We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel with friendly service and good breakfast”
Review of Duang Jai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duang Jai Resort
Ranked #56 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in November. We wanted to visit Railay Beach but didn't want to pay Railay prices, so this was a happy medium. You can get the boat from Au Nang to Railay, it only takes about 20 minutes. Duang Jai is a 10 min walk away from the boat taxi station on the beach, so v convenient The hotel. has nice rooms with a balcony, ours over looked the pool (which is a decent size). We had a couple of free bottles of water in ours fridge which was a nice touch. On the morning we left, at about 6am, the staff left out packed lunches (breakfasts, really) which was really good of them. The road the hotel is on looks a bit like a building site but the building works did not disturb us really. Au Nang itself is fine as a base to explore the area but I wouldn't say it is the nicest place I've been. Fine as a base though and I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Would certainly recommend this place. Nice pool area, lovely staff who were very friendly and helpful - a little expensive for Thailand but very close to long boats that can take you to Railay Beach. Food wasn't great but there are lots of restaurants around to choose from.

Resort very Mediterranean, actually. Huge numbers of people (sometimes too many) but good if you want to just chill out in one place for a bit.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: I'm not sure why you need to be on the second floor. Our ground floor room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Booked with Andaman Adventures as the middle stop in a 3 stop tour of the region, this hotel in not far from the beach, it’s a cute little place far enough away so you don’t get too caught up in the chaos on the beach. It’s not that it’s an unpleasant beach, far from it, it’s just that in peak season there are a lot of people on it, so it’s nice to be able to escape to a refuge of peace and quiet, which is what the Duang Jai offers. The pool is good here, with enough loungers and shady spots to make for a very pleasant afternoon siesta. The room we got suited us very well, not particularly luxurious but certainly extremely comfortable and clean. We enjoyed Ao Nang, particularly the cooking class my wife took, which I have great hopes for in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchilds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks, with our 2 children (ages 6 & 8). We were happy with our stay and would recommend to friends. Quiet, peaceful location. Kids loved pool (salt water). Rooms we're clean, plentiful breakfast buffet, lush garden setting and easy to walk to beach and services. 4+ fresh clean beach towels provided daily. We could get evening food service (9pm) upon request. Staff was willing to arrange babysitting and local travel activities (elephant riding, cooking class, etc). Only disappointment was that we had booked room expecting 2 roll-away beds for children, but only 1 was included (had to pay extra, but maybe the fault of our Finnish tour operator?).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank ErikaHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Comfortable small newer hotel with spacious clean rooms. Located in a quiet area within walking distance from the local beaches and the main drag where you can catch long-tail boats to the islands and the awesome Railay peninsula. Close to street food market. Extremely friendly and helpful young staff. Jeab the manager is a real gem with a great sense of humour. She was always available and looked after us and other guests with a perennial smile. I booked directly with hotel and got free airport shuttle, breakfast and room upgrade. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: I suggest a 2nd floor room overlooking the well kept pool for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvdh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a small hotel on a quiet street near restaurants, shopping and beach. It is clean and nice - not a luxury hotel, but fine for our stay. Can't beat the price during the rainy season (we went in mid October but had perfect weather and no rain). Nice garden and pool. Stray dogs on the street at night (probably because of the construction site on the same street), but nothing to worry about. The hotel manager spoke English and was very helpful, she booked various activities for us, including a cooking class, trips to the islands nearby and a taxi to the airport. The breakfast was the same each morning, basic but plentiful. The town of Ao Nang has many, many hotel options so you can find whatever you need. Plenty of restaurants, bars and nice street shops. It is very laid back and only a short boat ride away from some of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second (top) floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM_RO_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We just completed a five day stay at the Duang Jai Resort in Krabi. Initially, we had planned to visit both Phuket-Krabi, however friends here in Chiang Mai, as well as Krabi urged us to stay the entire time in Krabi, as well as selecting the Duang Jai resort. We had intended on residing at an IHG Property, probably the Holiday Inn Resort, since we use the IHG brand exclusively in USA visits.

I viewed the Duang Jai Website, and was quite impressed by the description of the property, room size, amenities offered and small number of rooms. A local friend tentatively booked our accommodations, however when I confirmed with the Duang Jai via email, the Resort Manager offered another 350THB daily discount for each of our Top View Rooms, which was a very pleasant surprise.

Our entire stay was excellent, with the Duang Jai having a great staff. Our early morning full complimentary breakfast was delicious, especially the fresh fruit. It was quite nice having the full breakfast served to us, since my wife & daughter departed on various tours each morning at 8:30am. I usually lingered on for 1 or 2 hours following breakfast, chatting with the Resort Manager and then returned to my patio for reading, meditation and music. The Duang Jai was very quiet on the pool side, although there was a new hotel construction on the room entry side.

We will certainly reside at the Duang Jai on all future Krabi visits, as well as recommend the resort to our Chiang Mai, Australian and USA friends.

The Cannady Family

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank William G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#50 of 111 in Ao Nang
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
8icon Ao Nang by I Galleria Krabi
1.3 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#52 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hula Hula Resort
Hula Hula Resort
#43 of 111 in Ao Nang
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#23 of 111 in Ao Nang
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#13 of 111 in Ao Nang
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duang Jai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duang Jai Resort

Address: 152 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £38 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duang Jai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duang Jai Resort in Krabi, Thailand. Reserve exclusive Krabi accommodation at our Ao Nang beach resort and get instant confirmation online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Duang Jai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duang Jai Hotel Ao Nang
Duang Jai Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing