We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveller rating
465
496
211
73
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
496
211
73
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate cottageoutdoor showersuperior roomthe cottagesao nang beachshort walk to the beachthe main streetthe breakfast areabuilding workbars and restaurantsmountain viewfew minutes walkbig roomthe cliffairport transferthai foodphi phi
Filter
Updating list...
834 - 839 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We just arrived back from 3 weeks in Thailand. The middle week was 1 week at Peace Laguna in Ao Nang and let me start by saying - NEVER GO TO THAILAND OVER CHRISTMAS/NEW YEAR. It's crazy. The prices are 4 times 'normal' and there are far too many people during this peak season. A waste of time !!!

At first everything was OK with the manager - Michael - he showed us the rooms (we were 4 adults and 2 kids) and after some discussion we managed to secure some bigger rooms, even though that meant we had to move after 2 days. But 2 adults and 2 kids in a standard is no fun! The standard rooms are small and very tired - especially the bathroom. On top of that when you walk out your door, the view of the building site or dump is not very good.... so stay away from these - not worth it !! (Must say though that the private cottage we moved to after 2 days was very nice - but also very expensive!)

Next thing we found out that the New Year Party was going to be held in the parking lot and my husband was not very happy about this as the price for the party was first of all compulsary and quite expensive! When he talked to Michael about this, Michael got very upset and called us all 'very difficult' and didn't really work according to 'the customer is always right'..... :o)

The New Year Party was kind of a joke. The food was good and they had actually managed to make the parking lot look OK, so we just went with the flow and really tried to get the best out of it. But then the entainment started... and that's when we all just gave up. It was so bad that we just had to laugh - there was nothing else to do than laugh :o) Around 10pm we left and went to the beach - and that was the best thing we could have ever done. It was beautiful down there !!!!

So overall we didn't really feel 'at home' in this hotel, even though they had some nice swimming pools and the breakfast was OK :o)

PS. Their mattresses are hard as stone, both in standard rooms and private cottages !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitteand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Beware - the rooms in reality look NOTHING like the photos - they are large concrete rooms which are stark and bare, and in desperate need of painting and repair. We booked a superior room over the Christmas period and were very disappointed with the condition of the hotel and the attitude of the staff. The manager insisted what we had was the superior room although it bore no resemblance. He refused to show us any other rooms for comparison or to upgrade us, saying the resort was fully booked (which was absolutely untrue). The "superior" rooms are the furthest from the beach and in 2 ugly concrete blocks with no view. The breakfast was very poor, the restaurant food shocking, the gym is tiny and the hotel in dire need of updating and repair. The walk to the beach through the back gate is smelly and unlit across a field and over a stream, and we didn't feel safe walking there at night. Overall it was a very unpleasant experience. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freelove1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Ao Nang, Krabi was a little more commercial than we thought it would be, MacDonalds and Starbucks are just 5 mins from the resort, however the resort itself is hidden away from the hussel and bussel and when sunbathing at one of their three pools you quickly forget that its out there. On our last night we got upgraded from a superior room to a private cottage, this was a big bonus. The cottage has a jacuzzi bath and outdoor shower. The superior room was also lovely and was great for the other 5 nights that we stayed. The staff were lovely, breakfast was so - so, it did the trick. The pools were good and the beach was amazing!! A good spot if you like a blend of commercial mixed with a clean / quiet resort and very rustic / traditional beach! Watch out for the beach monkeys!

Room Tip: If you can, get the private cottages!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilidh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed here for 1 night only. Hotel grounds lovely. rooms average.

The spa: excellent! It's located in the new wing so looks really new. Treatment rooms were very spacious and very reasonably priced. only $2500baht for couple 3 hour therapy session. Masseurs excellent - the lady featured in the hotel spa brochure initially did a body scrub on my wife and later on did a hot stone massage for myself. We were both very impressed with her skills and unanimously agreed she's given us the best massage we've ever experienced!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Boocoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

As you walk through the entrance the noisy chaos of Ao Nang is completely left behind and tranquility reigns!
A beautifully located hotel, nested around a lagoon at the feet of some impressive jungle-topped limestone stacks amongst neat gardens. We paid a little more and occupied one of the stilted bungalows on the edge of the lagoon, but the main hotel-block rooms were equally as huge, clean and tastefully furnished.
There were three clean swimming pools spread around the resort, almost always deserted. A 5 minute walk via a little pathway took us to Ao Nang beach with it's lovely sand, shallow sea, palm trees and stunning views.
The hotel staff were always smiling, attentive and relaxed. They constantly apologised for some maintenance that was taking place - to re-roof some bungalows and build flood defenses - but, to be honest, there was absolutely no disruption or noise. The safe in the room was broken, so the manager arranged a safe-deposit box for free. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was huge, something for absolutely everyone. Breakfast was the only time when the place felt busy, as the way the hotel is designed meant there was plenty of space to breathe.
Other than breakfast we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant because all the bars and restaurants of Ao Nang are just a 5 minute walk.
On the last day the manager recommended a superb seafood restaurant in the hills overlooking Ao Nang and organised their complimentary cab service for us.
In summary: a fabulous location, wonderful staff, total relaxation... exactly what a resort hotel should be - well done!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AIian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews