We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but looking very old - needs major revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peace Laguna Resort
Ranked #22 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but looking very old - needs major revamp”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Generally we were impressed but this hotel and the rooms need a major revamp as it is looking very "used". The staff were excellent but my one major gripe would be the poor internet service. Most of our two week stay the internet that has to be prepaid for did not work or the two computers that are provided. When I tried to get a refund it took two days and a lot of haggling - I used the main street agents that provide this service and they are much cheaper and faster. As I said the location is good but the back track to the beach is now locked and it is about a 10 minute walk to the beach. Like everything we found in Thailand the people are lovely and while English is not spoken by many you can get around and we will be back again but not Peace Laguna - very clean hotel but as I have said it needs a lot of work done to it as it is looking very tired mostly inside the rooms. We stayed in a deluxe lodge but it was not very deluxe. I would recommend it but with the above concerns.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryandMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    394
    174
    57
    68
See reviews for
234
479
38
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We read several reviews of the Peace Laguna Resort before our trip and were concerned at some of the negative comments. We stayed for 2 weeks in February/March 2010 and were very satisfied with the standard of accommodation, the location and the service we received from all of the staff. We were in one of the cottages and found the room spacious, comfortable and well appointed. It was cleaned, the tea/coffee making facilities and the mini bar were topped up and the linen etc was changed daily. Our friends were initially booked into a standard room which they found rather small and in need of refurbishment so they upgraded to one of the newer superior rooms which was fine. Both our rooms were equipped with fridge, tea/coffee making facility, hair drier, bathrobes and slippers. The minibar was well stocked though rather expensive. Two bottles of filtered water were provide free each day. The breakfast buffet was of a good quality with a great deal of variety sufficient to cater for all tastes and diets. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant other than at breakfast though lunch and dinner were available. We chose to eat out and found that there were plenty of restaurants nearby which catered for all tastes and budgets. Overall we felt that the standards of hygiene and service in most of these establishments was higher than in many other south east Asian resorts.
Ao Nang was a busy bustling tourist resort with plenty of tourist based shops. The local people were all very friendly and welcoming and we never felt pressured or intimidated, quite the opposite. There was little evidence of overt poverty such as one routinely encounters in India and Sri Lanka though I guess that away from the tourist areas this may not be the case.
Activities mainly centre around the beaches which are good and sometimes superb and water based activities predominate. There are many kiosks selling tailor-made activity/tours. We would advise shopping round as prices can vary significantly between one operator and the other for the same package. We dragged ourselves away from the hotel pool and took a half day Thai Cookery course which we enjoyed a great deal in spite of the heat.
The majority of guests at Peace Laguna were Scandinavian families with a scattering of British and other European nationalities. We had no problems in communicating with the hotel staff and any requests we made were dealt with promptly and professionally. There was some building work going on close to the hotel entrance and the 'superior' rooms block to create further hotel facilities. This was fairly low key and it looked as though the work is nearing completion. It certainly did not spoil our enjoyment of the tranquility of the hotel and its well maintained gardens.
All told a pleasant and relaxing holiday which we would recommend to those who just want to chill out and soak up some sun.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikersYork_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed there for a week in Jan 2010. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by not only the bellboy, but also the receptionist and the floor manager. Our room was deluxe which was located at the second floor of the cottage. We requested for a honeymoon suite, and true enough, we got it. Atmosphere was pretty excellent. They decorated the bed, the side tables, the jacuzzi, the sink and even the bathroom floor with fresh red roses!! Service was good. Though the staff haa slight difficulty interpreting what we're speaking, the effort to understand was there. Do bring an adaptor as all the electrical socket in the room comes in 2-pin type, and the resort was not able to spare us with a 3-pin plug. Dining was excellent with wide spread of delicacy for breakfast, however try to avoid dinner in the resort as most of the time you'll be interrupted with mosquitoes trying to share the meal with you. Right when you stepped out of the compound, there are alot of shops selling merchandise, swimwear. Don't need to bring your swimwear or bikinis as there are plenty, in fact, alot sold on the streets at a very cheap, bargainable price. And food, not to worry, there're abundance, so there isn''t a worry if you've run out of stock at night! Thumbs up!! :))

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ca_fanatic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Location is good. Quiet place but near citycenter. Superior rooms are very clean and comfort if you like scandinavian style. Pools are small and need repair. Breakfast is ok. But overall ok hotel in good location.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turistiI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I spent the last two weeks of December 2009 with my husband in Aonang, Krabi. We stayed at Peace Laguna hotel, which is located on the Southern road quite near the local McDonald's. The hotel is very well located as you can just walk anywhere you want - e.g. to the long tail boats or to Aonang's own beach. Also nearby there are many groceries (Ocean Mart and 7Eleven) as well as restaurants and massage places. Even though the hotel is centrally located, the hotel area itself is very peaceful and tranquil.

Peace Laguna is nice hotel with a good breakfast (even though the reviews have stated otherwise...) and the rooms are clean. We stayed in a superior room in the new building. If you choose this hotel, I recommend booking a bungalow, which seemed nice with their big terraces, or a superior room from the upper floors. Our room was on the ground level and, thus, the view was not that remarkable (greenery and vegetation). Please also note that some of the superior rooms have views only on the backside of the other buildings....

For more info on Aonang, see my review "Something for everybody"!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnish_Travelleress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sara
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed here for 8 days in one of the cottages, whilst the cottage was lovely, it was very tired looking inside. Very spacious, but blinds were broken, cushions and seats were stained, loungers broken and the decking broke 3 times while we were there!
The staff were invisible, apart from the ones at breakfast. The reception staff always seemed preoccupied although polite. This hotel had a large city hotel mentality, you are just another number. Shame because it is in a great loacation, and as mentioned before the cottage was roomy and great to over look the lagoon. It's just a very tired looking hotel and it didn't make us want to go back. In comparison to our visit to the Tamarind in Chang Mai it was like chalk and cheese!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We (family of 2 adult and 2 small kids) stayed for one week during low/green season and for a very reasonable price. The resort is a good maintained 4 star resort, not 100% perfect but well designed and looked after and staff is friendly. We had a superior cottage that was very spacious and contained two queen size beds, enough for a family with little children. The place has three pools, however one pool was very dirty and may got some overhaul done. Breakfast was OK, nothing fancy though. A nice place to be, quiet but close to all the shops. Unfortunately there is no direct access to the beach, the guests have to walk across the town to reach the beach (but anyay the beach is not too great).
So while we were happy with the hotel, we actually did not really like the place Ao Nang. It is far too touristy and crowded, the beach is not very good as well. We can recommend the hotel but not the town.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#20 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Laguna Resort

Property: Peace Laguna Resort
Address: 193 Moo2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Laguna Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful setting with several lagoons and a great location. The Peace Laguna Resort & Spa is 4 star resort situated in Krabi, close to Ao Phra Nang Beach, and is made up of 149 cottages & rooms nestled snugly on a tranquil lake. The resort encompasses a very special blend of lush, unspoiled, tropical beauty and modern, luxurious living. It's quality and style blended with nature and is framed by a giant granite outcrop. The cottages are uniquely crafted from an embryonic spiral design and are equipped to the highest standards. Well located, only a short distance from all of Ao Nang's main attractions. Set against a backdrop of limestone cliffs around a central lagoon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Laguna Hotel Ao Nang
Peace Laguna Krabi
Peace Laguna Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing