We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It did for us perfectly, but do be clear why you are going.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
311 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“It did for us perfectly, but do be clear why you are going.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Ao Nang beach is a fair way from the airport and to get to the resort, you will need to take a boat. We actually didn't know this but got the resort's own boat just in time. In any case, boats seem to go regularly, but do check.

Its been a tough year for my wife and I and all we wanted was no more than to sit under the sun, read a book and be waited on. That's what we got and as we were not looking for anything else, it did strike me that maybe, guests might find longstays a little boring in terms of feeling a little confined.

There are activities but as lovely as the resort is, its out the way a bit. As I say, ideal for us though and we had a wonderfully relaxing time!

The setting is quite spectacular and this does aid relaxation. The breakfasts are very good but in terms of other options, you are restricted to the resort which makes it expensive. I would not recommend the buffet meals,as I would not recommend buffets generally but we ate in the Thai restaurant al a carte and it was good. No problems with staff and the rooms were excellent.

All in all, it was ideal for us, very relaxing and not loud. I am not sure I would go again but thats not because we were in anyway disappointed, but because next time we might want something different.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear LoftusroadW12

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and you found the environment relaxing. Thank you also for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Yes the resort is in a unique location, only accessible by boat so it is ideal for guests to just relax and enjoy the beach or pool areas.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,747
    964
    393
    182
    144
See reviews for
794
1,997
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent 10 days here in April 2013 in 2 connecting ocean view rooms with my 3 children -11,15 and 17.
It was a fabulous holiday ,great location, great hotel and staff all polite and helpful.
We went on a few trips and also my son learnt to dive and my husband re certified his diving.
We used the monkey trail and the boat to get to Ao Nang and I actually liked being away from the town and selecting our visit times.
We ate in the restaurants and beach bar and the food was great and although more than in town the prices were good for a posh hotel in such a lovely location.
We found it such a good holiday combination of relaxation and action that we are booked to return at the end of February for another week -a last holiday before my daughter starts her hard work preparation for her IB and also to celebration my youngest son's 13th birthday.
Can't wait! counting the days and bikini diet starts now!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britmumabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear britmumabroard

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us in April last year.

It was a pleasure to read you and your family enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Once again we sincerley appreciate your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back in February. Please contact me on ckbr@chr.co.th to let me know your return date.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Centara Grand in Krabi for 7 days and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The shuttle boat to the hotel was simple and efficient. Check in took a bit longer than I prefer but our room was ready for us even though we arrived earlier in the day. Normal check in time is early in the afternoon so some other couples had to wait. Our bags were brought up for us which was very nice since it was a long uphill walk to our room. They do have shuttle service to bring guests up to the rooms but if you got one, it seemed to be by chance. There was no schedule on when the shuttles ran. Besides, going up and down the hill was good exercise.

The room was beautiful and well appointed with all of the simple necessities. There was plenty of space to unpack our things. The bathroom and shower area was great and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The view from the room was gorgeous.

The grounds overall are fantastic and very well maintained. The pool was great and was never crowded but the good chairs get taken up quickly. Most people would lay their towels down early in the day to reserve chairs. The “relaxing pool” was also very nice if you wanted peace and quiet. Unfortunately, there was very little, if any, wait service around the pool area.

Breakfast is enormous and there is plenty to choose from. We ate mostly in Ao Nang for lunch and dinner but we had lunch at the On the Rocks and had dinner one night at the Rim Saai. Service at both places was a bit odd. It usually seemed as though no on the staff knew what their roles were. It was a bit disorganized. However, the food at both restaurants was very good.

I used the fitness room a few times. They have good equipment and a good variety. The spa was quite nice as well and the massages were decent; not the best we have had but not bad. The library is very peaceful and convenient for getting online. The staff was very helpful with questions about things to see and places to go. I recommend that you ask about the monkey trail as soon as you get there. It is the easiest, fastest and least expensive way to get to Ao Nang. Yes, you’ll see plenty of monkeys too.

We had to take a long boat to Nonparrat pier instead of the shuttle boat. The ride was not a problem but we had to either disembark into the water or make a big jump so we didn’t get wet. We were not very pleased with this since we were not prepared to get into water. Overall our experience was very good. Some parts of the service were quirky but overall it was OK. With that said we spoke to some other couples who had some bad experiences. Unfortunately, the general manager and staff were not very adept at handling these negative situations. Fortunately for us, everything went quite well and we were very pleased.

The hotel, grounds and food were very good but you’ll need to be a little forgiving at times with the service. Overall we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine that rooms directly around the main pool could be noisy and have less privacy. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Rob B

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

I appreciate your feedback about the service and we are constantly working to improve both our product and service to meet all guest expectations.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed 5 nights here and we thought the hotel was spectacular. We were lucky enough to be here new years eve and so much effort was put into the evening with fantastic entertainment a huge buffet and fireworks. We had some issues when we first arrived but they were quickly sorted out and we were upgraded to a fantastic room with ocean views and an outside jacuzzi. The hotel is in a fabulous location with its own beach. Given the size of the hotel the beach doesn't get crowded at all and we quickly found out its best not to leave as the other beaches get so crowded. There are canoes available and windsurfing and a good range of activities and excursions provided. Travel to Ao Nang is only by free shuttle boat, long tail boat at 150 baht pp or you can walk over the monkey trail or beach at low tide. The monkey trail is absolutely fine if you are relatively fit and only takes 10-15 minutes but I personally wouldn't try it in the dark. There are 4 good restaurants and a great bar. I would definitely recommend a massage in the spa. It was excellent. I would definitely stay here again. Some people moan about the location but I think that's why it is so special. It is so nice to get away from the crowds. Good gym facilities too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natasha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Natasha a

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed our New Years Eve event as all the team put in a great effort to ensure everyone had a good time.

Yes our location is spectacular and the monkey trail is a quick alternative to get into nearby Ao Nang.

The complimentary watersports are appreciated by many people and we have recently added the stand up paddle boards which are proving to be very popular.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Centara as a family between Christmas and new year. We did not experience anything particular, that needed the attention of the very defensive management team, but the overall feeling was well short of true 5 star as experienced in our Bangkok hotel stays.

The staff are a mixed bunch, some friendly, others less so, and the level of English is a problem.

Whilst the food prices might compare to other 5* pretenders in the area, you have the limiting factors of the much reported isolation, and is generally average at best. On the the rocks is the only location with any atmosphere, but be prepared to wait for your drinks. Plenty of staff present, but totally disorganised. Tip for the management team: provide some fans to the thai restaurant, or improve the ac provision.

The beach is ok, but could do with a general tidy up, particularly at the monkey trail end. You could easily apply this comment more generally around the accommodation, as there was noticeably rubbish strewn around undergrowth.

On the plus side, the room was very nice, with the exception of a couple of dodgy fittings here and there, and the maid service was very good.

The pool was great, and there was little need for the early rising sun bed competition, even during peak season.

If you want to see the monkeys, go to the trail at 8am, where the staff leave out food for them. Very entertaining.

As a final point, I would suggest the Centara team visit the Banyan tree to see what real 5* looks like! and push for the resources needed to meet this standard of service.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go to the Sheraton
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DB_otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear DB_otto

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was pleased to read your enjoyed the location, the views, the room and that the room attendant took good care of your room cleanliness.

I appreciate your comments about the level of English of the staff and I am sorry you took our explanation as defensive when it was provided more as information so that you could better appreciate the local environment in which the resort is located.

Once again please accept our apologies that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion but we will continue to strive to meet the legitimate expectations of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Room service food low quality .Food in General is low quality and not stored properly .prepare to get regular toilet stops.they use food till it's unusable .best eat rat down town.ask for afew items prepare to follow up with multiple calls.
8 days in not to return...

Room Tip: Inspect first then book for long stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear A M

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read the food did not meet your expectations. I am not sure what you mean about seconds and re-using food as all our food is brought from the mainland each day.

We had in excess of 400 guests each day in the resort during the month and we did not receive any other such reports.

Once again I am sorry we did not meet your expectations but without any more details as to where you dined it is difficult to respond.

Regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Staff are disappointing with their lack of English and service skills-must be terribly underpaid. A badly managed resort and food is so disappointing it's best to go into Ao Nang.
Lack of staff at happy hour meant a long wait for drinks - which I might add seem watered down .
When you travel a long way and spend decent money at a resort I expected better.
I won't return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachvarsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Rachvarsa

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations.

Yes English is a challenge for some of our staff as this is not their first language and in some cases a third language for them. However we have recently recruited an English teacher who we are confident will be able to improve their abiltiy to communicate with guests.

I am sorry with four restaurants you could not find one that met with your palate and that the alcoholic beverages were not as strong as you are use too.

Once again thank you for your comments.

regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing