We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Official Site
US$151
View deal
Expedia.com
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
eDreams
US$83
View deal
Booking.comUS$144
PricelineUS$151
Hotels.comUS$159
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,614)
Filter reviews
5,614 results
Traveller rating
3,061
1,428
583
279
263
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,061
1,428
583
279
263
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey trail lotus court shuttle boat ocean facing spa deluxe room private beach boat service low tide our honeymoon every hour long tail boat phi phi ao nang beach thai food monkeys centara pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,071 - 2,076 of 5,614 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My family recently returned to the Centara Grand Beach Resort. Our last trip visit was in 2010 before the children and we had such a wonderful experience that we said we would come back with our kids. Well, I am pleased to say that the destination remains special and has so many wonderful activities to keep the kids entertained. The staff remain terrific and offer great customer service. Food and amenities are also excellent. I would have no hesitation in giving a 5 star rating, except for our experience with the buggies. It was not uncommon for us to wait 40 minutes to get a buggy to come to our villa, which was not the case last time. That said, in the context of things, it is a minor complaint and given we had a wonderful family vacation which catered for the kids and adults needs, I am sure we will be returning back in the not to distant future

Room tip: Ocean View Villa with Pool
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JCHK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear JC C,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent return visit to our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your family enjoyed their stay and that you enjoyed the activities and facilities available for all the family.

I appreciate your comments about the buggies, but unfortunately the business has grown considerably since your last visit and the bellman are also now considerably busier collecting and delivery luggage, which is their main role. We are however looking at ways how we can improve this.

Once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I will get to the title later but we stayed here as the third leg of our Thailand trip earlier this year. A secluded resort reached by boat from Ao Nang, approximately a 10/15 min trip. The resort was accessible via land but not easy so the resort is mostly undisturbed escially so after sunset. Our room was great and in the upper area of the resort with superb views. It was a steep slap uphill so could be a struggle for those with walking difficulties though we did see people moved about on a golf buggy so guess this remains an option. We ate in three of the restaurants and all were reasonable both in quality and price. Two pools to choose from one of which excludes children so a quiet swim is possible. Not forgetting the beach as well which was largely empty when we were there.
No criticisms of the resort though we did pre book a Four Island Trip for when we were there and frankly this was a chore. It seemed every tourist in Ao Nang was on the same trip spread over a number of boats. It was basically a race to be first to each stopping point to get the best mooring spot with what seemed an Armada following behind. Every beach was packed and I cannot say it was an enjoyable experience.
Now to explain the title. We had read a number or reviews which mentioned the troop of monkeys that live in the area and we're looking forward to seeing them. Alas no sign of them initially and then on our final morning we were woken by noises on our balcony and there they were. The whole troop had descended on the resort to join us for breakfast or so it seemed. They provided a good hours amusement whilst we got ready and whilst at our own breakfast. I guess they can be a nuisance but a novel experience for us and one we shall remember.

A good quality resort that lived up to expectations and one I unhesitatingly recommend.

Room tip: If you have difficulties walking you may want to avoid the higher part of the resort.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serrif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Serrif1,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay overall, including the room but as you mentioned, the higher the room the nicer views, but this also means more steps to climb.

I appreciate your comments about your excursion to the islands but this is a result of the mass tourism that wants to see as much as they can see in the shortest amount of time and my only suggestion is to book your own private boat, that way you can avoid the daily armada of vessels.

The monkeys are not always around and we do our best to limit their invasions in the resort, but I am pleased there visit added to your overall experience.

Once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Dining at lotus court was the best dining experience I've ever had, the food was fantastic, but service was second to none. Thank you Gift, Seed, Tuta and Biw for such an amazing experience. Highly recommend this place to anyone. Best food, best service in an amazing picturesque setting. They even have a pianist playing great music while you eat your meal.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hayden V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016


Dear Hayden V,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent dining experience at Lotus Court.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the food and the service as well as the music from our live pianist.

Thank you also for acknowledging the efforts of the staff but also for making special mention of Khun Gift, Seed, Tuta, and Biw. These comments have been shown to them and are greatly appreciated.

Once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our stay in Thailand. It was supposed to be a luxurious end to the stay and I must say that the resort delivered. All facilities were top notch. The two things that were disappointing were the sport facility. They had only two treadmills, and due to the rather high temperature outside the mills were occupied by obese people walking on them... but I guess that is not the fault of the hotel. The other thing was a dive instructor from Kon-Tiki divers that not was very serviceminded. So perhaps he should find something else to do? But then again, perhaps not the fault of the hotel. Would especially recommend the breakfast. Outstanding!

Room tip: seaview is a winner!
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank j0hnmartinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear John Martin N

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay overall, including all the facilities and the great breakfast buffet we offer.

Thank you for your feedback where we can still improve and we will continue to work on this so we can meet the expectations of all our guests.

Once again thank you for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is literally paradise. The rooms, the views and the setting make it an incredible experience and you really don't want to leave! The only issue is if you want to leave! The hotel is accessed by a floating pier (which is very wobbly due to waves and was shut 3 out of 6 nights we were there) or the monkey trail which is a steep path along the coastline. Neither is suitable for those with any mobility or disability issues, unfit people or young children. If you have a push chair forget it! I saw fathers carrying their young children and the thought of it scared the life out of me.

We asked the hotel to call us a taxi from the mainland to get to the airport and we were told there were no taxi numbers the only option is the hotel transfer taxi (which is double the price). I've never stayed at a hotel where they can't call you a taxi!

The really unprofessional event though was one evening we went to the mainland and we had booked the boat to come back to the hotel. The hotel warned us that the waves were quite bad so the boat could be cancelled, but if so there would be a member of staff to greet us at the pier and put us in a taxi to the base of the monkey trail where we could then walk back to the hotel. Anyway we got to the pier and there was NO ONE at all around, no staff, no taxis, no tuk tuks. I rang the hotel and they hung up. We were stranded! Luckily the Thai police were driving past due to the recent bombings in nearby Phuket so we got a lift with them.

Also our laundry (4 times the price than on the mainland) came back all stained so they did sent it back and it came back stained again. They tried to charge us even after they apologised and said they wouldn't charge us.

Reception always seemed busy with people complaining! Some people had no hot water, a lady had been charged for two extra nights and it took each of them a good 20 min to sort out.

So in short a beautiful place to stay with great cocktail and food. But anything to do with leaving the resort can create problems!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 2015PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Pandi W,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay overall, including the rooms and the amazing views.

I appreciate your comments about the access, however when you travel during the monsoon season you will be subject to the sea and weather conditions and this particular year we are having quiet a severe monsoon season.

In regards to your comment about taxis, the staff informed you correctly. We cannot book taxis in advance from the hotel but we do arrange it for you when you arrive at the pier. The reason it is done this way is so the system is fare for all drivers and staff do not give preferential treatment to their friends which avoids further issues with the authorities at the pier. I am sorry the staff did not make this clear to you.

Please accept my apologies that the boat attendant was not at the pier in the evening as he should have been, as I mentioned in my email to you directly, I have followed this up to ensure this is not repeated.

Once again thank you for feedback where we can still improve and we will continue to work on this so we can meet the expectations of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews