We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, expensive but you get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, expensive but you get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My partner and i have just returned from this resort after staying 12 nights and this is an honest and frank assessment of our experience.

We travel the world with our jobs and have stayed in some fabulous hotels, and our usual destination for our January holiday is The Maldives as we love the diving. But after 6 years of The Maldives, we decided to have a change this year. The location and setting of the hotel is simply fantastc! set against a dramatic backdrop of mountain and rainforest and the hotel has the only private beach in the Ao Nang region, which gives the impression of seclusion and exclusivity.

We stayed B&B and had a deluxe Jacuzzi room, which had the most fantastic view I have ever had, even after the Maldives - every room has a sunset view and sitting in the Jacuzzi watching the sun go down with a glass of something was amazing.

There are quite a few reviews mentioning how expensive this hotel is, that depends on what you are comparing it against. Sure, you can go to Ao Nang and get a great meal for a fraction of the cost but the service and cleanliness of some of those restaurants were questionable. If you are comparing it to a to any other 4/5* hotel, then its very reasonable. Although the restaurants we went to in Ao Nang were great, Tandori nights Indian/Thai was fantastic!! (best tandori chicken I have ever had). Also The last Fisherman beach bar is the best place for a sundowner with a great atmosphere and the best barbecue menu ever!. But I digress.

Out of the 12 nights we stayed at the hotel we ate there 9 nights and I would say the food was exceptional, as was the service and decor of the main restaurants. I had no complaints whatsoever about the food and gladly paid £60 per head with wine most nights. The staff are lovely and can't do enough to help you. We paid £200 for a private 6 course meal on our balcony with wine & champagne for our anniversary. We had our own private chef and waitress for the entire evening and the way they decorated our balcony made it even more special. But as I said earlier I think if you go to this hotel and want cheap, its not the place to go, but there is an outlet in the fact Ao Nang is just the other side of the bay, however, getting there is another story.

There are basically 4 methods of getting to Ao Nang;
1/ Use the free shuttle boat and get tuk tuk to resort
2/ Pay for a longtail boat directly to Ao Nang beach
3/ Walk around the headland at low tide
4/ Take the Monkey Trail (not for the unfit or people with asthma as it's quite steep and unstable in places)

We chatted to a few people around the pool, as you do - and I think the overall concensus was that the hotel is not 5* and it is expensive, but with Ao Nang around the corner there is an outlet for those travelling on a budget. But in our experience we enjoyed it and would definitely consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunny1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,799
    980
    398
    186
    151
See reviews for
817
2,042
54
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My fiance and i stayed at this hotel over Christmas last year and had a great time! The location is stunning although unless you want to walk through the rickety "monkey trail" it is only accessible by boat and be aware the hourly free boat doesn't drop you in the centre of Ao Nang so not the most convenient but for the privacy and the setting it is worth it!
We booked a deluxe spa room with club and loved the hot tub on the balcony, it gave us something to do when it was raining!!!
The service on the whole was great although when phoning down to reception for an iron or ice bucket etc it took at least 2 calls and half an hour but that aside the staff were amazing, very attentive and friendly. The food and drinks were reasonably priced and the cocktails to die for!
The only other thing i would say is as a couple at Christmas it was quite rowdy with kids but it was Christmas and what can you expect, it didn't bother us but saw a few irritated faces when kids were dive bombing in the pool!
A few other small niggles but we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TelAviv
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

When we were there it was high season and the hotel was 99% booked. Take that into consideration as you read my review:

We arrived late in the evening and were happy to see that hotel staff were waiting for us at the pier to transfer to the hotel. The transfer boat ride is about 10 min and when we arrived at the hotel it was one of the most exotic scenery we have ever experienced. The hotel is set on a private beach that has incredible views.

rooms: need of a serious serious remodeling. the room even had an old tv (yes we hadnt seen one of those in years!!!! and it had bad connection). We booked the sea view room- but were very unhappy with the room we were given. it had only a partial sea view (b/c a building was infront) - as well we had no view of the most beautiful part- the amazing island - see pics. i called right away and told the receptionist that i am willing to upgrade to any room- for any price- but nothing was available. NOTHING. on the last two nights of our stay- there was a spa room available that cost a little extra but we added and were happier with it b/c it wasnt as far from the lobby (all the rooms are rather far from the lobby) as well as it had a jacuzzi (really old) on the balcony that we didnt end up using.... ;)

lobby and hotel:
design- the lobby needs some serious remodeling- for a 5 star hotel.

Service- i didnt think that the service was upto par. there was only 2 ppl available to assist you at all times and we had to wait several times to get information. there was one in specific that was super nice and helpful (Mariela- spanish lady- she was really helpful). also for some reason nobody speaks english- at all. it was really frustrating but this was not the first time i experienced this in thailand- in five star hotels- so it wasnt that surprising.

transfer boat- to get anywhere you need to go view boat (or the monkey trail- but you need to make sure you are ready for a trek). luckily the hotel offers free transfers to Ao nang which was nice- but you need to book in advance and take tickets from the reception.

Food: Breakfast at the hotel is okay.
any other paid food at the hotel is very costly- however the food at the Italian restaurant- where the piano player is- is very good and worth the price. we ate there almost every night. The piano player is unbelievable- he plays any song on command and we really really enjoyed his music. We ate at the japanese restaurant one night and it was bad.
- the beach bar is okay- it has amazing views and is enjoyable.
- the issue with the food is that it is quite a hassle to leave the hotel to get something to eat so thats why the food is rather pricey as there is little alternative (unless you go to ao nang)
- we also ate at Riley beach one time - it was ridiculously CHEAP! for four people we paid around 1000 baht (which is like 30 dollars) and the food was good!!!

pool and beach: when we were there (with the high occupancy) there was a race in the morning to get good pool chairs. i literally would run down after waking up with my beach towel cards and have to save seats before we went to breakfast b/c otherwise we wouldnt have any. this was really annoying.
- other then that the pool is stunning and the beach even more.
- oh and there is free 1 hr kayaking from the hotel- i really recommend it - there are some beautiful views around the hotel- we have a great time (twice!)

children: when we were there- it was high season- which also meant there were a lot of children. coming from phuket where we stayed at Indigo Pearl (no children) this was kind of strange and noisy, but it wasnt so bad.

monkeys: yes there monkeys- and if you are one of those people who have a heart attack if they see a monkey- then do not come here. the monkeys only come if you leave food on your balcony. after being at the hotel for a couple of days and not capturing any good monkey shots i decided to put a banana on the balcony and waited- in less then 3 min there were about 3 monkeys on the balcony.... after i got my pictures- they were reluctant to leave (expecting more banana's) but they are really cute and very very smart. they know how to open the door of your room- so make sure you keep it locked at all times ;)

OVERALL: we had a really good time and yes i would recommend to a friend. maybe not in peak season though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4urluxuryvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

On Koh Samui we stayed in the Centara Villas for years, but passing through Krabi on our way from Koh Yao back to Samui we didn‘t book the Centara. What a mistake. Not that our hotel was bad. But we missed out on what is the hotel in the most stunning setting I have seen so far. We booked a dinner at the hotel and were pciked up by a courtesy bus, brought to the pier, transferred to a speed boat and brought to the hotel in a nice ten minute boat ride along the Aonang coast. The hotel is surrounded by sheer mountain drop as in a picture frame. When we left again by speed boat after dinner the whole scene was illuminated to look like the backdrop of a James Bond movie set. Did I say the food was good?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank brotherdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at the Centara, Krabi for 10 days this month. Fantastic location but there is no way this is a 5 star resort. It's tired, dated and in need of an overhaul. Great view from our balcony but unable to relax on it as plagued by monkeys. Asked to be moved and after waiting 5 hours for someone to get back to us we were shown 2 inferior rooms. Meals etc expensive and no WiFi. Sunbeds around main pool area and facing beach lined up like sardines. Staff friendly and helpful though. This was the last hotel on a trip around Thailand where we had stayed in fantastic 5 star hotels and it was really disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We had ten days at the Centara in Ao Nang in September, and despite it being the rainy season we had mostly sunny weather. The resort is absolutely beautiful (definitely rivals our other travels incl Fiji and Australia) and the limestone cliffs are stunning. The rooms are built into the cliff and were done beautifully - our room was massive with a wrap-around veranda with sun loungers and hot tub, it was bliss. The room was spotless and the staff were very happy to help with anything (including bringing ice and offering a doctor when my husband burnt the soles of his feet - completely his own fault!!). The food in the resort was good - as you might expect both the food and drinks were much pricier than town but happy hour was a good excuse to indulge. For some the location might be tricky as to get to town you need to walk over the cliff, up some quite steep stairs - this took about 10 minutes and is lit at night - or alternatively use a shuttle boat which takes about the same amount of time but then requires a tuk tuk ride from the marina (extra 5 minutes). At low tide you can walk around the headland and it's very quick, but that obviously depends on the tide. Overall I would recommend this place - very, very relaxing and its the view here that I visualise on a rainy Monday morning to get me out of bed...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The hotel is spotted in amazing area, has its own private beach(one of the best in the area). But you need to take the boat to go to Ao Nang,(monkey trail is not so fun after the first time or at night).food in the hotel is expensive. I cant say is the cleanest hotel i ve stayed, and the humidity shows in the bathrooms.Two nights a smell was coming from the toillet.Not a 5 star hotel characteristic.Generally the hotel is very nice

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vilatequila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,414 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing