We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green, quiet and away from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Village Resort
Ranked #88 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent 6 nights in blue Vilage and loved it, especially because we had the impression there were no other guests at the time! The garden is really beautiful, the bungalows are equipped with a fridge (with all the drinks in it being free, that means no "mini bar" bill at the end of your stay) and a safe. The room was very clean and the bathroom too, although it had a concrete floor. The WiFi worked well, but could have been more powerful. The swimming pool was great.
Our bungalow had a terrace (they all do) which was very useful to dry out clothes and chill out in the evening.
The staff was nice, but not very communicative, but they have two dogs, very friendly of course, so that helped breaking the ice.
The only downside in this place was the breakfast (if you're not into bacon and sausage, it gets a bit boring). Coffee was not good!
Ao nang is a typical beach resort and the main street of full of those horrible restaurants for tourists and it's a much better idea to head in the opposite direction from the town when you go out of the hotel. You'll find family run tatty restaurants where no one understand what you say, but it's so much fun, tastier and cheaper!
Ao nang beach is not great, better to rent a scooter and travel around.
I would recommend Blue Village, but not Ao nang.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sunflower015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

Blue Village by Chanintra in Ao Nang is about 10 minutes walk from the main beach-front strip of shops (restaurants, souvenir stalls, tourist offices, etc.). We generally got a free lift into town by the hotel (who were always willing to immediately take us) and then walked back - the road is a dirt road with jungle on most of one side and hotels on the other. So if you can't afford to book into a beachfront property or a place with ocean views, then it's quite a decent location.

The bungalows themselves are fairly basic, lacking a bit of charm on the inside but have character on the outside. They are clean enough and the batrooms are basic but fine, including hot water. They have a good sized swimming pool which is quite pleasant. They also offer free internet in a separate building.

The staff seem shy, but are friendly and helpful whenever you ask for anything. I've always said TripAdvisor should include a rating category for "Atmosphere", because this is where so many of the big chain hotels don't succeed. This hotel seems to lack a bit of atmosphere (we were there at the start of April, which is still considered high-season) - I think mainly because the communal dining area is far removed from the pool and is uninviting, plus the hosts are really nice, really honest good people, but shy and reserved. Overall, I'd return here given the price of better hotels in Ao Nang.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carperdiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at the resort for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and nothing appears too much trouble for them, the breakfast is good and caters to western tastes, the facilities - although some are a little tired, are good overall - with the added bonus of a pool.

We have backpacked around South East Asia and have paid not much less than we have here for some very average (and that's being kind!) accommodation. Blue Village clearly does offer value for money and service with a smile.

As others have said, the resort is located away from the main strip, which is good in terms of peace and quiet in the evenings, but with no restaurant on site, it does mean that you have to walk 600 metres down to the main road. If you do not like walking, then there are restaurants located on the way down the hill, including the Carnivore restaurant which is rated highly on TA (as I write this!!).

We went for a standard room and, although small and being on a slope, it was pleasant and cleaned daily. We were also provided with bottles of drinking water every day. Breakfast is served between 7.30 and 10.30 everyday and you can choose between American Breakfast or Continental Breakfast, there is also a menu for Thai style breakfasts. The staff were always accommodating with requests.

Although traveling as a couple, there were a number of families at the resort and I would recommend this resort to either couples wanting a quiet get away or a family with children. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to someone who wanted a pleasant stay while not wanting to put a massive dent in their wallet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

we stayed here a couple of years ago and i wrote a dreadfull review, we returned to krabi in sept last year and went for a look around to see if it had changed and it was like a different place truly lovely and friendly, we would have stayed but although not expensive for what you get it was out of budget for us, shame as we would have loved to stay here, well done new management team the place is wonderfull now.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank decoratorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were very happy to stay at this resort for 3 nights during our trip to Ao nang.
The jungle hut rooms are clean, spacious, comfy and homely. We loved relaxing on our balcony in the lovely tropical garden. The swimming pool and surrounding area is quite nice also. The owners were very helpful and friendly, assisting us with laundry and hiring scooters amongst other things. I found this place good value for money, especially as breakfast was included and was very generous and tasty in comparison with most other breakfasts we had in Thailand. You also get some complimentary snacks and drinks in the mini-bar. Free WiFi in rooms too.
The only downside of this resort for some people would be the distance to the main strip of shops and the beach (about a 50-60B tuk tuk drive). It is also located up quite a steep hill so it might make for a bit of a strenuous walk.
We didn't find this a problem as we hired scooters for two days and could drive around as we pleased. The resort also offers a free shuttle bus every hour down to the main area of Ao nang.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This property is very peaceful and quiet. rooms were basic (we choose a basic room) and we really didn't need anything more.

Nice pool, delicious breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.
A little bit of a walk for the beach but Ao nang is tiny so it didn't matter.

Really lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed in this resort for a few day in January. The room was nice and clean on the inside, but grounds are a little tired but still nice The staff were very friendly. The resort itself it a walk from the main part of the town, however this makes it a good quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
3.8 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#31 of 111 in Ao Nang
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#45 of 111 in Ao Nang
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
#78 of 111 in Ao Nang
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Village Resort

Address: 105 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Village Resort by CHANINTRA offers the extraordinary chance to pamper yourself with Green Nature. It is located on a still green hill connected to Krabi's most famous Ao-Nang beach area of Thailand, only 20 minutes from Krabi International Airport. This is the place where all guests' senses will be warmly pleased by Traditional Thai dishes, Palm trees, Unique art objects, Sounds of Nature and our famous Scent; Royal Jasmine. Let's be surrounded by our rare natural beauty. *This resort was built and decorated focuses on Natural Friendly Ideas* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Village Hotel Ao Nang
Blue Village Krabi
Blue Village Hotel Krabi
Blue Village Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing