We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked a premium deluxe ocean facing room. It has a fantastic view of the bay and resort. The room has an L shaped balcony ( means you can sit out even if it is raining), massive bathroom / wet room and very comfortable beds.
There are little buggies you can hop on to get back up to your room as it is built on a slope. The walk down to the pool, beach , restaurants is easy enough.
Staff at the resort are lovely and very helpful. We did have a very drawn out check in, no one communicates very well so you don't know when you are likely to check in.
You can reach the resort by shuttle boat ( speed boat) which the hotel provide but you need to book, long tail boat( if the weather is good, or a walk called the monkey trail,up step wooden steps across a steep trail).
If you want you want to eat anywhere other than the resort then you need to get along to the next bay, which you can only do by boat or monkey trail.
Unfortunately we experienced really heavy rain on a few days, we managed to get out by speed boat for dinner but then they cancelled the boat back because of the weather and we had to walk up the monkey trail in the dark and the wet... Quite scary as the hand rail is broken in parts and obviously not wearing the right shoes for this experience! Never mind we survived! Overall a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Beach front villa if you don't want a bit of a walk to your room , but the view from the top is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Joe H

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

It’s a shame you experienced a few wet days during your stay and sorry we had to cancel the boat in the evening due to the bad weather.

Once again we appreciate your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,824
    988
    403
    188
    152
See reviews for
838
2,056
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong. This is a stunning hotel, with all the right intentions. The rooms are gorgeous, the views are lovely, the activities are plentiful and the staff are very friendly. The managers were especially lovely and chatty :) However, it rained a fair bit while we were there, and no one seemed to be able to give us a table at dinner at the On The Rocks bar where we didn't get wet. It seemed very unorganised, when all that was needed was more umbrellas, and a hole in the middle of the tables so the umbrellas cover everyone at the table, not just two people... The service for food and drinks at the same bar was very slow, we waited half an hour for a drink most times. The monkeys were a bit of an issue too, they definitely need something to prevent monkeys from getting as close as they did to the breakfast tables and the rooms. I'm not complaining, just making suggestions that might help this lovely hotel live up to its stars. Other than the monkeys, slow drinks and umbrellas, it was a perfectly wonderful hotel with a lot going for it. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wunderlust_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Cutters9

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

I have also noted your comments about the service at On the Rocks as well as the issue with monkeys, however as the resort is situated in their home it is difficult to keep them away. We do feed the monkeys ourselves each morning at the end of the beach to try and keep them away from the breakfast restaurant, which is not always successful.

Please rest assured that we are all committed and working hard to continuously improve the quality of our product and service to meet all our guest’s expectations.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

First of all, we would like to thank everyone for those perfect and wonderful holidays.
We spend 2 weeks in this Centara Resort and can highly recommend it. We booked including Club Access, which was the best choice!
Cha and Dang just makes our days perfect and took care of us, as nobody before in holidays.
The Resort got 4 diffrent Restaurant and Eric the F&B Manager did his best, that he could talk to everyone each day.
We would also give him a special thank for his help, to organise a boat and a taxi to the medical center.
The staff is helpful, the rooms got an incredible view, the Spa and the Gym got everything we wished for, the food was very good and the monkeys were quite funny.
If you are searching a quiet hotel with his private beach, not much of entertainment than THIS hotel is the right one.
I think, everyone which wrote about problems, and it's difficult to reach the hotel (monkey trail - we did it, but it wasnt really a problem), staff doesnt understand german/english, they should get more informations in the internet before they book.
Please note that you are travelling to Thailand and the Resort has to do alot that all the organisation is working. (There is no street to access the resort)
Thanks again to David Martens and his team, specially to Cha, for those wonderful holidays, we will coming back and hope to see everyone again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Vera S

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team and for specifically mentioning Khun Cha and Khun Dang in the Club lounge and Eric our food and beverage director. These comments have been passed to them and they are greatly appreciated.

Your are correct to state, that we do not have any road or street access and there is a large amount of logistics involved for the entire team to make this resort operate and we truly appreciate your understanding of this.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Itchington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What an incredible place, we stayed here for 6 nights on our recent holiday in Thailand, and were both genuinely sad to leave. From waking up in the morning and opening the blinds to the incredible view of the sea and rocky scenery, every day was a complete joy here. Lots of great memories - arriving by speedboat to the floating jetty (the hotel staff carry your cases on a trolley but it's not difficult to walk on), beautiful piano playing over fantastic breakfasts, walking through the grounds filled with tropical jungle palms etc, relaxing by the beautiful pool, taking out the hotel's kayaks or Hobie Cat (sailing catamaran) up and down the coast, walking over the monkey trail into town (took 10 mins, a bit like an old wooden staircase, completely safe, seeing sweet little macaques along the way), enjoying different restaurants in town every night (we love Thai food), plenty of massages (some a bit harsh and less relaxing than others!). If you like good pub atmosphere and live music, go to The Boogie Bar (just behind the corner of the road where you arrive when walking into town) - it has great bands on every night, mostly doing rock covers etc., the guys waitering are good fun and happy to chat, and the beers are cheapest in town (2 for 1 = 100 Baht each for a large beer, you can pay double this at other bars and no live music). Also did the Smart Cook Thai cooking course - fantastic value, you learn plenty of techniques and cook several dishes each of your own choice, then get to eat it all, so we were glad we did the evening session as that was our evening meal sorted for the day too (we made 8 dishes between us plus the curry pastes from scratch, used about 20 chillies!). If you're wondering whether to choose this place, as long as your not too infirm (my 70 year old Mum wouldn't be keen on the monkey trail, but there's always free speedboat transfers to and from town throughout the day), if you have the chance to go or are travelling in the area, I'd say it's a definite 5* thumbs up from us :-) Any messages about this place welcome, cheers

Room Tip: Request a room in the 1000 numbers (rather than 2 or 3000's) as they're on the side with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howarthtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear howarthtw

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay overall and yes our location is truly spectacular and the most talked about aspect of our resort.

You made some great recommendations to our fellow readers which I am sure they will find very helpful.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this resort. The room was 5 star standard although the electric blinds were broken so we had to duck under them every time we left the room. The food in the restaurants were really nice although we found the staff in the beach restaurant quite rude. There is no entertainment at night in this hotel and the only way to leave is via speed boat once an hour or to walk over the monkey trail which is dangerous with slats of wood missing. The resort is also home to hundreds of monkeys which come on your balcony and try to get into your room, I didn't feel comfortable with this as I was in fear of being bitten, they were also itching all over which indicates they had fleas. When we left the resort I noticed that my card had been charged twice, didn't notice until I got home. If I hadn't have contacted the hotel I wouldn't have had this money refunded so be careful when you book through booking.com that you aren't overcharged!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear NJC2

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read we did not meet your expectations in some areas and please accept my apologies that you found the level of service in On the Rocks not at the correct level.

I was surprised to read your comment about evening entertainment as we have several different activities in the evening including a roaming duo that plays in our beach, Thai and Japanese restaurant, a pianist in our International restaurant and a cabaret show once a week in our Deep Blu.

The hotel is located within a national park, which is home to both macaques and gibbon monkeys and I am sorry if there presence hindered your enjoyment of the resort.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we will continue to work on both our service and product so that we can meet the legitimate expectation of all our guests.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Right lets start at the beginning we arrived being dropped at the pier at 10 to 6 in the evening to be met by someone who took our names and gave us tags the said right I finished now boat at 6.30 I thought here we go, the boat turned up got to the hotel and the check in was slow again i thought oh no.
The room was fantastic spa bath on the balcony (room 1042) views not all that but we came for the beach/pool so who cares for that.
The beach even though public is very quiet, the main pool was quite busy but the tranquil pool was just that (this is where we were near).
The hotel location is fantastic in the nature reserve so you will get the monkeys popping in to see what they can find which we found to be a added pleasure more than annoyance ( you are after all in their natural home ).
Getting to Ao Nang town is a bit of a task either the monkey trail, not to bad for the able bodied or not scared of monkeys and rickety woodwork (this is not a moan but an honest opinion) or book the boat which is not to bad if you book in advance early enough.
The food in the hotel is fairly decent but can be a little pricey as are the drinks.
We did have a member of our party who fell over stepping off the jetty and hurt their ribs we went to reception to see if there was any first aid of which there was not till the medical centre opened the next morning( sorry for bringing this up but should be a first aider on all the time).

I have really thought about this review a lot and it could bee so easy to knock this hotel for lots of little things but I could see that the management team are really working hard to iron out all the issues and it's not easy to please everyone and to be honest i really did have a cracking 9 nights here and would recommend to others (have already to a friend for next year).

I would like to thank the 2 staff in the club lounge, Cha and Dang, were very attentive and always had a smile to make you feel welcome, also Eric the food and beverage boss was always around busy, busy, busy and great to have a chat too (thanks Eric for sorting out my Brothers 50th Birthday meal).

Many thanks to all the staff we encountered on our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear wiggy1011

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was pleased to read after your initial first impression on arrival you enjoyed your overall stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff and thank you for specifically mentioning Khun Cha and Khun Dang in the Club Lounge and Eric our food and beverage director. These comments have been passed to them and they are greatly appreciated.

I personally met with the member of your party the following morning that slipped over on the jetty and I understand she has recovered. In regards to your comment about the first aiders, we do actually have staff on call for this and I will follow up why this was not offered to you.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just got back from a dream break in Thailand, after spending 3 days in Bangkok we arrived here for the remainder of our holiday.
The first thing to note is that arrival is by boat and before even getting to the floating jetty the views of the hotel are spectacular. the floating jetty is an experience in itself but is fairly sturdy and the effect of the waves is minimal. There is a bit of repair needed to one part but it's easy enough to avoid the dropped parts.

Check in was a bit hit and miss with our group all handing over passports and credit cards, only for two couples to then get theirs mixed up. That said it was pretty quickly resolved and we were in our room within around 20 minutes.
The view from our room was incredible, straight out with a great ocean view.

The only ways into Ao Nang are either by the shuttle boat, which you will then need a taxi the other end (we paid around 80 baht - just over £2, so it's not expensive). The second route is the monkey trail, which we used most nights.
the shuttle boat runs every hour and can be booked in the library, i'd suggest you do this early if you want to go and come back at specific times.
The trail is through national park so isn't up to the 5* rating of the resort and has the look and feel of being a bit unstable, and with the humid air can lead to you becoming quite sweaty, so if you intend to dress up then this probably isn't the route to take. you also need to be fairly healthy to be able to get across as it's pretty steep at both ends so can take it's toll on your legs.
Both routes will get you into Ao Nang in around 20-30 minutes.

I would recommend taking the trip for meals as the restaurants at the hotel are pricey compared to Ao Nang with the service and the food being of no better quality. In fact I'd say we enjoyed better meals in town for a fraction of the price we paid at the hotel.

Breakfast is a buffet, with the same options every day. There isn't a massive amount of choice but enough to make sure you don't go hungry.

We both had a massage at the spa which although was very nice compared to the massages we enjoyed at Ao Nang i'd say just get them in town too. The prices are high within the spa and similar services can be had from one of the many massage places within Ao Nang for just a fraction of the price.

I would suggest haggling for any souvenirs you get too, there are so many souvenir shops that it would be easy to walk out and go somewhere else and the shop keepers are happy enough to barter.

Due to the location of the resort you never get to see a sunrise, but do have the perfect view of the sunset every evening.
it does also mean that for a few hours each morning the sun is hidden behind the cliffs. It's still warm and it came over around 10.30 every morning so it didn't affect our tanning time too much.

Overall I'd recommend this to anyone, and have been to everyone i've spoken to since I've been back. It's the perfect resort to relax and lose yourself in the paradise surroundings.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have an unobstructed ocean view, so if this is high on the list of criteria then it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbailey1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Jbailey1984

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and yes check-in can be a little busy when you have a boat full of people all arrive at reception at the same time and all want to get to their room to relax and enjoy the amazing location.

I was surprised to read your comment about the breakfast buffet as we change many of our dishes on a daily basis, these include changing the fresh fruits, the bakery items, the hot dishes plus our live cooking station offers different items each day such as pancakes, waffles, French toast etc..

Yes are your correct to state that ALL our rooms do not have expansive views of the ocean, however they are ocean facing and depending on what category you book as to how much ocean you see.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing