We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Skedsmokorset
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Escape close to town”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel just 1 night for our anniversery, but the stay was great,
We borrowed a kayak from the hotel and kayaked around the small island near the beach, a perfect couple activity.

The food served by the pool was good but expensive for a hotel in Ao Nang area.

The hotel room we got had a jacuzzi on the porch which was perfect for unwinding.

The room itself had a non-function A/C and low water pressure and clogged, but nicely decorated.

But overall the was more expensive than the product it delivered.

Room Tip: Watch out for monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DobarOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear DobarOslo,

Thank you very much for spending your special occasion with us and left a nice review here in TripAdvisor.

It such a pleasure to hear that generally, you enjoyed your stay with us, despite it just a night stay.

I also note your comment about defects in room which I am regret not to hear this during your stay so that we could rectify the issues. Please accept my sincere apologize for any inconvenient caused you in this matter.

Thank you very much once again and we all hope to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    980
    399
    186
    152
See reviews for
819
2,043
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a great time here! The location was fantastic in Krabi and the way the water would rise and fall each day. The Monkey Trial was awesome - probably not good for anyone who is scared of monkeys or anyone who does not have good balance. The boat ride to the hotel is somewhat inconvenient and we had to wait 1 hour to catch the next boat to get to our hotel. The "peer" is a crappy area that does not in anyway make you feel like you are on the way to a 4 star hotel. (I think for Thailand this is considered 5 star but at best it is really 3.5) The food here really was good and good in all restaurants in this resort. Mark the manager invited us to a "meet the management" event. He was very nice and welcoming. He explained the challenges with service and finding people who speak English and teaching the customer caring aspects. He has the right idea and is trying to really get this to a 5 star place, but it is not there yet. Service TBI - to be improved. We did wait in some of the restaurants over an hour to get dinner. But those are things that can be fixed and for me, if the food is really good then I don't mind waiting but they do take away from the rating of stars. We enjoyed the buffet twice, and I'm not a buffet person but they really did a nice job here and nothing was poor quality filler! The morning breakfast buffet was really fantastic! The chef is German and really has done a terrific job. In fact, if the food was not good, I would have given this 3 stars instead. When you are greeted, there is a process that they try to accomplish, but when we arrived that process was gone. There were quite a few others that were pretty upset about their rooms. It seems like there is an issue between what the guests thought they reserved and what they got. We did not have any of these issues. But hearing about this in the lobby indicates to me that process improvement is needed. Again, these things take away from the 5 star rating. Cleanliness - there were a few areas where a kid probably dropped some ice cream and that was not cleaned up for over 1 day. The glass doors going into the library area was always full of prints, and they always had someone cleaning it. The rest of the facility was always clean and they did a nice job in the room. I would recommend this place, but probably not for a honeymoon or any special event. For an exploratory trip, taking a few down days absolutely!

Room Tip: the rooms were very quiet, we didn't hear a thing! Restaurants were noisy! We had a bottom floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GinaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear GinaGK,

Thank you for sharing your comment about us after your recent stay last October.

I am pleased to hear that generally, you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated that you also shared your comment with Mark my Front Office Manager onsite.

Your nice comment about our foods has been brought to our Chef and he and his team were so pleased to hear this of course.

According to your comment about jetty, we have replaced new pontoons which are more stable and less slippery this year.

We always allocated rooms according to guest preferences based on availability upon arrival. But we all pleased to know that you were enjoyed the room.

Once again thank you very much for your staying and for your times sharing review about us.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We loved this hotel resort. This was a perfect, relaxing escape to start our holiday in Thailand. The hotel resort is in its own bay and accessed by speedboat from Ao Nang so the beach is quiet with excellent swimming, though there is also a good beachside swimming pool. When we were there there were few children though the resort is family-friendly. The beach bar also serves food which is ideal at sunset.There are three other excellent restaurants specialising in Thai, Japanese and international cuisine. The accommodation villas were of a high standard, spacious, private and quiet. Troupes of monkeys from the National Park wander through the complex but cause no problem. The PADI diving centre on-site arranges courses and trips to Phi Phi islands 2 hrs away by boat and also use the pool for tuition and 'taster' session. Kayaks can also be free to use to explore the coast. If you don't want to wait for the speedboat you can take the 'Monkey Trail' (NOT for the less mobile or infirm!) to Ao Nang and pass along an avenue of several parlours offerring Thai massage to some local Thai restaurants. Everything was so relaxing. There were plenty of staff available, most speaking english and all keen to help. We would love to return - one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dichorionic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear dichorionic,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment after your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, our resort is both family and couple friendly. Our facilities are there to accommodate our guest and we continually improve our services to ensure all guests are treated up to their expectation.

Once again thank you for your generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent our honeymoon here and needless to say it is without a doubt the best holiday yet. The hotel is set in the most beautiful surroundings and the wild life, jungle, jetty and free speed boat taxi service only enhance the whole place, the monkeys are cheeky and very entertaining, we stayed in a premier delux with jacuzzi and our views were stunning so much so that we left all the blinds open so as soon as we woke it would be the first thing we see. Last but defiantly not least the staff here are amazing!! They are so warm and friendly and are always happy to serve you with REAL smiles....kookkai who runs things down at the bar/restaurant just knows how to look after you, Christine too, also Turbo and Leroy the barmen were fabulous and funny. This is a great hotel for couples and family's, all the staff interact with kids and have fun. Defiantly coming back next year which will be a first for us as we like to try out new places.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jasmine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Jasmine J,

Thank you very much for leaving nice review about us after your recent stay.

It is nice to hear you mentioned that this is the best holiday for you. I also appreciated your mentioning Kookkai, Christine, Turbo and Leroy. All of them of course, were so pleased to know that they were mentioned.

We all look forward to your coming back next year. Please do not hesitate to drop me an email via rmckbr@chr.co.th prior to your arrival and I will personally take care of your booking.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

First off, let me address two of the common complaints regarding this hotel:

- The jetty, unlike what some reviewers mentioned, is absolutely fine (it's even quite fun actually!). If some guest experience difficulties going to and from the boats, staff members are always there to help them.
- The monkeys are really cute and they are harmless if you do not feed them. They just walk around in the early morning and late afternoon, and won't harm you in any way if you ignore them.

In addition, the resort is absolutely gorgeous and, if you are lucky to get a room on a high floor, you will be rewarded with amazing views of the bay.

I did experience a few issues though, mostly related to my Centara 1 Card Gold status (The check-in staff had no idea what that card was, which is unfortunate considering it's Centara's own reward program). All of these issues were taken care off by Mark at the front desk though, who was truly helpful.

If I had to mention one negative point, it would be the buggy/golf cart system though. I have stayed at other cliffside resorts (the Diamond Cliff resort in Phuket, for example), which all operated a 24/7 buggy service for their guests. At Centara, however, buggies are usually left unattended and it's unclear how to get one, which means you're bound for a steep walk up to your room.

Apart from that minor point though, great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank obnoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear obnoxious,

Thank you very much for taking your time leaving comment after your recent stay with us.

It is nice to hear that overall, you were enjoyed your stay and left us with memorable experience. We also pleased to know that you were fine with the jetty and monkeys, yes the most mentioning on TripAdvisor about us.

I appreciate your comment about buggy service and please accept my sincere apologize for an inconvenient. Mark, my Front Office Manager has briefed his team about Centara One Card to ensure better understanding.

Once again, thank you very much for the review and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is tucked away on a private bay on Ao Nang. I was in the sea view room with jacuzzi on the balcony and could not have asked for a better room. The view was spectacular. Dont leave your doors open and the monkeys will not bother you, they might give you company on the balcony and share a drink.The spa, gym, pools are good. Spent my evenings at the bar on the beach front watching beautiful sunsets. Catch the fire show on Fridays at the Japanese restaurant. Hop on during low tide to Ao Nang beach. The monkey trail was a nice trek to the next beach but was shut down mid way during our stay - i hope its opened up now.

The sea is was a bit rough due to the time of the year and im sure is much better during peak season - but the kayaking and paddling on the surf boards around the hotel was great. You can hire long tail directly from the hotel and go island hopping, snorkeling, fishing. The other beaten tracks are the trips to phi phi, hong island etc

This is my third vacation in Thailand - after Phuket and Koh Samui - i must say this was the best trip due to the hotel and the people who run it - they made this trip memorable for a life time.

Room Tip: The Sea View rooms with Jacuzzi on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasulchauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear vasulchauhan,

Thank you for sharing your comment following recent stay with us.

It such a pleasure to be mentioned the best trip out of your three Thailand visits. Unfortunately, the weather was not great during your stay, otherwise you would enjoy our sea activities this time.

Once again, thank you very much for nice review and staying with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back here soon!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

One of the most romantic and beautiful hotel ever! I have been there once, but I'm pretty sure, if I have some time. I'll return to there again....

I like their service for every single my inquiry, they will do immediately!

Also, there is so amazing nice view ever!! ^^

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Thidarat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Thidarat C,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave this nice comment about us.

To be mentioned as "most romantic and beautiful hotel ever" is making us proud and the team were so thrilled to acknowledge this.

Once again, thank you for staying and sharing your comment. We all look forward to welcoming you back here once again!

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,418 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing