We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I did not want to leave!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I did not want to leave!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I loved this resort!!! I stayed here for three nights with my sisters in a premier Deluxe ocean view room!
Arriving at the resort is an experience in itself... There are no roads so you arrive via the hotels speed boat to the private jetty. I had read reviews about this and was pleasantly surprised! It's more of a floating pontoon than a jetty and a bit of fun walking down it! I can see it would be a bit difficult if the sea was rough, but it really wasn't an issue!
We were greeted on the jetty and escorted to the check in area where we were given cool drinks to sip while we waited for our key! We were then escorted in a golf buggy up to our room! WOW!!! The room was amazing! They do warn to keep the balcony door shut because of the monkeys but we didn't see any near our room!
We ate at all the restaurants and the food was amazing, but we thought the menus could have been a bit more extensive!
The pool area appeared small but was actually perfect and very relaxing!
To get to the village of Ao nang you can get the complementary speed boat to the main pier and then a tuk tuk for about $4 or take the monkey trail!!! We did both! The monkey trail is steep but definitely doable. I am by no means super fit and did it fine... If a bit hot and bothered. But the reward is the cute little baby monkeys playing in the river and jumping into the water from the trees!
Ao Nang was a great little town! Much nicer than Patong and still lots of shopping and places to eat! The beach is beautiful!
Overall we had an amazing time! The resort was amazing and the staff wonderful! The only downside was the lack of internet in the public areas and it was also a little slow, but we were on holidays and keeping track of Facebook was not my priority!
I highly recommend this resort!
My favourite part was when we were picked up from the jetty for a trip to Phi Phi Island and everyone who was already on the boat from other hotels were so impressed and jealous of our hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OZLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear OZLJ

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your sisters enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Many of the island tours pick up our guests directly from our jetty and we often hear such comments as yours from other guests on the boat as many tourists are not aware of our resort because we situated in our own private bay, which cannot be seen from the local village.

Your comments about the internet have been noted and we are currently in the process of laying new fibre optic cables within the resort so we can improve and expand our current internet service.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    964
    394
    182
    143
See reviews for
795
1,998
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to stay, if you want privacy and luxury in a fantastic part of Thailand look no further. The staff are very helpful with trips to neighbouring Ao Nang and to the wonderful islands. Look out for the monkeys in the morning they are either on your balcony or playing on the north side of beach. There are three options into Ao Nang the courtesy boat (free but requires some sort of transport tuk tuk etc to get into the centre of town), Longboat (100TBH) to Ao Nang beach or walk the Monkey Trail (20 minute steepish hike). All three options have there advantages and disadvantages.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Paul M

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our discovery desk and guest services staff.

The wildlife around and within the resort is truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

we booked for 3 days with fullboard and 2 rooms. we payed 3500 USD and we dont know for what! we arrived in this beautiful place by boat. you cant get with car there. we booked ocean deluxe spa room and one garden room. both rooms had the same size, except the ocean spa deluxe had a dirty and almost broken jacuzzi on the terrace. no lights in the staurcase. the hole resort is very dark when you walk to rooms. my shampoo were never filled up! people at pool bar are very very grumpy, no english, slow. they understand what you say but coca cola and pizza i think you dont have to speak english. the thai restaurant we ate was super slow. took us 2 hrs to order and finally eat. people race with the buggys there arround and its not very clean and modern. the pool guy was polite and eric at the food and beverage did whatever he could. we had full bored and they charged us for christmas eve dinner full price for walk in guest!
All in all: the video on the webside is amazing. but dont expect anything. the nature arround and pool is fantastic. but the service is ugly and missarable. for 3500 USD and 3 nights we could have stayed at the ritz carlton krabi. never again. organization and service very poor! PLUS THE CRAZIEST thing: we booked a return to airport. the boat brought us to ao nang pier. and there the hotel stuff said we havent book a van with them so we had to find our own a car. how can the hotel arrange a boat from middle to nowhere and than leave us there without arranging a car to airport? by walking? thats what i say, maybe 4 star and thatd it! dont expect service!!!! i travel a lot and i know what i am talking about. without expecting too much

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveller1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Worldtraveller1900

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was disappointing to read we did not meet you expectations on this occasion as there have been so many positive reviews during the same period.

I can see from your profile that you have traveled extensively both on business and pleasure and see that you usually stay at such hotels as the Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, St Regis etc and now understand why we did not meet your expectations.

Unfortunately without more details of your booking I cannot explain or comment further on your transfers to the airport. However if you provided us with an email address on check-in you would have received an email from me asking for your feedback following your stay, which I would be more than happy to investigate further.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we will continue to work hard so that we can try and meet the expectations of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Overall a nice resort for the family. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and the hotel has arranged for us to have two adjoining rooms (linked via balcony) for a family of five. Very comfortable stay.

We love the ocean view from our rooms and the kids went canoeing, swimming, etc..so overall a relaxing trip.

Breakfast is good and have lots to eat and we had dinner near the pool - nice pizza.

We did try the monkey trail to get to Ao Nang town. Interesting walk and suitable for the young ones. My mother in law is 74 and found the walk a bit challenging though.

Remembered to book the speed boat in advance to get in and out of hotel to the pier. Else need to do the monkey trail or book the long tail from Ao Nang town to get back to hotel at THB150 per person.

If you have younger kids on stroller or older folks, please ask for rooms towards the lobby else will be a long walk and climb to the rooms. But good exercise! :)

We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you have kids and old folks, pls ask for a room closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aileen8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Aileen8088

Thank you for sharing your comments following you and your family’s recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and that the family enjoyed the many activties available at the resort. I was also happy to see that our interconnecting rooms worked well for your family.

Yes the monkey trail is not for everyone due to the steep steps and the shuttle boat is a better option.

Once again thank you for your kind recognition and support and we look forward to welcoming you back when next travel to Krabi.

Best regards David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I visited a number of hotels in Krabi on a recent business trip and the Centara Grand is by far the best, just wish I could have spent longer here ! Set in a stunning secluded cove surrounded by tropical forest, this wonderful resort offers you the chance to escape, yet still within easy reach of Ao Nang. Recently refurbished the resort offers a range of rooms, mine had the added luxury of a jacuzzi on the balcony so it is worth paying that bit extra if you are on honeymoon to get this room type. Food and service all excellent throughout my stay and could not fault anything. The only way from Ao Nang to the resort is by speedboat which you must pre-book, alternatively you can walk around the headland which is known as the monkey trail, due to the monkeys that live in the forest. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Spa Deluxe Ocean Facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cazlovesbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear caroline_ormerod

Thank you for sharing your comments following your short stay with us in November.

It was a pleasure to read that our resort has left such a positive experience with you after your busy work schedule.

We sincerely appreciate your kind recognition and look forward to welcoming you back or your family & friends when they next travel to Krabi.

Best regards David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our family of seven stayed here for four nights after three nights in Bangkok and five nights in Phuket and we couldn't have asked for a more percect way of ending our holiday inThailand. My husband and I had the club benefits as we stayed in the one bedroomed villa and I specifically want to name Dang and Ae who assisted us and were very helpful and friendly and tried their best to make our stay the best ever. The location is breath taking, the rooms wonderful and the breakfast the very best. Our children betweem ages 14 and 24 enjoyed it just as much and did the kontiki scuba at Phiphi-an awesome experience- and the free kayaking amd windsurfing. We all enjoyed the monkeytrail and the nearby vilage of Aonang. We felt pampered and spoilt and will definitely advise all our friends to visit Centara- it is a must if you visit Thailand. THANK YOU for good memories and a wonderful time. This amazing scenery will stay with us for a very long time as well as all the fun and good times we shared here Seugnet van der Merwe

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schalk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear schalk123

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknoweldging the staff friendliness and for specifically mentioning Khun Dang and Khun Ae. These comments have been passed to them and they are greatly appreciated.

We sincerely appreciate your support and recognition and hope to see you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband and I visited the hotel for ten nights as part of our honeymoon and we were thrilled. Having read some of the other reviews before we went I had some concerns but having now been to the hotel I do not understand the negative comments which have been made.

I will start with the arrival. We had a private transfer from the airport and got to the pier before most other people. We did have to wait a while for everyone else to arrive but it was only about half an hour and the surroundings were so beautiful that we did not mind. When we got on the boat the hotel staff loaded our cases on for us. The boat trip to the hotel took around 7 minutes. It is a short and pleasant journey which we enjoyed. The sights from the boat are stunning.

When we arrived at the hotel I was nervous about the floating jetty as so many people mentioned it on here. However, there was nothing to worry about whatsoever. The hotel staff were there to greet us and we did not need to worry about our luggage, this was taken off for us and we next saw it in our room. The jetty is a lot wider than I expected and much more stable then people have indicated on here. Obviously it does move because it is on water but I felt safe on it at all times and you don't have to walk on it for very long.

We were led to the reception area by the assistant manager who was very welcoming. We were given cold towels and a cold drink. Check in was dealt with efficiently and we were taken to our room rather than having to try and find it ourselves. We had a sea view spa deluxe and I would highly recommend it. The view was breath-taking and the spa on the balcony was worth having.
The room was clean and spacious and very comfortable. We only had one monkey visit the whole time we were there but it soon scurried off once it realised we weren't going to give it food.

We ate at On The Rocks almost everyday for lunch. The service there was brilliant and the food very tasty. It is also right next to the beach so is very picturesque. We also went to a BBQ one night here. It was about £25 per person but it was all you can eat and was so huge. There was meat, fish, salad, seafood and loads of other things. It was good value.

We ate in the Thai restaurant on our last night as they had a Thai buffet. Again there was lots of food and it was all delicious.

We also ate in the Lotus one night which was a bit cheaper than the other restaurants and just as good.

Around every other night we went to Ao Nang to eat. It was very cheap and there were some good restaurants and bars there. The Lay Lae grill was particularly good, I would recommend going before sunset because watching it was very special. In one restaurant we had two courses each and 4 drinks and it came to £10 in total.

Breakfast at the hotel was never a disappointment. The amount and variety of food was unbelievable. I had omelettes every day, made by the chef in front of me from the ingredients I picked.

We went on two day trips whilst in Krabi. The first was a trip to the Emerald Pool, hot spring, Tiger Temple and elephant trekking. This was a brilliant day but the Tiger Temple is not for everyone. To get to it you have to walk up over 1200steps and it is steep. It is very difficult in 34 degree heat.

We also went on a scuba diving trip. We had never been before but booked it through the Kontiki office at the hotel and were so glad we did. It was one of our favourite days.

We went to the spa at the hotel a few times. It is expensive for Thailand but still cheaper than in England. In Ao Nang you can have massages all along the beach for 200 baht per hour and we did visit these places a few times also. It was lovely being near the sea when we had our massages but the spa at the hotel was much more luxurious and extra special. .The staff in there are absolutely fantastic.

The main complaint that we heard from other guests and also which I have seen on here is that the hotel is too secluded. The hotel has a private beach and is set in a cove. This is the beauty of it and this is what attracts people to it. It therefore astounds me that people then complain it is too secluded. Do not go to this hotel if you want an active and lively holiday. It is clear from all of the brochures and websites that this is not that type of place. The hotel is in a beautiful setting. The pools are by the beach so you can relax on a lounger whilst watching the sea, or of course lie on the beach itself. It is perfect for a relaxing holiday.

However, saying that, the hotel is not as secluded as people make out. Yes you have to book the boat in advance but this was not a problem, we just planned ahead and booked the day before. The monkey trail is also fine. I agree it is not suitable for disabled or oaps but we had no problems whatsoever and saw plenty of children on there. It takes les s than ten minutes to get across and I was not going particularly fast.

The hotel is more expensive that Ao Nang but if you wanted to you could go to Ao Nang every night without any problem and eat there. However, it was nice to relax at the hotel and eat there. We had room service one night on our balcony and it was very nice and informal.

The staff at the hotel are all friendly and most speak very good English. It was disappointing to see people complaining about their English when they did not speak any Thai. We were in Thailand after all.

You are provided with bottled water in your room every day and when we ran out we just rang and asked for more and they brought it. Water there isn’t expensive anyway but it was nice to get it free.

In summary, I would highly recommend this hotel. I have joined Trip Advisor just to write this review because many of the others I have read are unfair and give a negative impression of the hotel. We found it to be a perfect location for our relaxing and luxurious honeymoon. We met many other people there who loved it as much as we did, the people who did not were the people that were moaning about paying £5 for a sandwich and chips or that they had to step on a boat for 7 minutes to get to Ao Nang.

The only negative comment I would make is about the bar, Deep Blu. There was little atmosphere in there and we preferred to sit at On the Rocks.

If you want a relaxing holiday in paradise then this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KAS2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear KAS2407

Thank you for sharing your detailed comments following your honeymoon with us in November.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team. The chef was also pleased to read you enjoyed his food and that the changing breakfast buffet lived up to your expectations.

You are right to state that our location is not ideal for everyone, but if they have read the brochures, checked the website and read the many reviews they will know what to expect before they arrive. I am pleased to read you took great advantage of our unique location.

Unfortunately many guests expect our staff to speak perfect English, however in some areas of Thailand, like the south, English is not widely taught or spoken therefore it is a challenge for us to find English speaking staff. However we have since recruited a full time English teacher who we trust will be able to make a difference.

Once again we sincerely appreciate you writing this review to set the record straight for many readers and thank your for your generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing