We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good and some not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Check in was very slow and we were allocated wrong room type. We had booked deluxe ocean facing and they tried to give us garden view and blamed it on the holiday company. After refusing they finally gave us an upgrade to a premium room but on ground floor which wasnt ideal but after more the 12 hours of travelling we accepted it.
The room was very large, airy and spacious with 2 big beds and a very deep bath tub and rainforest shower. It really was a lovely room and very clean.
There were minor irritations with the room maintenance such as the sink plug not working and the fan pulleys being broken .
We ate at several hotel restaurants. Rim Saii which was Thai was below par, two meals had to go back as the quality of the meat was very poor.
On the Rocks which was their beachside restaurant was up and down also. Some meals good but on one particular day when i ordered a tuna sandwich the tuna was uncooked, and i mean completely uncooked!. When i complained to management he said he would cook it for me then it came out again completely uncooked. We didnt pay of course and by this time we were completely fed up so complained to the hotel manager who arranged to have a meal cooked specially for us at the Lotus Court restaurant which we had ate at before and enjoyed.
Everything in the hotel was very very expensive and the people complaining of extortianate prices are completely right. We expected 5 star prices but this went beyond that. For example in the Lotus Court we paid approx £70 for 3 courses for 2 without drinks. Beers were around £2.50 for small can. The hotel laid on special barbecue nights but the prices were around £35 per person.
The swimming pools were very nice but too many kids, also the kids were in the jacuzzi pool as well despite there being signs saying no children under 12 allowed.
The hotel bar Deep Blu was great with a happy hour of 2 for 1 till 10pm.

We caught the shuttle boat into Ao Nang a couple of times but the hotel boat dropped you off at a nearby beach and then you needed a taxi ride into Ao Nang at 40 baht each. Also what i thought was extremely bad was one night the boat back to hotel said the engine had failed and then refused to talk further to us. There were 6 hotel guests just left on the beach while the boat driver from the hotel ignored us. We had to get a local longboat driver to take us back at extra expense. There was no follow up or apology from the hotel.
All in all it is a lovely resort but location not so good and although on surface it seems they care about customer service the reality is sadly lacking.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,717 - 2,723 of 3,947 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2010

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights and I can honestly say(and I am very fussy) this is the best hotel I have stayed at anywhere in the world. I cannot fault a single thing. The staff are the most beautiful genuine - nothing was too much trouble. From the wait staff in the restaurants, spa staff right through to house keeping -ALL extremely friendly and professional. The views from our room were breathtaking. I will never forget the beautiful smiles, laughter and waving as we were leaving in the pouring rain off the floating jetty wishing us farewell. I cannot wait to come back and I feel that this will be a special much visited holiday spot for many years to come. The location and views are spectacular, but the outstanding staff are what makes this hotel first class.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The hotel was fantastic and the staff was amazing.
The staff and managment were so friendly and forthcoming and kind.
The sea was not so clear, but that´s because the rainy season had not finished.
We had a Club room, with jacuzzi on the balcony(so we could enjoy the sunset from our balcony), and it that package we also had free lunch(a light lunch), coffee and tea, free evening beverges.
There is no road leading to the hotel(because it´s a part of a national park) so you have to take the hotel shuttle boat(or walk the "monkey trail" for 15 min). But you can also get a longtail boat.
We had 3-4 spa treatments, that was amazing, we had a 3,5 hour couple massage and a 3 hour couple massage,it was heaven.
The restaurants had very good food and drinks.
We had a great time at that hotel, and we can recomend it from the bottom of our heart.

So thank you so much to all the staff and managment at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas.
Best regards Olav Lothe Tungland, Norway

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
2  Thank OlavTungland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed at the Centara beach resort at the beginning of November 2010 for 2 amazing weeks and we loved every minute of it! The room was very spacious with a huge bathroom; comfy bed; luxurious décor and breath taking views! The hotel itself is surrounded by wild vegetation and limestone formation, where monkeys roam freely and can be seen often around the hotel.

We would definitely recommend to take part in the baht bonanza deal as this gives extra money to spend on food, drinks and massages, check it out!! Also we would highly recommend to up grade to be members of the Club Lounge. We spent a lot of time there for afternoon tea with some delicious pastries and canapés, which was great to kill any mid afternoon hanger. The best was meeting some amazing people ( you know who you are ), hotel guests as well as the Club Lounge staff, while sharing a bottle of wine or a glass of Baileys.

Centara Hotel has four restaurants, which we ate in all of them. The breakfast had a large variety of choice there were catered to anybody’s taste. The highlight of our evening dinning was the Japanese restaurant, the food was simply just delicious. Please do try the Pork Belly, it will blow your taste buds! Also the special Thai buffet and seafood barbecues nights, are a must!

We had a very relaxing massage at the hotel SPA, which freed our body from any stress. We’ll advise you to book in advance as it gets very busy.

When it came to adventure out of the hotel we had three choices. By boat which was a free shuttle service offered by the hotel. Walking on the beach when the tide is out or the challenging monkey trail which was lots of fun but could be of a mission to somebody with walking difficulties. It’s a great spot to watch the monkeys in their natural habitat.

Centara’s staff went out of their way to make our holidays unforgettable, the service and the resort surroundings definitely deserve their five star rating. On the whole we had an overwhelming experience and we will back as soon as we can.

Chilli & Jay.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilliJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

The arrival at Centara is amazing. Air conditioned shuttle to the pier and then a boat to the hotel which felt very James Bond. The first view if Centara from the boat is spectacular.

The hotel is beautiful with each room almost like a tree house. The setting is very jungle like and this means that you need to make some allowances. Our room had a leek in the bathroom but with monsoon rain, can you expect anything else? The room was clean and well maintained which is more important. We booked a Spa delux room, the view alone made the upgrade worth it...the hot tub was great too. We enjoyed a thunderstorm from the hot tub which was quite an experience.

People have commented about the floating walkway, but after the unstable first time we quite enjoyed the experience. The hotel in on National trust land so they can't build a fixed walkway...it just adds to the uniqueness of the hotel.

We did the monkey trail once and didn't see any monkeys. We managed to negotiate the steps fine but I wouldn't recommend it if your not steady on your feet.

We took the longtail boats to AoNang but found that the free shuttle to the pier was better. The Tuktuk's into town is an experience not to be missed.

We ate at all of the restaurants at the hotel and they were all good quality. They were expensive compared to eating in AoNang (about the same price as UK, we ate in Ao Nang for £30 for three courses plus drinks!). The breakfasts were good, anything that you could possibly want for breakfast, the live piano playing was a lovely touch.

We enjoyed the light festival whilst at Centara. The hotel had an evening of entertainment and buffet planned but the rain tried to ruin events. Luke the manager came round to apologise to everyone and advise of the revised plans. He made sure that everyone was still enjoying the evening...great service. The same level of service was provided by all the staff at Centara.

The spa at Centara is also worth a visit. My husband and I enjoyed a couples spa (Nirvana Nirvana)...a great experience.
All in all, a great hotel we would definitely return...A unique location and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmunro100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Having stayed at the Centara, Koh Samui previously, we were very disappointed with this resort. It's rated as 5 star but I would hesitate to go beyond 4 star as the whole place was a little tired looking and could have done with being freshened up. There wasn't a communal lounge where you could meet and socialise with the other guests, apart from the Blu Bar (which we nicknamed the Moon Bar, due to it's lack of atmosphere) which never appeared to be particularily busy during our stay. We ate in the hotel 2 nights of our 13 night stay and were extremely disappointed with the food in both the Thai and European restaurants. The prices were 5 star but unfortunately the food wasn't. We chose to go into Ao Nang for the remainder of our holiday and had brilliant food there for a fraction of the price. I appreciate this resort is advertised for it's seclusion and privacy and, in hindsight, maybe wasn't the right choice for us. If you want to eat, sleep and sunbathe without leaving the resort then this may be the place for you. However, if you want to explore the area then it can be an inconvenient, although beautiful, location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK03LOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Centara Grand, Krabi, for 2 glorious weeks. Very sorry to have to come home this am.
Travelled with Thai airlines. No hiccups. Food and service fantastic. Inflight entertainment good. Didn't have to give 700 baht each at the airport on departure as we were advised. We had a private taxi transfer costing 600 Baht to Napparat Thara beach for the speedboat transfer to the resort.
Arrived at Centara via speedboat, what a lovely start to the holiday. Walking the pontoon wasn't easy with the waves but once you got the rhythm it was OK. The waves are rare apparently. The staff are there to help if you find it tricky. The suitcases are taken straight to your room while you are checking in.
The only way to reach the hotel is either via speedboat (free), or walking the 'Monkey trail' to Ao Nang. We did this a few times and it really does only take 15 minutes but is quite steep and with the humidity it can be sweaty going! The resort don't recommend it, and as the sppedboat is so easily available then it's good for it's novelty value. To arrange to go to Ao Nang you need to book with the reception staff. we managed to book the times we wanted the same day. The first speedboat o Ao Nang is 8am, and the last speedboat back is at 11.30pm.
Check in at Centara couldn't be easier - a few questions and a credit card needed (not used though). Our room wasn't ready so taken to Club lounge for 30 minutes for coffee and refreshments.
Our room was at the top of the resort on second floor. What a hike, but what a view, overlooking the sea. The resort provides chauffeur driven carts (like golf carts) to take you to your rooms (free). They will also collect you if you phone reception - which we did once when there was a tropical storm. It would have been nice to have used this to take us to our rooms after a very long flight.
Room clean and fresh fruit and water provided free. Mini bar in room expensive. Toiletires provided free, along with dressing gowns and slippers. The walk in shower was large enough for 6 people!
The buffet breakfasts cater for every taste from cooked food (omelettes & eggs to order), cooked Thai food, cereals and plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, smoothies and breads. You can have tea or various coffees as well as fresh juice.
The pool is lovely and overlooks the sea. The surrounding pool areas are cleaned every morning. There is waiter service at the poolside, just press the attachment on the parasol stem! We never had a problem getting a poolside lounger at 11am.
The rooms were cleaned every day, and your bed turned down every evening with fresh orchids left on the sheets!
The restaurants serve delicious food and elegently presented. We ate at 'On the Rocks' during the day, the Lotus restaurant once which was nice and the Japanese restaurant twice which was our favourite. The food was delicious and the teppanyaki great fun to watch being cooked in front of us. The food cost more than in Ao Nang but then the chefs are much better. There was a mix up with a reservation once in the Japanese restaurant and Luke, the resident manager, arranged for a complimentary glass of champagne for myself and partner at the Lotus restaurant we went to instead. We found out later that he followed us to make sure we were looked after!
Luke is 'hands on' and greets all new arrivals as they arrive off the speedboat, along with some of his staff. Tha staff are so courteous and polite and always offer a greeting and a smile. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Luke is very approachable and friendly, and manages the resort extremely well. The Centara chain are lucky to have him.
We ate in Ao Nang many times and the food was cheap and good. We had fish dishes and Thai dishes that were very tasty. We never had an upset tummy the whole 2 weeks. In Ao Nang the price of beer is slightly cheaper than in England, but more expensive in the Hotel. Wine is more expensive in the hotel and slightly cheaper in Ao Nang although I never had any, preferring the cocktails.
Ao Nang is the nearest town to Cantara which we visited very night during our stay. You barter for your purchases which is expected. you can also have clothing made for you in the many shops that offer tailor made suits and dresses etc. This is much cheaper than at home.
We visited when it was the 'Festival of Lights' celebrations which was amazing. This only happens during the twelfth lunar month, when there is a full moon, so we were lucky. Unfortunately it was interrupted by the most amazing tropical storm. We had a storm nearly every day which is very unusual for November.
I would highly recommend this resort. The hotel, Luke and his staff are truly wonderful. The views from our room was amazing and just like the website pages. We had a premium sea view room. And yes the monkeys do visit! Don't leave any food out!
We can't wait to go back, this was a truly relaxing nd comfortable holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lives4hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort Aonang- Thailand
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,554 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,404 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £119 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing