and really do make sure you are comfortable.
We had a couples treatment (3.5hrs) and a Shirodara (Ayurveda) treatment, reasonably well priced and very nice.

Would definitely recommend splurging a little extra and getting a Ocean Facing Spa Deluxe - the Club room, it is heaven sitting in your spa watching the sunset with a nice drink!
This resort really is magnificent and has made us want to experience other Centara's across Asia!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club benefits room and request a high level room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blimeytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Blimeytra,
Thank you for recently staying with us here at Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Krabi. It was a pleasure to have you both as our guests. We appreciate your very positive comments about our resort in particular the benefits you experienced as Club guests. We will take your comments on board re: the internet and you will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of changing our menu at 'On the Rocks' Restaurant which will give diners much more choice in the evening. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to Krabi or to one of our sister properties in the Centara family some time soon.

Best regards
Mark O'Sullivan
Resident Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We read the negative reviews about this hotel which were particularly important as my wife was on a crutch having had a replacement knee 7 weeks earlier. We did all our research and decided to go and we are so pleased we did. Yes the boat to get there was not easy but having arrived all worries disappeared. Our room was changed for a more convenient one and buggies were at our disposay wherever on the resort we wanted to go. The food was excellent and having made full use of the Baht Bonanza meant the the resort was paying 1/3 of whatever we spent-pretty good value.
How anyone could say the staff were rude is beyond us-we found them unfailingly delightful, with nothing too much trouble-I think they would carried my wife if that was necessary-perhaps it is behavior breeds behaviour!
We met someone who said they had no idea that the resort was reached by boat-it is in all the hotel details! Do your research ,then make an informed decision,and please remember the Staff are not responsible for the weather.
All we can say is that despite our limitations, it was the most relaxing, comfortable happy holiday we have ever had with sunny staff, beautiful pool complex and wonderful food.

Room Tip: Do your re4search and return the smiles from the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Dear Richsim-1,
Thank you for recently staying with us here in Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Krabi. It was a pleasure to have you both as our guests. We very much appreciate your very kind comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the experience. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Best regards
Mark O'Sullivan
Resident Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My wife and 3 kids stayed here in early October for 4 nights and definitely the last time. The location is beautiful, the food was good and the staff were friendly however grossly under-trained. From the time we arrived, the 1 star service began. We paid 3,000 additional Baht to have private transfers organised to pick us up from the airport and transport to the hotel, this was a poorly maintained and ill equiped 'bus'. The driver did not speak any english and was trying to convince us to go to his special restaurants and shops on the way. On arrival, we were showed to our room with no explanation of any of the resorts facilities, where anything was and that you had to book the boat (the only way out of the resort to civilsation) hours in advance, we found this out the hardway by turning up to the boat ready for dinner and unable to board. The room was filthy, the heater was on 27 degrees, the phone was broken and the room was not made up. This was the start of a farcical 4 days at this resort which included: constant power outages, room very poorly made up every day, no fresh towels, fittings like bath plugs faulty, water supply outages, incredibly amateurish and over priced island tours etc. The resort was full and yet the management still only put the minimum amount of staff on which made the service slower than waiting for paint to dry. We raised our concerns with Mark the operations manager on the first night to which he said it was unacceptable and provide 1 nights compensation. We regularly travel and enjoy the comfort of 5 star resorts and have never complained or asked for compensation. The experience just continued downhill to the point where all we could do was laugh at the incompetence. We thought we may have been the centre of an episode of candid camera when we required the resort nurse to attend to our daughters neck injury caused from the island boat trip. In she walked, complete in 1930s nursing uniform unable to speak a word of English, my google diagnosis was by far the more efficient information. There really were too many things to go into...if you are looking for a 5 star resort...DO NOT STAY HERE! It's actually put us off Thailand...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Damon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Damon R
Thank you for recently staying with us at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi. It was good to meet with you on the first morning of your stay when you expressed some concerns to me about the resort. We were happy to resolve these issues for you and that we were able to offer you reasonable compensation at that time for the concerns you expressed. I am of course very dissappointed that the transfer from the airport was not to your satisfaction - all of our mini-vans are relatively new and standard for five star properties in Thailand, I was not aware of your experience in this regard. The resort Nurse is actually part of Krabi hospital and the uniform, albeit old fashioned, is standard in hospitals throughout Thailand. The resort I am afraid has no control over the uniforms they wear. I am sorry that the excursions were not to your liking, these are very popular excursions provided by local companies to all hotels and resorts in the South of Thailand and we get very positive reviews of these from visitors to the Ao Nang area. I regret that on this occasion your experience was not to your satisfaction, and thank you for your review in particular the very positive comments about our location, the food and our staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in this resort for 3 nights in early october 2011, The location of this hotel is very bueatiful, just off the busy Ao nang beach , the boat ride from the pier and walking on the floating pier on the arrival was little rocky but is the adventure part of staying in this lovely resort.but there were 3-4 persons to help you walk down the rocky floating pier
the staff was quite efficient in checking us in, on arrival we were happy to get a refreshing complimentary drink, We were upgraded to a Premium sea view room , though the room was not exactly with a great sea view but the view in general of greenary and sea was good enough to lift our spirits , the room was large with big bath tub and rain shower in the bathroom, wide balcony with sitting area, it was a pleasant surprise to find the room very nicely decorated with rose petals on the bed and in the tub and complimentary fruit basket..

though some finer points that are standard in a 5 star properties were missing, no ironing press or board were there in room, the washroom didnot have all the things like dental kits , which were available on demand , but were not put again each day after cleaning of the rooms.

overall the resort is very bueatiful , with the best sea view rooms mainly in 1000-1100 no's.
breakfast is decent , other restaurants were nice, food ok but overpriced. but if you add up the cost of going to Ao nang in TUK TUK both ways + the food cost , it is not os bad.

Swimming pool is good with great views .. the beach is not as bueatiful as Railey beach but the best point is that it is very private , mainly just for the hotel guests..

the best thing is the location , the whole resort merges very well in the tropical forest and there is a huge mountain cliff behind and ocean in front with lovely limestone mountains islands, probably the best location in Aonang ..

though the staff was very nice and friendly but the eye for detail was missing , for example I was billed extra for breakfast , for a local phonecall which i never made, for a item from minibar which i never took and was present in the bar , extra for transport ..

so these things were rectified but i had to call them few times during my stay and is not the kind of conversation you want to have on a great relaxing holidays..

but we had great time overall and will be going back again soon, it is just too lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Rhsingh,
Thank you for recently staying with us here in Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas Krabi. Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured that your constructive comments will be taken on board. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort at some time in the future.

Best regards
Mark O'Sullivan
Resident Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort and Villas, Krabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early October 2011 for 7 nights.

The Hotel is a bit secluded, but that adds to the charm of being dislocated to "other" hotels. There are shuttle boats hourly and they can be booked with one phone call from your room, or there is a wooden and somewhat physically demanding "monkey Trail", which we used all the time.

The monkeys are an added feature, and instead of going on excursions to zoos and the monkey temple, we had first hand and a pleasant experience with monkeys on our balcony. where we fed and filed them, it was wonderful.

Cleanliness and housekeeping was great and the staff were fantastic, friendly and forthcoming. The animation and reception staff in particular were brilliant.


Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lower placed rooms. access is easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidarakyuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,596 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#21 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £141 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing