We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, OK hotel”
Review of The Palace Ao Nang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palace Ao Nang
Ranked #77 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect location, OK hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Palace has a great location in Ao Nang, with barely one minutes walk to the beach and the main shopping street. Compared to other Thai hotels, it wasn't too cheap, and you didn't really get something extra for that extra money neither. The room was just fine, the hotel in general was a bit worn-out and the breakfast buffet was rather bland. The staff wasn't that outgoing, although they were far from unpleasant.

No big complaints, just not too impressed. Since there are a lot of other hotels in the area, I can imagine that you might find a better, and maybe even cheaper one quite easily.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T0mTraubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    42
    28
    33
See reviews for
18
59
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
exmouthtourists
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have stayed in many hotels all over Thailand and this was expensive 1300bht for a room with an extra bed, the room was very tired and the bathroom dated but we did have a very nice outlook. We had no choice as we had too much luggage to roam around town to save a few baht. One thing I will say is the staff were very nice and the breakfast was good ok no bacon etc but eggs cooked to order and fresh pancakes there was a selection of fresh fruit some cereals and toast etc also tea/coffee. Would I stay again If they had a serious upgrade or if i was paying 700bht maybe. They did have free internet (unless you work out i paid almost double what the room was worth) One tip I had a massage accross the road 250bht for an hour very good !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exmouthtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Location: Located on the main street, small doorway with an internet cafe/tour agent next door. Shops, restaurants, bars, street food vendors, and the beach is all within walking distance, very convenient location, with convenient store nearby. Short stroll back after an evening out or long day out at the beach!

Rooms: Quite basic room with a balcony, view of the street. Although on the street it's relatively quiet at night. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very basic and not the most modern, although bearable.

Service: Staff were very helpful, we decided to extend our trip, and they called the other hotel for us and booked us in for another night in the same room with no problems.

Breakfast: Included in the room, the food wasn't great, not much choice, I'd say it's below average but there is a lot of choice around Ao Nang for food.

Value: Good value for money in a convenient location!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferNgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The best thing about The Palace Ao Nang is the location, which is excellent - close to the beach, shops and boats to the Islands.

The Hotel itself is very basic and It's a bit worn. We had a room with a pool view. The room was not very clean, the beds were unbearably hard and the balcony is small with only stools to sit on. What bothered me the most was the smell from the toilets between the reception and the pool area. Breakfast was ok with a good selection. The Palace is a good example of "you get what you pay for".

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sun010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

You really cannot get more central than this, literally 2 mins to the beach & ferries.
Very friendly and helpful staff, due to my bad knee they upgraded me from a third floor front room to a first floor rear/pool view.. Nice touch is they have their own poolside spa center for massages.
Breakfast was good, the room was clean and the bed comfortable. It's by no means luxury but good value for your buck.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed there 2 nights during our South-East-Asia-Trip in February. We used Ao Nang as a base for visiting nearby islands.

We choose this hotel for it`s central location in Ao Nang. It is about 50 m from the beach, where the Longtail- boats leaving for Railey and Tonsai. Kepp in mind that the beach in Ao Nang is not really suitable for swimming, because all the boats leave from there. Ao Nang fits perfectly as a base for exploring the surrounding area an islands. If you want to spend a day on the beach, take a 10 minutes boat ride to Railey, where you will find one of Krabi`s most scenic beach!

Arriving at Ao Nang Palace was very easy. We took a "songthaew" from Krabi bus station, which needs about half an hour and deposed us 20 m from the hotel. Check in was fast and easy, but i didn`t accept the room we where given, because towels, sheets and even the tea cups where dirty, so we where moved to another room, which was at least not dirty but it turns out that the basin was leaky resulting in a constantly wet floor in the bath. Due to the reason that we have booked this hotel only for 2 nights, we decided to spend the rest of our stay in Ao Nang definitely at a other place, so we kept this room.
Another reason why we booked this hotel was it`s pool, but it turns out that the water temperature was about 30° so it was no refreshment at all.
The included breakfast was also poor for the hotels price. It was served in a tent in the garden!!! What you get is Toast, Yam, Eggs, something which should be coffee, the cheapest black tea available and if you lucky there are a few fruits left.

My advice: Skip this hotel! We payed 1800 bht per night, but finding another place on site with the same facilities except the pool for 500-1000 bht per night was no problem at all, even we where there in high season.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -Man0nTheMove-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Perfect location. Simply the best staff. Nice breakfast. Big rooms. Nice garden and pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Apelqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#71 of 108 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rooms Republic
Rooms Republic
#65 of 108 in Ao Nang
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#55 of 108 in Ao Nang
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aonang President Hotel
Aonang President Hotel
#75 of 108 in Ao Nang
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#34 of 108 in Ao Nang
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ao Nang Beach Resort
Ao Nang Beach Resort
#70 of 108 in Ao Nang
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Ao Nang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Ao Nang

Property: The Palace Ao Nang
Address: 208 M.2 Ao-Nang | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palace Ao Nang 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Ao Nang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
The Palace Ao Nang Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing