We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and rustic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ao Nang Premier Resort
Ranked #91 of 110 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Visited Tropical Herbal in mid October 2010 and stayed for 4 nights.

It’s actually a really nice resort, very quite which was ideal for us and as another reviewer said it’s like being in the jungle.

Our room was spacious and clean with a rustic feel, don’t come here expecting polished white marble floors and you won’t be disappointed. Yes there are bugs in the bathroom, the paintwork is a bit iffy here and there, the electrics wouldn’t pass any UK inspection and ‘something’ did wake us up rustling at night (probably a lizard)

We had a special low season rate and it was good value as the room and bathroom were a good size and had a covered veranda.

My only negative comment is that the room was quite dark, during the day this was due to the hotel building next door (it is a rather unattractive breeze block wall) and at night as the light bulbs were underpowered.

Next door hotel’s air con does make a horrendous noise twice a day – sounds like a space ship is powering up – only lasts for about 5 mins each time.

The pool at Tropical is small but exclusive (as we were the only ones there!) Breakfast is perfectly adequate (although quite a few mosquitoes in the breakfast area) and the staff are friendly and want to help as much as they can. Beach towels are available on request which you can take out for the day which is a bonus.

Ao Nang is a nice typical small Thai resort, there is a 7-11 about 3 mins down the road for supplies – good selection of restaurants within 5 mins and lots down towards the beach which is 10-15 mins walk. We hired a scooter as the walk back is a gentle hill all the way, nothing steep but in the heat it’s quite tiring.

However the beach is pretty unattractive so get a boat to Railay or one of the islands where it’s beautiful or just chill by the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2009

Reading previous controvercial reviews we choose to check first. We stayed five nights. Villa 8 was superb, value for money at 1700 baht. The design and decoration details of all points is very good to excellent. Maybe some prefer a shining brand new but for us the quite old (wood structures, doors, etc.). The staff is excellent and very helpful. The place is fully green. We asked to prepare the jacuzzi and when ready we entered they had decorated with flowers. A complete supply of juices and beers to the refrigerator plus fresh bananas. The swimming pool is small and swallow but spotless clean as the place as a whole. The upper villas are not suggested if you don't like steep walking.

The front desk is very helpful for any sightseeing. We compared the prices of their tours and in many cases they were cheaper than the travel agencies to the town. Their suggestions for eating were excellent and very friendly. We had two massages to the designated nice area but the ladies hired for weren't that good.

Problems :
1. Hot water to the shower didn't work despite the staff efford ! (Only to the jacuzzi)
2. An outside hose of the A/C was leaking.
3. The ugly, huge hotel building besides disfigure the view and the A/C units are noisy.
4. Breakfast is just good, could be improved.
5. After 10.00 hot coffee is over, cold drinks only.

Conclusion : It's not an ordinary place. Very green and fascinated but it's strictly personal if you will like it or go away. The villas are quite old and need maintenance.
It is not value for money. We suggest a visit first and the a decision to stay or not.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akis51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

i searched for hotel in Ao Nang ,Krabi..and i've found this hotel,Tropical Herbal Spa&Resort.when we reached there,the place wasnt as nice as we've seen on the website.it looked older and we were there while they were developing some area and the new hotel which was close to the resort was being built at that time so it was annoying.We asked them for changing the new villa,from the villa 6 to the villa 3 which was the furthest and sooooo quiet.we could here just only sounds of nature! that's why it was like we were in the rain forest in indonesia! haha ;p

the room was okay it smells like wood and a bit humid .Minibars ..all of snacks were sooo uneatable! :S and i didnt really like the bathroom!..it wasnt soo private when i was taking a shower..i always looked all around and noticed if there was someone...nervous!
the jacuzzi was a bit dirty cuz of rain i think

the only one thing i was impressed from this resort was just the services..the staffs were very very very very niceeee and soo friendly and helpful..i forgot my bag which i put all my postcards in the room,the staff took it for me from the room to the lobby.and they always drove us to the Ao Nang beach which was sooo nice :D
i love the breakfast there..ate lots lol
ohh and the night before we'd checked out,i told the staff that it was my partner's birthday so they made our room,by making such a nice jacuzzi with local flowers petals and "HAPPY BIRTHDAY" sign on the wall and 1 pound FREE Cake!
my partner got sunburnt and it was sooooo bad ..the staff helped us lots ..they brought us some alovera (the nature one) to heal my partner

well the best services ever! but the accommodation should be better

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NocturnalSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

My girlfriend and I had an absolute wonderful time at the Tropical Herbal Spa & Resort. Whatever problems there seem to have been before (construction next door, lighting on the path up the hill) have been taken care of. The resort is picture perfect, very secluded, very private, so private in fact we could skinny dip in the pool. A great place to get away from it all.
It's not far from the action either and the staff will give you a free ride. We had 3 massages each one of which was on the house because we had so many.
Breakfast was ok, good coffee. Dinner didn't seem to exist but it didn't matter because there are so many nice restaurants just down the rode (the cheapest places have the best food). The room was simple but nice, loved the outside bath. The mosquitoes weren't much of a problem to my surprise. The pool was amazing. And the staff were extremely friendly.
I could nit pick about a few minuscule things, but we had such a wonderful and relaxing time, I won't. I don't expect any hotel to be 100% perfect. And of all the other hotels we saw during our stay, we knew we'd made the right choice.
We'll definitely come back...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deramas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Booked thru Asiarooms.com for SGD 101. We stayed 1 night at this resort due to airline cancelled flight. Thanks to front-desk staff (Ms Wan/One) for her hospitality & excellent service. The hotel was not full so they allowed late checkout till 6pm (our flight was 923pm) with a condition that is to book their spa package. So we did & they offered a 10% discount for all their Spa/Massage with free use of Jacuzzi pool & herbal steam room for hotel guests. We got Villa 7, which I think was not pleasing. Outside bathroom + bathtub was not well maintain, room was okay but not too satisfied, aromatic stuffs (candles,oil) was not replenished after the previous guests. Free hotel car ride to Ao Nang beach. Breakfast was simple American style but pathetic compared to what we had at THE CLIFF. By night resort is quiet & dim. Beware of the steps to the outdoor bath + lots of mosquitos for company. The only satisfaction we get is the pool & steam room, inform the staffs to prepare for you. If you like nature, you will love this place,it's a different style from the usual hotels. View the hotel website for spa prices, however room photos can be a little deceiving. http://www.spakrabi.net/resort.html

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We spent 3 nights at the tropical herbal resort and were really disappointed by it - the website looked so nice but the reality was a resort in need of some care and attention, the whole place had a tired feel to it and what could have been so nice just wasn't. The room was fine - very large four poster bed, fridge, TV, Aircon. The outdoor bathroom was a bit grubby, the concept is good but it needs freshening up and a bit of redecoration ( by the way there is no privacy for use of this bathroom - if you go with a friend then you will be much more intimately aquainted by the time you come home!)
The pool is lovely but again just a bit tired (broken loungers, no cushions, no towels).
We were there at the begining of Feb 08 - there was a building site next door which by the look of things had several more months work to be done on it.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieQ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

This place is great. It's set upon beautiful grounds, and each villa offers extreme privacy. You can even put up barriers if you want extra privacy. The room is tastefully decorated and each has its own outdoor jacuzzi which can fit up to 3 people. The staff is very friendly and breakfast is good.
However, I would advise not to visit this place during the rainy season. We stayed here 3 days and it rained nonstop for 3 days. The bathroom is outside, so it can be quite dangerous going down the steps in the middle of the night in the rain. Also, the steps leading up to the villas around the grounds are made of wood and in desperate need of repair. I slipped on one and cut open my big toe. It's also dangerous because there are virtually no lights outside to guide you, making it very easy to slip and fall. Also, the restaurant isn't open for dinner during the off season. If they repaired the steps this place would be great.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank durianfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#48 of 110 in Ao Nang
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 110 in Ao Nang
585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timber House Resort
Timber House Resort
#68 of 110 in Ao Nang
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#30 of 110 in Ao Nang
837 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Nang Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Nang Premier Resort

Address: 20/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Herbal Spa & Resort)
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 110 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: £26 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ao Nang Premier Resort is located at Ao Nang Beach in Krabi Province of Thailand. Serving as an accommodation in the tropical environment, offering 9 individual Deluxe Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ao Nang Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Herbal Hotel Ao Nang
Tropical Herbal Spa And Resort
Ao Nang Premier Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing