We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, very nice rooms and pretty beach ! Definately recomend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, very nice rooms and pretty beach ! Definately recomend it”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful Hotel ! Amazing room, balcony and bathroom !
Very nice beach and excellent service !
We were at the hotel for 4 nights and had the best time. Service staff was very attentive and helpful. Very happy with Safari Camp for kids and baby seater service.
Hotel provides kayak and SUP free for the first hour, which was great !
Here are some tips : Great food at Hotel's Thai restaurant !
Room Service was very nice as well, specially for kids menu, which allowed our baby to have dinner in the room while we were taking showers and relaxing after beach/pool.
Kayaking on the left side towards Railey ! Just stunning !
Monkey Trail was nice and smooth ... we went to have dinner in Ao Nang and felt very lucky to have chosen Centara, since Ao Nang was not enjoyable at all.
Affordable long tail trips at the concierge. I had done a lot of research and Hotel booked us a private tail for Hong + 4 Islands at fair price. If you are going on a boat trip, go early since all sites get packed with tourists and it's hard to get the perfect picture.

Definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back !

Room Tip: We have a small baby and were not very happy to hear that we were at the 3rd floor, however, when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikaabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear erikaabs

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your family enjoyed their overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team, including the staff at Camp Safari kids club.

I appreciate your comments about the stairs, however you cannot have the best view without walking up stairs, the higher you are the better the view.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    996
    410
    189
    155
See reviews for
856
2,072
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 6 nights there and really enjoyed our stay - we had two rooms on the top floor facing the sea so had great views out to sea. Would thoroughly recommend it on the basis of the following:

1. Rooms - comfortable beds, really nicely done out, great balconies for staring out to sea
2. Pools - right by the beach.. one for kids and fun and one for adults to relax by
3. Beach - really really nice beach with sun loungers available - the sea was fantastic and as you are cut off from the main town, you do feel quite secluded which we liked ... hotel offers free kayaks and paddle boards which are fun .. we'd suggest not bothering about the trips to other beaches and islands as they are just crammed with day-trippers and the beaches are no better than the one at the resort
4. Food - really superb breakfast buffet and the restaurants also did good food in the evenings as well as snacks in the daytime.. even the pizza was good (they have a proper pizza oven and know how to use it)

I can see from other reviews that some people don't like being cut off from the main town and don't like the "wobbly" jetty, but they really are minor things unless you like being in the thick off it all... which we don't. I can also see that some people had niggles with the service, but all the staff we met with were fantastic ...

We will definitely return as it really feels like you are away from it all, but with all the stuff you need to have a good time.

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view room and a top floor room, go for those
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marky1965Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Marky1965Brum

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read your family enjoyed their overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Our beach is not crowded like many other beaches in the area, and the free use of the kayaks and our new longboards are very popular to explore the limestone formations around the bays edge.

The chef was also happy to read you enjoyed the wood fired pizzas as the staff get great enjoyment of making them fresh to order.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

just returned from a visit with my 4 children who loved it! Lucky to have a 2 bed beach villa, very large accommodation, very clean and only steps from the beach. Club room was great, particularly the canapes at 5.30. Breakfast good as was the Thai restaurant and pool bar. No issues at all with service and I am not known for my patience! Very prompt and efficient. Room service excellent and fast.
I didn't find the food at all expensive, very reasonable, particularly if you enter the Baht bonanza scheme.
Monkey trail was no problem, nor was the ferry and one day accessed the town by wading through the water around the headland.
All staff at all times extremely friendly and pleasant and the lady on the concierge desk organised trips to our exact requirements. Staff organised pool games as part of Thai new year celebrations.
There were a lot of children around the pool, but as I had 4 I can hardly complain, it was easter holidays!
pier was fun rather than a problem.

Room Tip: If you dont have children and want a double villa ask for one away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patchesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Patchesmum

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read your family enjoyed their overall stay and yes the beachfront villas are very spacious with easy access to the beach.

Chef was pleased to read you enjoyed his food in our outlets and yes the Club lounge and its benefits is becoming increasingly more popular.

Thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and efforts of all the staff and once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this amazing resort. We got married in Bangkok and then had our buddhist monk ring blessing here which was truly memorable. All the staff were amazing and so vey helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. We will certainly come back for an anniversary as this place will hold a very special place in our hearts. The spa in the resort was relaxing and thoroughly recommended. The monkey experience was truly wonderful, we just love this resort.
Jacqui & David

Room Tip: We had a room with jacuzzi on balcony, lovely to relax in as the sun sets over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear JacquiCindy

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your honeymoon and our spa room with the jacuzzi on the balcony.

We appreciate the generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary or when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in early April. Transfers were seamless and we waited no longer than 5 minutes for the boat. We were met off the Boat by Suun, a lovely helpful guy who assisted us with check in. We upgraded from a Spa Deluxe Ocean facing room to a "Pool Villa" because hey, you only live once!! and were not disappointed. Spectacular views to wake up to every morning, right at the top of the resort which is a LONG way up the cliff face but worth it for the views and Buggies collected us and took us back to the Villa so we did not have to walk. There was some confusion though over our upgrade and the "Club Benefits". I had assumed these were included in the upgrade price and was surprised to be told that Club benefits were an extra 900THB pp per day! After a few days these benefits were given to us for no extra charge but I think it should be made CLEAR at the time that the upgrade price is for the "room only" and does not include the club. I also think that this is a bit stingy and that when you are staying in a Villa it SHOULD be included. We also had a few issues with our pool whilst staying but let me say this:
It is only fair in my opinion that if you have ANY issues you should bring them to the attention of the management straight away which is what we did, it is only fair to give them the opportunity to rectify the situation rather than not saying anything and slagging them off on Trip Advisor or to your friends!! Our issues were dealt with without delay and the staff did everything they could to help and we could not fault their response. So a huge big up to them for such prompt attention.
The resort itself we thought was FANTASTIC, How people can complain about the "Drone" of Long Tail Boats passing is beyond me. I mean, come on, this is paradise, some people you just cant please eh! Access was also not a problem and we chose this resort BECAUSE of its remoteness so again, surely people are aware of this BEFORE they book???? Breakfast was Excellent, as was Thai restaurant Rim Sai, Room service was good and we also ate at On The Rocks, food great, service a little slow sometimes but hey, you are ON HOLIDAY! relax.........
Some of the food is expensive but you get what you pay for in my opinion and we did not have a bad meal in 10 days. We only went out once into town for dinner. On our last night we did "Dinner on the beach", set up beautifully and worth every penny so if you can afford it and its a special occasion "or not" DO IT, its something to tick off my bucket list now and I was not disappointed. The pools were great, we spent a lot of time at the " relaxing pool" which was quieter and we did not ever have an issue trying to find a sunbed although the hotel was very busy. The beach is divine, and the water the warmest I think I have ever swam in, as I write this review I'm wishing I was back there now!!!! We did not use the Monkey Trail as I had an ankle injury but the monkeys did visit us at the Villa which was lovely and again, one of the highlights for us and the reasons why we booked this resort. If you are looking for spectacular locations and wonderful wildlife, you cannot go wrong.
I have to mention a few "STAND OUT" staff for us during our stay:

"ZEF" the Food and Beverage Manager - AMAZING guy, always present and one of the nicest, most genuine and helpful managers we have ever come across. Zef took care of issues we had even though they were nothing to do with his department and sorted them immediately without any fuss and I think because he was so "present" you felt that you could easily approach him, in fact at first I thought he was the general manager! What a lovely, lovely guy.

"Cha" at Lotus Court for breakfast - again so helpful and kind, ALWAYS had a smile and willing to help.

"Sa" and "Dang" in The Club, were also amazing, lovely friendly faces, so welcoming, efficient and just helped to "make" the whole experience.

( The only thing I would say about The Club, is at times, there were a lot of children present and seemed to be left to their own devices, so a lot of shouting, play fighting, always at the buffet on their own. Although we don't have children, we are not anti children and respect that this is a place for "all" but I do think they should be seated with their parents ( as some were) rather than given a free reign, or perhaps you could look at having a "child Free" or "Quiet" hour for adults to enjoy their drinks without the constant noise and distraction) just a thought.

I know that this has been a VERY long review and I apologise but this was a special holiday for us and I have been reading reviews on this hotel for at least 12 months myself, on a couple of occasions I very nearly cancelled on the basis of some bad reviews but I'm so glad I didn't.

You cannot fail to be blown away by the location of this hotel, add to that the helpfulness of the staff and you have the perfect holiday and if you have a problem VOICE IT, we did and because of the swift action taken I can give it nothing but an EXCELLENT rating. :0)

Room Tip: Get the best room you can, as high as possible for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank themidlandsbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear themidlandsbailey

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read your family enjoyed their overall stay and thank you for specifically mentioning Zafer our food and beverage director, Khun Cha in Lotus Court and Khun Dang in the Club. These comments have been shared with them and they are greatly appreciated.

I also appreciate you re-enforcing that if you have an issue, please raise it with a member of the management team, as we are willing to address any of our short comings during guests stay so that you can get on and enjoy your vacation.

I acknowledge your comments about the children in the Club Lounge as we also were surprised at the number of families that upgraded to the Club benefits this year.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Bets regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is our third visit to this hotel and this time we bought my brother and his new wife[there first visit]and what a place this is my favourite place of all time.
The staff are wonderfull especially K,ACK,YA AND LEROY,the location is fantastic and good food,the best bits must be the Monkey trail the flooting pontoon and of course the Monkeys!!!!!!!!!!!.
Just read up before you go do not complain because it is not justified at all and buy the Batt bonanza this is really good value.
We will be back as soon as possible and thanks again to David and his staff for making our holiday so special every time.

Gillian,Mick,David and Jackie.

Room Tip: Any room but the top has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear mick b

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and Gillian back to the resort along with your brother in law and his wife. Sorry I never got a chance to say good bye before you left and I trust you had a great trip home.

Let me know when you get the chance to return again and thank you for your generous support and recognition.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

You arrive in a shuttle boat. The resort looks great. We chose this hotel because our friends stayed here on honeymoon five years ago and loved it. Since then it has because very child friendly and it us full of kids. If you are a couple you might want to see west your options are. That being said you still had good service. The only restaurant I could recommend us the pool bar. Leeroy provided outstanding service. The other waiters were unfriendly, slow and unwilling to engage. That being said they were able to alter food as requested.

We asked for no pork in a fish in the European restaurant and were told they do not take special requests and the same in the thai restaurant.

Our room was nice, we had a jacuzzi in the front terrace but we couldn't use it after sunset because of poor lighting. The cleaner left the door open when cleaning and so monkeys would get into our room and steal things. Yep, it's a jungle behind and there are lots of monkeys!

Pools was full of kids. The beach towel guy was unfriendly. Free kayak which was cool the sun loungers are so close to each other that we put our towels on the sand instead. Spa in the resort in very good. Food is expensive here. Takes ages for the bar men to make your drinks. A bit too remote considering it's packed with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foysoal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Foysoal123

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of Leroy and please accept my apologies that some of the other staff you interacted with were not as friendly as they should have been.

Yes April is Easter school holidays as well as Thai New Year so the resort is traditionally filled with families and children during this time.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we will continue to work on meeting the expectation of all our guests.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,473 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing