We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location - excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Hove - UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - excellent hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We spent a week at the Centara in Feb - I think some reviewers must have been staying at a different hotel! The hotel is in fantastic location - great beach and fabulous sunsets. Stayed in room 1213 which had a great view . Room was excellent, very clean. Massive comfortable bed

Arrival at the hotel by boat is great - the floating pontoon is fine and you'll soon get used to it.

Access to Ao Nang is fine - only used the shuttle boat once. Found it much easier to use the Monkey trail - it only takes about 10-15 minutes to get you to the first bars on Ao Nang beach. It is bit rickety and steep, but as long you as you are reasonably healthy it's no problem. We were not troubled by monkeys at all - we only saw them at the beach end and they were too interested in the tourists who were feeding them.

We had attentive, friendly but unobtrusive service throughout our stay. Contrary to other reviews, we had no problem getting sunbeds - there are plenty, especially along the edge of the beach. Plenty in the shade too - which we needed in Feb. The giant beanbags on the beach are great too.

Breakfast was really good - large selection and choices varied daily. Also had lunch in the rocks bar a couple of times - food was fine and service was good. Otherwise we took the monkey walk into town to eat.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoveharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    980
    399
    186
    152
See reviews for
819
2,043
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Just back to the cold of the UK after a fantastic stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Krabi.
A dream holiday from start to finish. The welcome as we stepped off the boat was unique and made us feel very special. The UPGRADE was even better!!! A top class resort where every detail has been carefully thought of.
The only thing we didnt like was the Monkey Trail and although we didnt have to use it, it could have been improved and made more appealing!
But this didnt detract from a superb stay at Krabi.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
english in england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed at the Centara Krabi for 14 nights - did we wish we hadn't.!!!!!
First impression of the room - deluxe sea view with jacuzzi/spa was very nice, but after having a good night sleep we realised the paintwork was flaking off the walls, jacuzzi was dirty (therefore never used it), shower area had mould growing on the walls, toilet either vomit or feceaus on the wall. My husband wrote his name in the dust under the bed on the first day - on the last day it was still there !!!
Please also note that if you paid for the best rooms in this resort you should go on an army assalt course because of the 1 in 5 incline you needed to walk to get to your room, even the electric buggies that were sometimes available could not get up there because of the steepness and also the buggies were not always charged up with electric.
Sunbeds could be guaranteed for you by the pool attendance if you wished to cross their palms with silver. Did tell the management of this and was told "what can we do"??
The Thai and the Japanese restuarant were ok but we were the only ones in there on both occassions - therefore no atmosphere
The Lotus restuarant food was ok, dress sense had a 3* mentality - shorts, vest, flipflops (sometimes men had no tops on at all and this was in the evening.)
The Beach restuarant was ok but the service was poor, could be waiting nearly an hour for your food if they hadnt forgotton your order or another table had eaten it.

We have stayed at many 5* resorts around the world but this is portraited as a 5* resort with 3 * mentality.!!

Would feature well in Benidorm.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilpadrino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Me, my fiance and our two friends have stayed at Centara for 4 nights after staying in Bangkok and before heading to Phi Phi Islands and then to Phuket. I must say it was a terrific experience! The location of the hotel could not be better, it is definately the most scenic and beautiful setting in Krabi! The hotel is surrounded by rocks from all sides and therefore is very private and accessible to hotel guests only. This however doesn't mean you can't go out! We have always walked to Ao Nang over the cliff and I must say it is NOT an option for those with limited mobility or older people who do not feel fit enough. But if you are a normally fit person you will easily make your way to the town via the cliff. Also, I think it was around 5 -6 pm, when the water tide gets low and you can easily walk through the water. There is a boat shuttle to Ao Nang too, but we have never used it as we quite enjoyed the "Monkey trail" walk..

We stayed in the full seaview rooms with jacuzzi baths on the balconies. It was an absolute paradise, you can't get any better than sitting in jacuzzi with cocktail and watching the sea! Unforgettable experience! It is worth every penny to upgrade to jacuzzi rooms! In terms of room quality, everything was perfect, very clean, comfy bed and nice decor. We absolutely loved them.

The beach is really nice, private and never crowded. Unfortunately when we were there the water visibility was very poor, and we couldn't snorkel there as it was impossible to see...I was also stung by a jellyfish as I walked into the water as I could not even see my feet! I don't know if it was just then or if the water there is always like that, but I thought it is good to mention that as if you would like to do some snorkelling right off the beach it might not be possible there... Anyway, it never put me off as as we then headed to Phi Phi Islands for an excellent week of beautiful scuba diving with a very good visibility.

Hotel offers free canoes and it is worth having a short trip to the left as the cliffs over there are spectacular and you can even spot some monkeys climbing on the rocks. Also the water there is much clearer and you can snorkel along the cliffs. If you would like to see monkeys, there is a good chance to see them on the "Monkey trail" or on the other side of the cliff, just as you enter Ao Nang.

Swimming pools and restaurants at Centara are very good as well. We especially liked the Japanese restaurant where we had an amazing sushi! In terms of prices, yes I do agree they are a lot higher than in Ao Nang, but thats the way it is at 5 star hotels! The author of previous review slated the hotel for high prices... but excuse me..what do you expect? 5 star hotel and McDonald's prices? Then maybe you should stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJLSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This hotel looked amazing , and i was told it was a nice place.
I was only there for two nights. On first arrival , at night it seemed lovely. Very much for couples. Although i was alone , on my way to an island.
The room was very nice . But my first thoughts at dinner were how expensive it was. Not what you would expect from thailand. £4 for a perrier. £5 for a beer.
At breakfast i had joined the club lounge. at it was cheaper at 900 baht than 750 for breakfast alone. ! thats about £15
The first thing i noticed from my balcony was people rushing to the loungers at the beach .
I hadn't expected this at a 5 star hotel ! the staff were encouraging people to put towels and pocessions on the loungers before breakfast. you also had to decide if you wanted to leave at all during the day so you could nook your place on the boat first ! otherwise you would have to pay 800 baht for a private boat.
People were rushing for breakfast and seeing who could get the most on their plate .. i guess it was included in their rate ... All very stressful behaviour having to get up before the jones's to get your day planned. !!
Not exactly 5 star behaviour.... my club lounge was supposed to include lunchtime snacks and cocktails at sunset. ! really not worth it as you cant see anything from the lounge.
I asked for a parasol on my terrace but was sent an umbrella.. hand held !
They also tried to charge me for another day club lounge on the day i left. even though it was early in the morning.
Anyone thats stayed 5 star will realise this may have 5 stars but is run more like a cheap hotel in spain.
Food and drink were 5 star prices. breakfast on koh lanta cost me 160 baht . not 750

beer is 70 baht not 300 ...
when staying 5 star you shouldnt have to fight for a parasol . .

dont waste your money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcintoshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Compton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

Like many other people I tend to read previous reviews and before we left for Centara Beach could have been put off by some of the comments that people had made about this hotel. We stayed for 10 nights in room 1216 this had a great view of the limestone cliff and the sea.
Had breakfast and lunch at the hotel each day, great buffet breakfast and lunch each day at On The Rocks. Most evenings we chose to go into Ao Nang via the Monkey Trail which was well lit if a bit more arduous after a few cocktails but all good fun. Ate at some great Restaraunts one of which was OSAKAS a Tepanyaki Restaraunt run by a great Chef not only fabulous food but great entertainment.
All in all a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miggins90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I recommend you this hotel from all my heart.Place is beautiful and food delicious:)
One more issue-You can't get there by car or on foot.The one and only way -motor-boat:)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,417 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing