We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just recently and had a wonderful time, no hassle with sunbeds as there are plenty. Never used the main pool as the water looked too cloudy but the relaxing pool was fine. Food was good and tried the Thai buffet and the surf and turf buffet, about £14 and as much as you can eat..excellent. the resort is secluded in a bay with no through traffic of other hotels which was ideal. Went on an elephant trek and islands visit though on the islands visit all the other boats go at the same time for the tides so it's crowded. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only thing I can think of that let me down was for a five star hotel the Internet access should have been available everywhere not just in the library or reception. The shuttle to the pier in Ao Nang was every hour, had to be booked, with the last boat coming back about 11pm, 40bt tuk tuk into town from there. The food was good in town and sea food street was the best. Overall it was great just sort the wifi access out Centara !!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Patriot222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Patriot222

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the food, your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

I appreciate the feedback on the wifi and we are in the process of extending the complimentary service further within the resort.

Once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 3,893 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Dream location, amazing views, secluded beach, extremely helpful staff. The room was very spacious, with great views. Make sure to close the door though when you are not there as otherwise you might get a visit from the monkey who love to steal food (and amazingly have figured out by now how to open the hotel rooms' mini bars.

And my special advice if you are arriving on specially busy days: We arrived on Valentine's Day and the hotel was fully booked, which meant that all but one restaurants were completely booked in advance as well, as was the Valentine's beach dinner option. We were told we should have done the reservation at least two days ahead, which of course wasn't possible, as we arrived the same day. The romantic birthday dinner on that night was simply not possible, so we "postponed" my birthday.
Most activities and trips offered by or through the hotel were also already booked out. We ended up staying most of the time at the hotel site, which I do not regret in the least (the Spa is amazing). However, if you want to organize something special, make sure to call the hotel 2-3 days ahead and ask whether there will be any special dinner options or activities you might want to book ahead of time.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room. The view is amazing. Make sure to check for special dinner options a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValeDeOro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear ValentinaBCN

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and yes the monkeys in the resort are very smart and can easily access your room if you don’t lock your doors.

Please accept my apologies that you were not able to attend any of our special evenings. We did not expect our Valentines dinner to be so popular and our private dinners on the beach we only allow a maximum of 2 on any one night (each end of the beach).

Once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have just finished our stay at the Centara Grand Krabi, we had a lovely time. The bedroom was spacious, very comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, big balcony with comfortable day beds. We had a sea view and a jacuzzi on our balcony which was lovely.

In terms of access in and out of the resort to Ao Nang the options are: free shuttle boat to the pier and then a tuk tuk ride into Ao Nang (tuk tuk ride is cheap and fun!), long tail boats go to and from the resort on a regular basis for a small charge, these are fun but not the best option if you are bad on your feet, due to climbing in and out. The monkey trail goes from the resort beach to Ao Nang and we used it alot. It is challenging and not suitable for those who are not good on their feet. We are in our 20s and got out of breath using it but it was fun and good exercise.

The food in the resort is good all round and is priced as you would expect in a hotel. We preferred eating in the town but there are a lot of options for people who want to stay at the resort. Sometimes the service was a little slow at the beach bar but the food and drinks are good.

The hotel can organise a wide variety of trips, we went on a private boat trip to the Phi Phi Islands which was absolutely fantastic and well worth the money.

Overall we feel this resort is good value for money. There are huge differences in 5 star hotels and this is not a Banyan Tree or a Nam Hai but it is not the price of those either! It is a good hotel, in a location ideal for relaxing, sightseeing and eating out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dgrhys88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear dgrhys88

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay, including the food and the private boat trip to Phi Phi. Yes our rooms are all very large and very comfortable.

You are correct to state there are many different five star resorts around Asia and we are not in the same league or price range as a Banyan Tree or the Nam Hai.

However we sincerely appreciate your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here in March 2014 for 4 nights before moving on for a family wedding.
The resort was very clean and the villa that we had was spotless, well set out and comfortable.
The food was delicious and there was more than ample choice.
The beach was just perfect, the best one that we had visited so far.
The only fault that we had was being let down at night by the longboat that we had ordered to collect us from the town. This happened twice and it was a little scary waiting on a dark beach, both times we had to ring the hotel to be collected. We could not face the 'monkey walk' it was too dangerous for us, although younger fitter people used it. The people at the resort were kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room faced the beach we had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rescuedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Rescuedaisy

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of the resort, the great food and our beach.

Please accept my apologies for the problem you experienced with the longtail transfers in the evening and for any inconvenience this caused.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stunning views from this lovely hotel but disappointed with service and food.

The hotel room (whilst lovely to look at!) was very dirty when we arrived - we cleaned the surfaces and had the hotel clean the floors. The swimming pools were also very cloudy and uninviting....

Staff throughout the resort clearly need better training and service was very slow....and just poor!

Food is overpriced and not very good.

The boat service is simply unacceptable for a five star resort - the free shuttle is to a remote pier that requires a taxi into Ao Nang.....and only runs a limited service that does not run at night...many guests use the monkey trail - a rickety set of steps up a cliff! Boats do run to Ao Nang beach but this has to be booked, pick up a ticket from reception and then board....lots of hassle!

Will not return and suggest anyone travelling here finds an alternative hotel - there are plenty of better ones!

Room Tip: Do not stay here! If you do, insist on a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Paul V

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

As I already expressed to you in my email, I was disappointed to read we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

The boat service and schedule is clearly advertised on our website and with our travel partners so I am surprised you were not aware of this and make a comment that it did not operate 24 hours!

My team and I, however will continue to work towards meeting the legitimate expectations of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Outstanding views, cool,well appointed rooms,polite and helpful staff, excellent facilities eg. Pools,gym, kayaks etc. Beach wonderful, sea warm and shallow. Friendly monkeys!! Monkey trail easily negociated with a little care!! Well done Centara!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank fezplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear A TripAdvisor Member

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

The monkeys within the resort are truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We like having holidays in the Far East as the people look exotic, its warm and lush and the food is different! This hotel is rated as a five star resort. The room we were given was low down and hardly private but my wife's motto should be "nothing ventured, nothing gained!" so a quick chat with the person showing the room and a quick phone call and we were given a room at the top of the resort with a amazing view of the limestone pinnacle that is a feature of this resort. The room was certainly good with wet room/bath and Jacuzzi plus Western type toilet thought my wife thought a bidet would be useful as well. I was a little worried about the floating pier but there were no gaps between the blocks of plastic and we walked down it in the dark each night. There was none of the stupid practise I have seen else where of people getting up early to 'bag' a sun lounger. The steps in the resort are no problem and there are internal roads to walk up if your not fit enough. The "Monkey Trail" was dead easy to use even at night though the walk-way could do with monkey proof litter bins as there is lots of litter along the trail that does not cast the resort in a good light! I think the hotel staff were very nice and helpful but most seem to have a poor grasp of English..... The resort seems to be well kept but as you walk down the main steps the peeling paint on the roof apex of the function rooms is rather too noticeable. We had no trouble with the monkeys but you would do well not to pat them as they swim in the stagnant stream which really stinks at the one end of the "Monkey Trail"!! The breakfast catering was very good and we stayed to eat various restaurants in the evening as they do good pizza's that help you to avoid 'Bangkok Belly'. Avoid the nights that they run buffet style meals as you will get a shock at the cost...The 'Wi-Fi' connection was not much good even when purchasing the special connection code. As this is supposed to be 'Five Star' I would have thought the internet connection should have been better. You might consider buying a 'Kindle' as the library is sparse as regards to English reading matter. In all a very nice place to stop at but rather expensive to do it every year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnS320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear John S

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and that you were able to move rooms to one that had a better view. I agree that the jetty is not as bad as people make it out to be and the monkey trail is quiet manageable if you take your time.

I appreciate your comments about the communication with the staff however we do have a full time English teacher who has been with us for several months and we are confident she will help improve this.

Thank you for highlighting the limited number of English books in the library, I will make a point to ensure we obtain more.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,647 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,375 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £132 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing