We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed for 11 nights in Feb and had a fantastic time. Really cannot understand some of the recent negative reviews. We stayed in an Ocean View Jacuzzi Spa room (1135) and, as another reviewer has pointed out, it had a fantastic view. The jacuzzi worked perfectly - thank you to the previous reviewer for getting it fixed for us ;-). Had a few visits from the local monkeys which was very entertaining.
Many of the rooms, including ours, are quite a hike away from the reception area - but what do people expect from a hillside resort? The resorts golf buggys will take you to your room if you really can't manage the walk. And there is no charge.
Almost without exception the whole of the staff are warm, friendly, cheerful and very helpful. The staff really helped make this a wonderful holiday. We didn't have any problems with language barriers. We don't speak Thai but luckily the staff here speak good English.
The pool area, we thought, was excellent. A bit cramped with all the (comfortable) sunbeds pushed up together but this wasn't an issue for us.
Didn't use the Monkey Trail (although we said we would) to get to Ao Nang ; instead we used the complimentary boat shuttle service and once we walked around the headland at low tide.
The hotel food was really excellent quality though to be honest it was quite expensive - especially compared to the abundance of dining options in Ao Nang. You pay your money and make your choice! Hopefully the high costs help keep the riff-raff out!!
We are going back around the same time next year as we were so impressed with the place. Although it is so near to the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang it is quite secluded and reasonably peaceful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,690 - 2,696 of 3,947 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

This hotel is the jewel in the crown in Krabi. The location is stunning, the rooms and restaurants are of a very high standard. The staff couldn't do enough for us. We booked the Club Lounge after reading reviews from here and I must stress that if you are considering staying here, take up this option as it will save you money.
Ao Nang is only a short walk away (via the monkey trail) but I would recommend that you wear appropriate footwear as it is very steep in places and you walk over rickety wooden steps. It is not hard to walk but you will know that you have exerted yourself the following morning. A must stay if you are considering Krabi!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llandoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

When we arrived at Krabi port we were told that we had to wait for 40 mins for the boat transfer so i decided to pay for a long boat and get there, i was a bit disappointed with this as i felt we should have been able to go straight away as the hotel had our arrival times etc and felt a bit put out at having to pay 500 baht for the pleasure of getting wet on a long boat (still all part of the holiday !!). When we got to the hotel our bags were collected from the pontoon which was nice but our room was not ready bit of a pain as we wanted to get unpacked and relaxing in the sun still the wait was worth it our room was 1133 and had in my opinion the ultimate view, i upgraded to deluxe sea view room which wasn't much more and worth every penny almost like a small villa with plenty of outside space for private relaxation. We stayed for 5 nights and wished we could have stayed longer, the pool was lovely and clean with that nice fresh water feeling, plenty of sun beds but the same as you get every where and every hotel people reserving beds first thing and not using till later. Its a shame the sun beds are moved from the pool so early as it makes you feel that you are in the way but it did not affect us, yes it is quite pricey for thailand but as they say "you get what you pay for !!". I am always a bit unsure about hotel themed buffets and didn't go to any until our last night, how wrong can i be the food was fantastic it was a thai theme and gave me a real chance to try lots of different dishes, superb!!, also we ate in the restaurant next to the pool "the rocks " i think, again really really good clean food but probably a little expensive for thailand but i was on holiday and well it is was worth it. Overall the hotel was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and helpful and i would recommend it to any one who want total relaxation. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Having planned poorly for Chinese New Year travel this year, we happily stumbled upon this resort and were very pleased with what we saw via the internet. The resort's site was easily navigated, contained solid information with good photos and enough to make us confident in our choice to spend five days and four nights in their "ocean view suite." We travel as a family (mom, dad, and two kids; eight and ten year old boys) so we look for beaches, pools, fun and food with high quality of each - reasonable price often cinches the deal for us and Centara appeared to have the potential for all above.
Airport pickup and transport to the resort’s boat launch (a public launch) were flawless and pleasant. As we booked a suite, we were picked up in a spacious Toyota Camry, while those going to the resort in non-suite rooms shared a van. Boat transit from the launch took no more than 15 mins and was bumpy but pleasant – all handling of baggage into and out of the boat is handled by Hotel staff – including the transport of baggage to the rooms – many of which are set high in the resort.
The property is gorgeous – set in a park (national park?) with towering cliffs in the back and a beautiful, calm cove in the front.
It is important to note that for those with difficulty in walking or with heart problems, ask to book rooms lower in the resort. Resort rooms are in multi-story buildings – it took more than 75 steps up multiple outdoor staircases for us to reach our room – quite a taxiing climb for some. Other high rooms are accessible via Resort golf carts, but not all – book carefully if this presents challenges to you.
Our ocean-view suite room was very nice: two outdoor seating areas, privacy blinds, two large beds (enough space for four), a huge inviting bath with tub and rain shower and private bathroom. The balconies had a great view of the ocean – very nice room.

Facilities were above average – from the pool, to the library to the poolside lounges to the gym with very modern equipment and reasonable size. The beach cove was very clean. Free kayaks were a great early morning activity for all of us – there is a huge pillar boulder just off the resort and kayak trips around it are easily manageable. One oddity is a semi-abandoned pool to the corner of the property. The pool is nice enough, but the bar area near the pool was never manned nor open and the area around the pool (which looked to be a former lagoon of some type) had been drained and looking rather shabby – almost as if it was abandoned.

Food was very average for a resort of this caliber – foodies will be disappointed here – it’s all standard fare: sit-down western, beachside bar& grill, Japanese and Thai restaurant (although we didn’t make it there) are all available. Our suite included club access and free breakfast. The breakfast is very nice and worthwhile – good selection of fresh foods for both western and Asian tastes, served in a comfortable indoor or outdoor seating area. Two special dinner nights (Chinese New Year and Beach Grill Night) were buffets of freshly prepared but exceedingly ordinary food – very disappointing. Although selections were broad, better buffet food could be found in almost any local restaurant in Bangkok, KL or Singapore. The room service menu is a disappointment. Club access is nice, but small. On two eves of our visit, the small lounge was full with no seating left for us or others that arrived: embarrassing and unfortunate.

So, where’s the problem? In the staff. Despite reading in the resort brochure that late check out is a strict no no, we arrived at 3:15pm to be told that our room was not ready as someone had checked out late – mind you, this is for a suite. This was also after a more than 15 minute wait to find out why we could not check in – I think they were afraid to inform us. Their solution? Recommending that we change in the fitness locker room and go to the pool – not very accommodating as we had to lug our luggage to the fitness center – unpack some of it, change and then repack the luggage. A very observant manager saw the unhappy look on our faces and immediately approached my wife with two free massages and a genuine apology – nice save and appreciated, but of course we would have preferred our room on time. My question is why it took so long to find out our room wasn’t ready and why the staff didn’t do better than schlep us to the fitness center? When the room was finally ready (and we had to go check twice before finding that it was – the staff did not find us to inform us as they promised) we inquired about the club hours and the young man helping us to our room hesitantly told us the club opened at 5:30 – feeling he didn’t know, we checked and found it opened at 5:00pm Staff should know the operating hours of their own club. At one point, I needed to seek out a plug adaptor for my laptop – standard fare for any resort in Asia as they get guests from all over the grid – three staff attempting to help me were completely rattled by the request for an adaptor – with one staffer telling me they had none on the resort Calls to housekeeping and engineering finally yielded one after a few panicky moments – but come one, staff should know this kind of stuff like the back of your hand. The final staff “incident” came at checkout when we attempted to check out at the Club – supposedly a standard accommodation for suite guests. The staffer in the Club declined to help us saying we had to go to the front desk – until I firmly requested a staffer to come to us – as promised with suite privileges, which she accommodated. To be honest with you, I saw the manager who comped us the massages pacing the resort apparently fixing problems all week – as if he had to cover for his staff. Things just did not run as smoothly as they should have with the staff – shame.

We have been to the Conrad in Bali, the Andaman in Langkawi, the Sheraton in Krabi and the Kattathani in Phuket and to be honest, the Centara was toward the top of this list – but mainly on the strength of the beauty of the property and standard of the room and facilities. Greatly improving their cuisine and very greatly improving the competency of their staff are in need to bring this resort up to the highest

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We booked the Centara resort for our honeymoon back in November 2010 and I can say it s one of the most breath taking places I have seen. The service, food, atmosphere, people and most of rooms were top class.

We booked a sea view room and enjoyed the views. On arrival we were welcomed by the staff and were given a refreshing drink and a cold towel. When arriving to the room we were given a full explanation about the room and also the surrounding areas (i will get to that soon). On the second day in our stay there was a leak in the toilet and it flodded our room... i was very dissapointed but the staff were very helpful to come straight away and sorted out the problem. as the room was smelling of damp the manager asked me if i would like another room, i went to the town and on arrival i was taken to my new UPGRADED room.. the room was bigger and spacious but what was the gem of the room was the hot tub on the balcony.

Breakfast - loads of choice, american, british, continetial, thai etc etc the guava juice was just to die for... very light and refreshing

Monkey Trail - i read up on reviews about the monkey trail and how it connected to the Ao Nang town. at first it looked very dangerous but you get used to it. if you see the monkeys just ignore them and they will ignore you. keep possesions close to you and most of all keep calm...

Club Access - highly recommended... food and drinks were top class and the evening pre-dinner snacks were top notch

In general i would recommend this resort. had everything you wanted for a 5*. the activites are expensive but then again you are staying in a 5* resort so you would expect that...

thank you to the staff at centara resort

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeps3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We spent 12 days at the Centara and it's difficult to add anything that hasn't already been said about the hotel. We stayed in a Spa Deluxe Ocean facing room- room 1135, what amazing views, just incredible to wake up and look out at the rocks jutting out in the ocean. We did however have a few problems with the jacuzzi on our balcony and had to call out the engineer to fix it, which he did within 15 mins so we were able to enjoy cooling down with a glass of beer looking out over the bay. The monkeys do sometimes come around the balconies so keep your doors closed or they'll be popping in looking for fruit!!
The food is amazing, we ate most nights in the Thai restaurant at the hotel, they were very obliging as I am a vegetarian and would cook things just for me. Breakfast is incredible, anything and everything you could wish for, it's self service so you can just help yourselves to as much as you want. The pool area is good, plenty of loungers around the pool or looking out to the sea.
The hotel is spread up the hill and as such has a lot of steps all around the resort, some people using pushchairs were struggling as there are no ramps but steps into the reception, steps out of reception to the rooms and steps going into the restaurants, so I would suggest that if you have mobility issues or use a wheelchair that this hotel wouldn't be suitable.
Access to Ao Nang is good fun - either take the Monkey Trail which is a bit rickety but only takes 5 mins, or take a boat or walk around the rock at low tide.
Overall we had a lovely holiday, good food, fabulous room, friendly staff, but I can understand some of the other negative comments that have been written.
It probably isn't 5 star quality, the hotel is 5 years old and does need some attention in places, english isn't always understood but then it is Thailand so why should everyone speak perfect english. We stayed at the Sheraton in Krabi 3 years ago which is a much smarter hotel but the Centara has a spectacular location with fabulous views so you have to make your own mind up as to what is top of your list when choosing a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allypally_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Here there is many big problems.

1. biggest problem is ENGLISH - All staff around this hotel is really really BAD to english and make many many mistakes for this issue. Do not understand ENGLISH.

2. another big problem is MANY MANY steps around all over the place and IF they were smart they would make things so we could move around more easy with baby and also for handicap people i am thinking!
the kids transport vagan is not easy here, they should think about this for all the family people with kids coming here.

3. Also another thing. When you arrive to this nice ***** star resort they should PICK you up out at there water pier, when arrive with longtail boat and also with kids and bags! thats not five star resort, but 2 star resort.
Very important they fix this problem also, because people dont get a nice warm welcome from the place. We had to come almost to the reception area before they did see it.

4. Poolside. Please tell them not TO clean and remove all sun beds so early at 16.00 or 16.30 because people are still relaxing at this time and it gives a really BAD signal and stress to the guestes if they do that!!

5. Wireless internet at the rooms would be really great.....
There is a plug for a computer, but it would be nice to sit on the terrace and check your pc or iphone device.... fix this please.

6. Also there is golf cars around to bring you up the hill side room villa, but ONE THING they do is charge to for the drive - this should be a service and not charge guests 150 bath everytime, this is embarsing ....please dont do that, bad signal for guests.....

7. Please also have a real baby cod for baby children.

8. Also it would be nice with a baby area for changing baby with diabers and more, so we dont need to do it in the bed. Also have a baby bathtop in plastic, so baby can have a bath and shower!!!

9. Drinks and cocktails in DEEPBLU lounge is not so special....need work more on this and the music. Trendy bar&lounge but with music for th 80'*** and when have happy hour they should also thell people this, and happy hour should not be on the same drink you just ordered - thats a stupid idea. People want to try more drinks and not the same again.
change music style also.....make chillout and lounge music instead.

Overall our stay was NICE!!!!!
We stayed here 1 night and stayed up the hill in a really NICE room villa facing the ocean front view and bay. Really stunning location and views from your balcony!! can highly be recommended.
Again great location, stunning pool area AND many monkyes around and beautiful area with great views and more. Really nice and a most!!

But if Centara reads this, please FIX all these things......to be 5 star resort.
hOPE it will be fixed for next time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ocean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ourmanagement, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for you for your review, as we do all independent reviews, though we would also like to clarify some points that are inconsistent in this review.

The resort employs a full time qualified English teacher who conducts regular lessons with all our staff across all departments. In regards to the comments about the many steps unfortunately this comes with this stunning location.

We do offer a free transfer speedboat pick up and drop off for all incoming and departing guests. The resort offers an outdoor buffet 2 nights a week during high and peak season and therefore unfortunately we have to move some of the sun lounges at 16:30 around that area of the pool.

Thank you for your views in regards to the drink and music options in the Deep Blu bar. The music selection differs on certain timings and events and might not match everybody’s liking at all times.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort Aonang- Thailand
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,554 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,403 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £120 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing