We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My partner and I loved this place, the setting is superb as are the sunsets, the beach clean, usually enough sun loungers, a choice of pools and non intrusive but excellent service through out. Spacious, clean, elegant but not fussy rooms with great bathrooms and large terraces. Yes there are monkeys occasionally and yes you need to shut your doors properly onto the terrace - but hardly a problem. The breakfast had a huge choice, were delicious and the service good, with clean tables - Eric the Food and Beverages manager was attentive and very helpful. The sushi night was particularly good value for money. We spent time doing nothing but read and swim and sunbathe, as well as going out on the Kayaks around the islands nearby - free for an hour or very reasonable for half a day's rent - there is also a Hobi-cat to sail. There is a gym and spa but we didn't use them. The resort is set into the rocks so yes you have to climb up but if you really want no exercise at all or are too lazy they have electric cars to take you up. The pontoon is a floating one, but there are plenty of staff to assist you should you need it. Occasionally the speed boat service that takes you into Ao Nang got booked up in the evening - there is a paid for longtail boat alternative should this happen. There are plenty of Tuk Tuk's to collect you at a fixed price of 40 baht each, each way. We ate out nearly every night in some wonderful restaurants and only a couple of times came back over the monkey trail - it is steep on the way up and a little rickerty in places but that was half the fun. There are plenty of trips to be booked - some pick you up from the resort and some don't - all the ones we went on were good value for money, plus I used the Scuba Dive Kon-Tiki for a good days safe scuba diving - although it would have been better to be picked up from the pontoon if paying extra to book from their office at the resort rather than in town. We would definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Anything on the first floor and above is likely to see the sea - plus most of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling-siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear traveling-siren

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team and for specifically mentioning Eric our Director of Food and Beverage.

The wildlife around and within the resort is truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,811 - 1,817 of 3,695 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel has a private beach with waters that are warm, shallow in for about a kilometer and absolutely gorgeous. It is slightly cut off from Ao Nang since you need to take one of the periodic shuttles or climb the Monkey Trail which is made with shaky wooden boards and can be an issue if you're afraid of heights. However, Ao Nang isn't _all_ that far and we were also content to hang around the property, read and chill out when we didn't feel like making the trek, which the hotel gave us enough options to do. There is a mosquito issue at some of the restaurants at night because of the pools of still water scattered around the hotel, but we had a higher (sea facing) room and there were no mosquitoes. The food was _excellent_ which was a big deal for us since we were both vegetarians and had trouble finding food outside that did not use fish sauce or eggs. The only down side to the restaurants is that they are quite dead during the evening, which is when you miss the hubub of Ao Nang. As the last shuttle to the hotel leaves at 11.30, from a pier (Nopparthala) that is dark and slightly cut off, this doesn't leave you with very many options if you're staying here like we did as two single girls. All in all we had a very good time but this would be a better choice for people who are content to hang around the hotel or turn in early, rather than people keen on getting out and spending time at Ao Nang or other parts of Krabi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear shreyo

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay in September at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that you also enjoyed the vegetarian food we could offer you in our restaurants.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Centara Resort is beautiful! Our room faced the ocean and had a two sided patio balcony with glass sliding doors. The sunsets was breathtaking. The room was very comfortable and clean. The resort, however, is in need of maintenance. There was a long walk from the lobby/restaurant area to our room. The room was a few flights up the steps, and several of the lights along the way were burned out. Also checking into our room took a very long time after arriving at the resort.
Watch out for the monkeys! In the morning they are on the patio. One of them opened an unlocked sliding door, opened the snack drawer, took a bag of nuts, and ate them on the patio railing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlyn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Merlyn1970

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay in October at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your room and the sunsets.

We acknowledge that some areas of the resort are in need of upgrading, we have recently completed the interior of the rooms and now we are working on some of the exterior areas.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend work in the luxury hotel industry and we went to Centara for 2 nights!we were impressed with the place! The idea of creating an hotel with such an exclusivity is great! All in all was good, but, as we saw in lots of places in Tailand, the attention for the detail, standart of service and english speaking staff is a big problem(I guess it's hard to find staff);We got a great Villa on the top of the resort with a nice view, nice private pool, nice deco's, but the room could be a bit more clean, terrace was dirty and no ashtree outside before we ask for one; We went to dinner at the Thai restaurant with high expectation, but we were a bit disappointed as we expected some more standart of service and some more knowledge of the MENU! They are friendly but more trainings should help to respect the "LQA" standarts; Once we went to the other side of the cliff for visiting the city and it starts heavy rain and we found out that coming back to the hotel after midnight is a big challenge, as not even the long tail boats are working,so, a solution would be apreciated for the future; "On the rocks" bar/restaurante has defenitly to improve quality, upselling and english as it wasn't that pleasant to seat during lunch in such a nice place with so simple, not special and not 5* service; Reception was ok excluding the night agent at our last evening because he was't helpfull and almoust ignored us, it was rude and he needs to see the 5* place he is working; The bar looked nice but atmosphere can improve; Check out was without troubles and the receptionist was very profecional. Summary: great spot, great hotel, interesting monkey trail, free kayaks, friendly staff, great view but with some detail, improvement and trainings for the staff, it can be a dream hotel and a paradise to beat easy the concorrence. I want to come back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tome_santana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear tome_santana

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us last month.

I can fully appreciate your comments about the service and you are correct to say it is a challenge to find staff as most people who work in the hotel industry prefer to live in the larger cities. English language is also a challenge however we have recently recruited a new English teacher and we hope to see this improve in the coming months.

Please accept my apologies for your experience with the night staff and I will follow up with this employee to ensure they are counseled and retrained on what we expect.

Once again thank your for your feedback and support.

Kind regards David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have just returned from the Centara, which we booked last year for our honeymoon, I read the reviews regularly on the site and was not too worried about the reviews of the monkey trail and the floating pontoon as these are quite plainly advertised, I was quite worried however, about the more recent reviews of the standards of service received from the hotel. However, I need not have been worried, and wondered at times whether the other reviewers even went to the same place that we did.

Our arrival at Nopptharrat pier was met almost instantly with the Centara staff taking our luggage straight onto the speed boat and heading for the hotel, we were met on the floating pontoon by Mark, the front desk manager, who took us to the Club Lounge (I would highly advise you take this option when booking, makes life so much easier), where we were given a cold towel and cold drinks, filled in some forms, before being taken to our room and our luggage arriving, this all occurred within the space of an hour, from pier to room. So no problems there. David Martens, the general manager also came and introduced himself to us.

From that point forward, our trip has just gone from good to better. The hotel staff are always pleasant, always helpful, and more to the point, always smiling. From the guys giving out the towels in the morning who were more than happy with helping me to practise my Thai, to the staff in the Club lounge, Khun Cha, Khun Dang and Khun Bo, who made our days so much fun, always willing to help and always with a smile.

The room was lovely, the bed was huge, the hot tub wonderful, the pool met my expectations, I loved seeing the monkeys (both running into our room one morning and on the monkey trail and also trying to steal food at breakfast). The monkey trail, whilst not for the disabled, was perfectly fine to do during the day and during the night, the only thing I would suggest is insect repellent. The monkeys do not bother you at all during the day, except to try and see what is in your bag, and during the night, if you are quiet and look carefully, you may see a few groups huddled together high up in the trees on your way back from Ao Nang.

We sampled the food in all of the restaurants, we had buffet in Rim Sai, the food was delicious, as it also was in Hagi, where we also had the buffet. (although I think we cleared out the rest of the hagi restaurant as we joined in the singing with the guitar player who wandered around singing songs to happy couples), the lotus restaurant food was also delicious, as was On the Rocks. The food provided at breakfast which some people have complained there was not enough choice, was absolutely amazing, and I blame breakfast entirely on the extra 10lb I have gained during the 2 weeks we have been here. (that and the club lounge with it's sandwiches, cakes and canapés)

There were a couple of minor discrepancies, but on the whole, this has been the best holiday we have ever had, and the resort and the staff played a big part in this and I would most definitely recommend the resort, and the area to others, I would also go again should our budget allow.

But one final thing I would like to say, a number of people have commented on the speed of service in the restaurants, we ate at a number of establishments in Ao Nang during our stay, and found that the Thai way of life is a little slower than others are used to expecting, and a conversation with a random stranger from New Jersey on a long tail boat summed it up perfectly, he said "don't go to a Thai restaurant hungry". You're on holiday, learn to relax!

And thanks to all the staff at Centara, especially the club lounge staff, you were all wonderful, hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Ocean view spa rooms have the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SJG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear SJG1972

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team, but also for specifically mentioning Khun Cha, Dang and Bo in the Club Lounge. We have shared these comments with them and they are greatly appreciated.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for a week to celebrate a special birthday. It was my first time to Thailand, and I fell in love with it. The people and culture are simply beautiful. We experienced Western hospitality and standards in Bangkok, and really noticed the difference when we arrived at Centara.

The welcome at the airport from our shuttle driver was good, he carried our bags out to the air conditioned mini bus, of which we were the only passengers. The drive from Krabi airport is approx. 30 minutes, and after the drive we were put quickly and efficiently onto the speedboat to take us to the hotel. The boat trip is approx. 5 minutes.

Check in was a little slow, but we received a drink and a cold flannel and waited patiently for our room to be ready. I think that as the resort receives guests every day at all hours of the day, one has to expect to wait a little bit for a room to become available during high season.

Unfortunately, the first room we were taken to (1263) was not at all what we were expecting. The room itself was beautiful with the obligatory petals on the bed and in the bath, however the deluxe ocean view that we had paid for was very much not on view unless you stood at one corner of the balcony and stretched to see it! We immediately spoke to reception and requested a different room as we could not see the sea. Unfortunately they did not have any king rooms available but offered us the choice to either move to a twin room for one night, or stay in our room before moving to a better room in the morning. After a long journey, we decided on the latter, but this had taken up a number of hours since arrival so we wasted our first afternoon.

In addition to this problem, when we returned to the room after a very late lunch, we could hear dripping. A quick investigation led us to the toilet where there was water pouring from the a/c unit. This was obviously an old problem as the ceiling was completely sodden and it smelt very damp in there. Thankfully we were being moved in the morning, but why on earth do they think it is ok to sell that room?!

Our next room the following afternoon (1123) was exactly what we expected. You could see the gorgeous view from the bed, it was high up and we felt like we were in paradise, and we were getting the standard of room that we had paid for. We also realised after one night in the new room, that the hotel had a/c in the bedrooms - the previous room's obviously wasn't working, and we only had an overhead fan overnight.

The rest of the week flew by. The breakfasts were fantastic, we only ate at 'On the Rocks' which was great for our needs although it would have been nice to have had more Thai food on the menu - there is only so much pizza and chips you can eat, and the Pad Thai was distinctly average.

We went to Ao Nang each day just to break up the monotonous feel of being in a resort - we took the monkey trail, hotel boat and walked on the beach throughout the week. It's definitely worth visiting Ao Nang for restaurants and to stock up on water at non-hotel prices, and the massage huts on the beach were great too.

We booked a day trip to the Phi Phi islands through the hotel which was a highlight. You are collected and dropped off at the hotel which saves a lot of hassle, and the day trip was just brilliant.

I absolutely adored this hotel. The staff were lovely, the standards I agree aren't at a 5 star level to Western standards, but once you get your head around this and just relax into things, you will love it. The hotel could do with a bit of a re-vamp soon, things are looking a bit tired, and there were quite a few broken sun loungers, but all in all I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a quiet week on the beach, or if you want to be located in a great place to go on lots of sightseeing/day trips.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view room when you arrive - you will need to be high up, so be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemimapuddleduck612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear jemimapuddleduc….

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Please accept my apologies that the room you were assigned on arrival did not meet your expectations and for the unfortunate leak, but I was pleased to read the staff were able to re-locate you to another room the following day.

The thai culture is very special and I am glad you have become a fan like me.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and hopefully we will get to see you back in Krabi in the near future.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for two nights at the resort. Beautiful location: the hotel is situated on a private island for which you need to take ferries to the main Krabi land. beautiful room. Ferries start from 8: 00 am to the mainland and the last ferry for the return journey is around 11:30 pm. Helpful and courteous staff. We were disappointed with the food- just had breakfast there which turned out to be so disappointing that we decided to go to krabi town for the other meals

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Anu_157

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was surprised to read you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet as we receive many other comments contrary to this.

Once again thank your for your feedback and recognition.

Kind regards David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,530 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £112 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Prestigia, Fastbooking, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing