We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible - DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peace Laguna Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I stayed with my husband at the Peace Laguna for 3 nights in a 'deluxe cottage' - there was nothing deluxe about this hotel though.

The hotel is run by very young staff - they seem very unprofessional and you cannot extract a word of English from them.

The towels were in an appaling condition - I assume they were once white but from years of use had turned to grey and were frayed and worn. Not quite the standard I would expect from a hotel that costs £110 per night. When I used the towels they made me feel more unclean than before I showered.

There were two showers, one which is outdoors - but only runs cold water and the indoor one is a 'hand shower' which is only useful if you are about 4 foot high as it doesnt extend very far.

Breakfast is disgusting I thought I had arrived at a place like Butlins - the room overlooks the pool where someone with a perma tan was chainsmoking whilst lying on a towel with a picture of a lion on it and the next sunbed along was 'reserved' (this is the type pf place the Laguna is) with a towel that had a picture of a wolf on it; classy this was not, the calibre of guests was not what I was expecting. Anyway, I digress.

There was a minimal range of fried foods and cereals that is exposed to flys and crammed into a small area. It reduced me to tears as I had just come from the Westin hotel where the breakfast was fantastic - all I could eat here was a slice of toast, after that first visit I could not face going again so went without breakfast the next two days - it was that unpleasant.

We returned to the room at 3pm one day and the room had not been cleaned. We called for towels and these took 15 minutes to arrive.

Another night we were out and it rained heavily, when we returned the room had flooded damaging a case of clothes which we had left on the floor packed for our flight the next day. We called the front desk and two young boys came to our room - all they did was exclaim "wow" and laughed. They left the door open to the balcony as well so overnight mosquitos came in and I was bitten numerous times. They said they would come back to clear it up but at 3am we didnt want to wait forever so we told them to come back in the morning. We were told then after theyy cleared it up that the manager would call about compensation but we have not heard anything, not a surprise really as their customer service is terrible.

I tried to order room service on 2 occasions, both times the phone just rang out. Have never experienced anything like it. Anytime I called reception they were unable to understand me. Another time we arrived back at midnight and found the receptionist asleep behind the desk!

A final note is - please find somewhere else if you are looking for a pleasant and clean stay where poeple can help make your stay enjoyable as this will certainly not fit the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BellaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

First impressions of Ao Nang were not brilliant - it appeared to be far more built up than we expected but the location of Peace Laguna could not have been more perfect.

Tucked away down a side street away from the noise and traffic but within a mere few minutes walk of restaurants, shops, banks, the beach etc.

We could not have asked for more from the staff at Peace Laguna. Thank you Michael, the Front Office Manager, and your wonderful team. Splash out and book a Private Cottage. If you can, ask for cottages 1106, 1107, 1108 or 1109 - these are in the middle of the resort and within a few steps of the best pool.

The space within the cottage is huge - we were prepared for the Thai tradition of rock hard beds and the cold water only in the outdoor shower but this last was welcome in the heat and humidity. One tiny quibble was the lack of hooks in the bathroom and room to hang dresses in the cupboard. Wanna, our lovely room lady, was as unobtrusive as she was efficient.

Learn a few words in Thai and enjoy this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thenorwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Stayed at the Peace Laguna at the end of Feb for 6 nights. I have to say I was dissappointed. We arrived having stayed in Bangkok and at Hua Hin in two great hotels and expected the same of the Peace Laguna but I wouldn't return to this hotel. The sign as you drive down to the hotel says Peace Laguna Resort and Spa but there is no spa. There are building works going on - it didn't affect my stay but if you were in one of the rooms in a block then it may do. We stayed in a cottage - they are okay but the whole place needs updating and I didn't think the hotel was very clean. I thought the staff were useless.
Pools are also okay but one was closed while we were there. Breakfast was average. My husband usually loves breakfast and always has omelettes or freshly cooked eggs but he said they were awful and ended up having toast everyday.
While we were there, the cottage below us got broken into in the middle of the night. Okay, not the hotels fault really but when we spoke to reception the day after we had been kept awake all night, their response wasn't great. They did seem to step security up a little after that though and I appreciate this could happen anywhere in the world.
As with other reviews, loads of restaurants locally and great massages in the first place on the right as you walk out of the hotel. They also do a great laundry service.
Good place to get trips is at the top of the road on the right as you leave the hotel. Highly recommend the 5 islands. Definitely the best. Don't bother going to 'The Beach' beach - we did and there were about 50 speedboats and there wasn't even enough room to sit down. It was awful and there are far nicer islands to visit.
Overall I wouldn't go to this hotel again and I wouldn't visit Ao Nang again. I think the Peace Laguna needs an update. We were given a room to shower in before we left as we didn't leave until late in the evening. The room hadn't been cleaned for four days, there were wet towels everywhere, the room smelt awful and in the basic rooms there isn't even a drawer to put your clothes in - or a wardrobe actually !! Nor recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank concordeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

The hotel does have some building work going on at the front,however we were not put off or disturbed by it. The location of the hotel is perfect for the main strip as its a 2 minute walk to the shops and a 5 minute walk to the beach, if you can get your partner not to stop at all the shops!! The hotel itself is a 3 star as there is no spa or fitness center but it is comfortable though basic.My advice would be to upgrade to a cottage as the block accommodation is very basic but serves a purpose for a cheaper stay! The rooms are large in cottages, beds are firm, baths amazing for 2!! when on honeymoon.Outside shower ok in heat of day otherwise too cold.The hotel setting is quiet and picturesque apart from the drains at back of hotel can smell at times.Pools are adequate.The breakfast is fine with choices to suit everyone.Had no problems with the staff found them friendly and helpfull .when you leave the hotel on the right the first shop you come to is a massage and beauty parlour found them to be very good as was the tailors BIG BOSS FASHION we bought plenty here but haggle.They also own the cafe next to massage parlour and the food is excellent.Krabi au nang itself is full of restaurants,shops and tailors,the whole place is geared up for tourists.The tours are interesting and varied some better than others and its worth shopping arround as prices vary.Phi Phi island trip was disappointing as it was over commercialised and very busy which has ruined Maya Beach ( made famous by the film the beach). The thai food was fantastic with no problems with stomach disorders, did do the thai cooking course well worth it.Restaurants varied in price and offered wide choices,street vendors much cheaper all food cooked fresh to order."Better rate of exchange in thailand than from here" We flew with Thai Airways found the service excellent but the planes a little old in standards but didnt want for anything on board just had to ask.Krabi Au Nang was a nice resort without the go go bar image and seediness as other parts of thailand have. We hope you enjoy thailand as much as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank capricorn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We stayed for 10 days in February 2009 at the Peace Laguna Resort in Ao Nang. The staff is extremely hospitably and reads your wishes from your eyes. The (old) resort area is beautiful with a great view to the close by mountain. It takes 5-10 minutes to the beach and the hotel is set back from the crowded main street. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant is very good as well as the breakfast. A very good place to stay and feel comfortable.
Unfortunately the resort expands to new buildings which are by far not that beautiful. A new street has been build between the resort and the mountain so that it can be presumed that the beautiful view and quietness will soon be gone.
Ao Nang itself is ugly and crowded with tourists and respective shops full of fakes. The beach is narrow and after you have seen the black and stinky sewage running into the sea close to the Centara Grand Hotel, you would not jump into the water voluntarily. But people are warm and friendly and there are lots of long tail boats which can take you to beautiful islands nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank medox_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Peace Laguna might be suprising on arrival, if you have only seen the pictures of lagoon and private cottages surrounding it - To us the suprice was very positive. We stayed for a week in the recently opened new part of the hotel which is still partly under construction. One might be offended by the constructions but the smiling and ever so slowly moving workmen was fun to watch and did not disturb our peace at all. The rooms (superior) in those new buildings are spacious, modern and of very high standard. If you manage to book a room with the balcony facing the huge limestone walls of Ao Nang - you are set for a nature's own spectacle twice a day. In Thailand you are most likely facing smiley faces and generally good service but the level of skills vary. At Peace Laguna they have managed to combine both. From the arrival to the check out we were faced with always smiling, playfull and wery skillfull personel, willing to entertain and fullfill all our expectations. Small gestures and interest in our wellbeing was on a level that you expect from a five start hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Having been to Thailand 3 times we've become very used to luxurious accomodation, the Peace Laguna is lovely but NOT luxurious.

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Cottages with our own outdoor shower, which looked fab but was always too cold to use! The room itself is huge, very modern & clean. The view from our balcony was a beautiful mountain with lots of lush rainforest. Having read reviews about the lagoon in the hotel being a bit whiffing, we did NOT experience any smell near our room!

The hotel is NOT lit well at night near the rooms, sawn off tree trunks are used as steps to get upto your cottage and they are a little wobbly, with no lights leading upto our cottage, some nights proved a little difficult!

The staff are lovely, the breakfast is average, fruit flies are everywhere, including all over the salad & fruit in the morning! The main pool area isn't great, very basic but there are 2 other pools around the hotel. Cocktails & beer is very expensive in the hotel, there is a shop at the top of the road which sells beer for 15 baht, stock up your own fridge!

The bathroom had a large double jacuzzi bath which had to be used as the shower was outside and very cold to use!

The hotel is situated minutes from the beach and opposite some great little restaurants and market stalls. The beach is lovely at the left top end (looking at the beach from the top of the road from the hotel), go right to the end, there are lots of little bars, massage tents....very cute.

There is major building work going on right outside of the hotel which we were not told about, this will be going on until AT LEAST Oct 2009. Work starts at 6.30am which did cause us to wake up several mornings (plse see pics).

Krabi is amazing and a great island to get to places like Phi Phi Island, Hong Kong Island and Koh Lanta. You can get taxi boat rides from the beach.

We will definately be going to Kabi again, but would choose another hotel. We went to visit the Centara Hotel in Krabi - AMAZING!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie-Mau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.9 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#3 of 111 in Ao Nang
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Laguna Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Laguna Resort and Spa

Address: 193 Moo2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £43 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Laguna Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of Aonang, Krabi, you will find our resort with a picturesque view of the famous cliff of Aonang as a backdrop, a peaceful lagoon that surrounds the resort and a short walk to the popular Aonang beach. Our unique cottages are well blended with nature that offers comfort and Thainess experience. The resort is a 4 star resort with 149 spacious and modern rooms and cottages. Our guest can enjoy our 3 pool. Our outlets offer all day dining with a taste of Thai and international cuisine. Time to rejuvenate, visit our Maya Spa for private treatment. Any occasions and events can be held at our Grand Ballroom. While staying with us, you are just few steps away to all the hustle and bustle that Aonang can offer. Shops, restaurants, coffee shops and bars are just at our doorstep. Only a boat ride away, you will reach the popular and famous islands of Krabi. Relax with us! rest at our hanging chairs, enjoy an afternoon delight while connected to social world with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Laguna Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Laguna Hotel Ao Nang
Peace Laguna Krabi
Peace Laguna Resort And Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing