We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards falling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peace Laguna Resort
Ranked #22 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Standards falling”
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Another Hotel I stay in every year. It's a really good location as other Reviewers have noted. I always stay in a Superior room which is great value and really big. The breakfast is ok and typical of most Thai Hotels, some one should really do somethIng about the Cutlery ! The Dessert spoons are "masisive" and heavy really difficult for children and old people to manage. Staff as always are courtious and helpful.
I was disappointed to see the Hotel is not being maintained to the standard it was, interior paintwork needs attention in some areas.
Others have commented about small swimming pools but I don't agree particularly the main one by the Restaurant it's really nice and a shame they have switched off the fountains that were a regular feature, spraying water as you swam underneath.
The Pool area is not cleaned daily and rubbish from the previous day remained under some Sun Beds. Some of the tiles around the Pool are broken and need repairing and some re grouting.
Happy Hour 6pm to 7pm is great value with half price drinks.
Despite some of the above I will return again next year a Hotel that gives very good value for money.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    394
    174
    57
    68
See reviews for
234
479
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at Peace Laguna in a bungalow (superior / ground floor). The hotel is well placed, near to the shoprs, restaurants and the beach. Overall feeling about the hotel area and buildings is that it has not been maintained in last years at all. Many walls shout for paint, looking dirty, and the garden is not in a perfect, tidy shape. We had terrible problems with the electronic card lock at the bungalow door. Several times the door just didn't open and we had to walk a long way back to the reception. They tried to fix it without success.

The pools are not so great as they appear in the photos. Quite small and the water wasn't very looking very clean.There was anyway always a sunbed available. Breakfast was OK, nothing great in it but a medium size selection available. I was missing some fresh juices.

Next time we will try another hotel in Krabi.

Room Tip: Skip the cheap rooms in the main building. Go for a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markku J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK
Level Contributor
223 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Ao Nang as a couple in Feb 2012 looking for a nice hotel to relax in by day & a good resort area to go out into for meals by night and found it here! The relative street noise of Ao Nang (which is pleasantly busy, but not wild!!) simply disappears as you go the road to the hotel - strange but true!!

The check-in was a bit of a nightmare as we arrived at 10.30am & were informed our room wouldn't be ready until 2.30pm - not what you need after a long haul flight. We asked if there was anywhere we could shower and were shown to a grotty little room at the back of the hotel which smelt very damp. After a bit of 'negotiating' with Reception we finally got into our room at about 1pm. Beware of flight times & arrivals!

However, we were in room 5302 situated overlooking the complex in a superb superior room. It was well-presented & spacious with a fantastic wet room. Views overlooking the limestone stacks & hotel grounds were lovely. We were very glad not to be in the 2 standard blocks behind us as their views were completely obliterated by our building!

The breakfast was good with a wide selection of food, catering for a wide variety of tastes. We didn't eat meals in the hotel as Ao Nang has plenty to offer & we prefer to explore.

We mainly relaxed in the island pool by day although there really aren't enough sunbeds to go round - be prepared for some early starts to bag the best 4 loungers in the sun all day!!! This was the best pool as it wasn't full of noisy Russians which sadly forgot they had come to the 'Peace' Laguna! They arrived on our second to last day & honestly spoilt the tranquility we had come to enjoy up to this point. Hope the hotel reminds guests to be considerate or that guests can do that without being asked!!

On a positive note there is excellent free wi-fi in Reception which even made it to our pool on certain days if you wanted it.

All in all it's a 2 min walk to the Beach & massage corner & 1 minute to the shops, bars & restaurants in Ao Nang.

The hotel suffered some horrendous flooding in 2010 which was a natural phenomenon & the hotel are working hard to renovate properties that were damaged. It's built around a lagoon so either stay in the cottages or upper floor rooms if you don't want a damp smell or slightly damaged paintwork. It does need some tidying up but check out the extent of the damage from earlier photos on trip advisor in order to be understanding! Hopefully the hotel will stop using these rooms in the meantime to save it getting bad reviews!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunJunkieMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel is great for price and location. We booked it with Travel Republic.co.uk. It's minutes walk via the back gate to the beach and in the best place for all the bars and restaurants.
We stayed in a basic room in the main block which was fine. It was quite big, had a double bed, was clean, had a TV, mini bar and great air con. Buffet breakfast was good. There are 3 small pool areas but not enough sunbeds for the amount of guests. Some people were reserving beds at breakfast time but most people were not there all day and some beds came available after lunchtime.
There is no real bar but the lobby area is the bar and happy hour is 6-7pm where you also get free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abutler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Staff on the reception is bright.
Staff on the bar ok. breakfast is amazing.
Room is clean an nice spezial the privat cottage.
Free Internet.
The beach is close to the beach, only 3 minutes walk. The travel agency in the hotel is bright and helpfull. You can book there everything. The Cocktail on the bar are good, but expensive. I'll go there again!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiemseestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned from Peace Laguna. Perfect location - out the back gate and you're on the beach, out the front door and you're in the middle of the shops and bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is a bit tired looking though, really needs a good spruce up. We had one of the superior cottages. Very spacious. All balconies look out onto the ponds so beware of mosquitoes if sitting out at night. The staff were very friendly but not sure they understood a lot of English. We had a lightbulb out which took 4 days to replace. Our main issue was, after travelling for nearly 24 hours with a 4 year old, that having arrived at the hotel at 10am we couldn't get into our room until 2pm!! Checkout time is 12.00 and the staff then need 2 hours to clean. Couldn't get another room as apparently the hotel was full. They kindly offered us a shower room but do you really want to be emptying your suitcase in a shower room?? On top of that we needed an extra bed which never arrived until nearly 5pm so if our poor son had needed a sleep after the long journey he had nowhere to go. The room cleaning was inconsistent also. Some days the room was cleaned by the time we came back from breakfast, other days they still hadn't come by 4pm. On our last day we came up from the beach about 4pm and the room hadn't been cleaned and to top it off they didn't have any clean towels to leave us. 4pm and they don't have clean towels for all the rooms!! And if you don't put you're slider across (Please clean my room), your room won't get cleaned at all.The childrens club is in a building out front of the hotel and the pools are all inside the hotel. I didn't personally like the idea of leaving my 4 year old so far away so can't comment on kids club. Was intending to use the facility before we arrived so was a little disappointed. The breakfast got a bit boring also. Same buffet everyday. All in all we had a great holiday in the area.

Room Tip: The cottages are nice, secluded but all balconies are overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We booked a superior room for 3 nights at Peace Laguna Resort in Ao Nang, Krabi. On the plus side: it has a nice, quiet location about 100 meters off the main road in Ao Nang. The view of the limestone cliff and vegetation is wonderful, and the complimentary breakfast buffet is outstanding. A nice pool looks up at the mountainside. The girl (Anne) at the sightseeing desk was wonderful, and very helpful in arranging for us to rent a longboat for a day of island and beach sightseeing. I highly recommend renting a private longboat over selecting a tour with a dozen other tourists who you don't know, because the longboat driver waits for you as long as you like at each island destination. The cost was about 90 USD per day for about 6 to 8 hours of island hopping. Well worth it! Again, thanks to Anne!

On the minus side: The rooms were ok and very clean, but paint was peeling from some spots in our room and there were cracks in the walls. Not a huge deal. My biggest complaint with Peace Laguna Resort was that there was no free wifi in the room (hence, the "average" rating). You could pay to have wifi in your room, but a resort at this level should, at a minimum, provide free wifi in the rooms. Granted, you could take your computer to the lobby area and get access to free wifi (but only sometimes...connectivity was sketchy at best, pretty unreliable). There was a hard-wired computer available for guests, but only one, and it was usually occupied for long periods. The other problem with wifi access in the lobby is that the lobby doubles as a bar, and you have to be able to put up with people blowing cigarette smoke in your direction. Nearly all the guests at this hotel are northern Europeans, who can't seem to relax without a cigarette in their mouths. There seems to be no designated smoking areas, therefore no smoke-free areas. This hotel seems to be a little behind the times with regard to providing a smoke-free atmosphere.

So, if you are not a person who needs internet connection everyday, this hotel is entirely satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#20 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Laguna Resort

Property: Peace Laguna Resort
Address: 193 Moo2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Laguna Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful setting with several lagoons and a great location. The Peace Laguna Resort & Spa is 4 star resort situated in Krabi, close to Ao Phra Nang Beach, and is made up of 149 cottages & rooms nestled snugly on a tranquil lake. The resort encompasses a very special blend of lush, unspoiled, tropical beauty and modern, luxurious living. It's quality and style blended with nature and is framed by a giant granite outcrop. The cottages are uniquely crafted from an embryonic spiral design and are equipped to the highest standards. Well located, only a short distance from all of Ao Nang's main attractions. Set against a backdrop of limestone cliffs around a central lagoon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Laguna Hotel Ao Nang
Peace Laguna Krabi
Peace Laguna Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing