We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peace Laguna Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We were on a budget trip but wanted to splurge here and there. Being low season we thought it was a great opportunity to stay in a luxury resort at a lower cost, although still expensive considering. Probably the thing I found most annoying is this was our second resort we decided to splurge on and like the first, they both had amazing websites with cottages on the water and beautiful landscapes. But the websites must only show their top rooms. There are 5 room types and we paid for a Deluxe room which was the 2nd most expensive but still did not have a view of the amazing mountain and only a view of the back section of the lagoon. And the cottages were nothing like what they look like on their website. I've looked at their website again but even knowing now, it is still deceiving. The only pictures they show from the outside are the Private cottages (most expensive ones.) But when you book a Deluxe cottage even though you may be paying less, you still have only seen vision of these ones and expect something similar. The photo's show nice decks over the water but ours were set back and just a view of the lagoon. The deck chairs were ridiculously old style looking. . The girls on reception were lovely but there was definitely a language barrier, they may have their job because they can speak english but alot of questions were met with looks of "I don't have a clue what you're asking me". It made everything at reception a slow process. It took us about 20 mins to check out. Also another reviewer said their Internet wasn't working, yes, still wasn't working for me either. And they charge for Internet, not acceptable in a big resort. I paid $15 a night in shabby places and still had free high speed internet. Come on Peace Laguna! The Breakfast was excellent, top marks there for both food and staff service, including the Friendly Chefs. There are new rooms in hotel style out the front of the resort that look amazing. If I had my time over I would probably opt for these. They look top class and are cheaper than the Cottages that are looking tired and need a revamp.
When you're paying more than you usually would because you can't resist how lovely it looks on a website and then you arrive and don't get what you expected, its disappointing.
It is still a lovely place to stay, with nice people and nice food but my review is more critical because of my expectations when paying more than usual.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jo_cut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

Great 4 star hotel, ideally situated in the heart of Ao-Nang. We stayed in a Private Cottage which were situated on the Lagoon, i would definatrly recommend staying in this room type, it was very spacious, clean, had out door shower (cold water only) and jacuzzi bath..
The resort is lovely, there are a few pools which we did'nt really investigate but the mian pool was very nice, however it did turn all of our swimming costumes green, which on our return have not been able to get out, not sure if its the type of chlorine they use , for all the girls, it also turned my blonde hair slightly green and destroyed my nail polish and my nail extensions..
The staff were very friendly and helpfull, drinks and food at the hotel were very expensive compaired to outside.
The local area was really quiet while we were there, low season so lots of discounts. Turn right out of the hotel and there is a strip of bars which are very lively and open until the last person goes home i think, the first bar on the right as you walk into the strip has lovely girls working there and they play lots of games with you to keep you entertained, the drinks are also very cheap.
Food wise, if your a steak lover go to a resturant called carnivour, it's about a £2 tutt tutt ride away and it is AMAZING, it's a fantastic resturant and you get the best steak,grill type food, it's definatly 5 star dining and cost for of us to eat like kings £80! another good local resturant was Del Rocks which was right out of the hotel and on the oposite side of the road, lovely resturant which has Air con!
The Beach is not that great, but you can travel to other ones, we hired a speed boat for the morning (9-3) and visited phi phi, chicken island, Raleigh, well worth doing about only cost us £200.
All in all a great pleace to Visit and a lovely hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

June-Oct is a month of low season (monsoon). Those whom needs lots of sun are not advised to travel during these months. All depends of luck to get a nice day with good weather for island trips, kayaking/canoeing and jungle trips. Phi Phi Lay has the nicest spot for snorkelling with varities of fishes and corals. During low tide has the best water clarity. Had ood home cooked food at Number ONE FOOD REST. (open air) without air-cond. Situated 200-300M along the main road of the Peace Laguna Hotel. From hotel, walk out to the main road and turn right. Wall straight till you c the rest. Very near to Ayudhia (Ayutthia) Bank that is opposite. Good tom yam kung (without coconut milk), seafood salad ect. served. Rented a scooter at 1,500B/day. Have to pump own petrol of 50B 1/2 tank. Go along Nattrophat Beach straight till u c a open air open market for local and foreign visitors to savious local food which is very good. Best go btw 5.30pm as lots of food still avai. Hot and spicy local delicies sold. Will definately go again with friends. Thoroughly satisfying and experienced trip. Thai people are the most polite and humble people.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dachshundjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

it's a great hotel, stuffs are very friendly, so quite and you can have a peace that you want ^_^.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
Thank philippinesjoy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and booked a Private Cottage via Agoda for about £100 per night. Quite pricey, but thought we'd splash out for our last 2 nights here and it was well worth it. This cottage was very spacious and very modern! It had both a jacuzzi bath and outdoor rain shower which was lovely! All necessary mod-cons and overlooking the lagoon which was beautiful. The resort itself was great with superb views of the mountain ad a nice swimming pool. We were just a short walk from the restaurants and bars and beach where you could take a long boat to Railay Beach about 10 minutes away.
Had a massage here which was the cheapest we'd had in Thailand only about £8 each!
Great stay in general, but would recommend booking a Private Cottage for that bit more as the other rooms didn't look nearly as good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elfiemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at Peace Laguna for a family celebration, our party comprising 3 couples and the 2 children (aged 6 and 4 years old) of one of our daughters. The reasons for choosing this Resort were partly its quiet location, but particularly an accommodation package in one of their 'Cottage Blocks' of 4 rooms that placed us all together, with a communicating door between the ground floor rooms so the children could sleep in a separate area to their parents. I booked this arrangement four months in advance and checked only one week before departure that everything was in order.

However, on arrival, the Admissions Staff (many of whom have a limited grasp of English) first kept us waiting for almost one hour, then attempted to separate our daughter and husband from their very young children in two adjacent ground floor cottage rooms without a communicating door! To make things worse, they also tried to put our other daughter and husband into a completely different accommodation block! After a further 2 hours distressing argument, we agreed to have two extra beds put in the parents room, and retrenched to a total of 3 'Cottages' instead of 4.

We subsequently discovered the reason for the problem is that in the whole development they only have two 'Cottages' with communicating door between ground floor rooms, and had let these to other guests. Amazingly, We were then told that they do not guarantee any particular acommodation "in order that they can remain flexible". So, if you are happy to book (and pay up-front for) something you may not get, this is the place for you!

On our third day one of the desired Cottage Blocks became free, so we eventually did get what we had ordered. In fairness, that suited us perfectly so the remainder of our week was fine, but as a 'sting in the tail', the Resort charged for the additional children's beds we were forced to have for the first two nights! As a result, we think their concept of customer relations is zero.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grandad70London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Generally we were impressed but this hotel and the rooms need a major revamp as it is looking very "used". The staff were excellent but my one major gripe would be the poor internet service. Most of our two week stay the internet that has to be prepaid for did not work or the two computers that are provided. When I tried to get a refund it took two days and a lot of haggling - I used the main street agents that provide this service and they are much cheaper and faster. As I said the location is good but the back track to the beach is now locked and it is about a 10 minute walk to the beach. Like everything we found in Thailand the people are lovely and while English is not spoken by many you can get around and we will be back again but not Peace Laguna - very clean hotel but as I have said it needs a lot of work done to it as it is looking very tired mostly inside the rooms. We stayed in a deluxe lodge but it was not very deluxe. I would recommend it but with the above concerns.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryandMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.9 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#3 of 111 in Ao Nang
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Laguna Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Laguna Resort and Spa

Address: 193 Moo2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £44 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peace Laguna Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the middle of Aonang, Krabi, you will find our resort with a picturesque view of the famous cliff of Aonang as a backdrop, a peaceful lagoon that surrounds the resort and a short walk to the popular Aonang beach. Our unique cottages are well blended with nature that offers comfort and Thainess experience. The resort is a 4 star resort with 149 spacious and modern rooms and cottages. Our guest can enjoy our 3 pool. Our outlets offer all day dining with a taste of Thai and international cuisine. Time to rejuvenate, visit our Maya Spa for private treatment. Any occasions and events can be held at our Grand Ballroom. While staying with us, you are just few steps away to all the hustle and bustle that Aonang can offer. Shops, restaurants, coffee shops and bars are just at our doorstep. Only a boat ride away, you will reach the popular and famous islands of Krabi. Relax with us! rest at our hanging chairs, enjoy an afternoon delight while connected to social world with free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Peace Laguna Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Laguna Hotel Ao Nang
Peace Laguna Krabi
Peace Laguna Resort And Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing