We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Ao Nang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palace Ao Nang
Ranked #99 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, good value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for three nights and we were very happy with the hotel. A travel agent in Bangkok booked for us for one night and we extended our stay. Good location about 100-150m from the beach and restaurants in all directions from the hotel. Hotel does have a pool but we didn't use it because the beach was just down the road (Ao Nang beach well worth a visit). Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, would be much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHunter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    27
    41
    28
    32
See reviews for
17
52
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The Palace AoNang

Stayed 4 nights.

Cons
-no elevator
-pool looked very dirty, did not even take a dip
-beds hard

Pros
-air con stays on while gone, keeping room nice and cool
-safe in room
-very close to beach/shopping/restaurants
-maintenance came in promptly to fix our air con when it wasn't working when we first arrived at the hotel
-wi-fi in rooms was good

Overall, our stay here was not the best, but it was not the worst. The location made it not the worst option, but the elevator issue and having to lugg our stuff up 4 flights made it not the best (but we did have a nice view...)

Tip* 1) decide if the nice view or your back is more important before checking into this hotel
2) Try to avoid street-side rooms if you can...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Located in a very good area of moo 2 on the main drag of Ao Nang. Close to everything that you need in a couple of minutes walk. The place is very tired looking and in need of some new paint etc. The rooms are clean, but mine had no hot water although my mates water was steaming hot. Luck of the draw. The pool is small and clean with shade around it, which is a bonus. Although the pool bar seems like it hasn't functioned in years but the fridge still works and you can stock it with your own drinks which worked well with the mini mart next door.
Good place if you want to avoid the bigger resorts.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkies67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have stayed at yhe Palace for about 9 years my name is Ray Milne. the last time I stay there is was Disgusting. I lay in the room for 5 days and no one came to check on me.I could have been dead. I did use to be great place to stay but they have just let the place go down hill. The only thing they have done is paint the outside of the biulding. Do not stay here if you want a stress free holiday Ray Milne

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radioray23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stay 1 night on 26 Sep. The water pump is broken in the morning that we are going to leaveWe came down to the front, the receptionist ask us to use shower room at pool side. This is inconvenient for 2 girls but for is fine. We complain and ask for any apologies but the girl ask back "what do you want me to do?" in thai word that is rude. i shout to her that this not the big problem if she say some apoligize or let us know in the early morning. She argue back impolitely, hate this and will never mention this place again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePakino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The location is really good as it is very close to beach and main shops. We were on the top floor overlooking the pool and hills so the view was beautiful and it room was very quiet. Yes there is no elevator but it's 4 floors max, so not a big deal. The staff were pretty friendly and our room was surprisingly quite clean and large. The only thing I was disappointed with was the breakfast. It was included in the price of the room which is what sold us in the first place. The drinks are meant to be kept cold but they weren't, so in the hot Thai sun everything, even the milk, was warm. There was also a huge wasp nest so tons of wasps were swarming around the food and the tables, and there were even a few dead ones in the yogurt bowls...it was gross. Other than that I was happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in Ao Nang for a few nights and were a little disappointed with this hotel. The room itself is fine - decent space, tea/coffee making facilities, little balcony over looking the busy road. However the bathroom was badly looked after and there was a black hole in the roof.

The only thing that really saved this hotel was the swimming pool. It's not big but it's quite and on a beautiful day in Krabi it's what we really needed. There is a bar located right by the pool however no one was manning it at any time so we never managed to order drinks.

The location is very good, right across the street are places to eat and drink, many shops and also tour agents to help with transport/activities.

The staff are friendly enough and for 3 nights it wasn't too bad but I'm sure there were many other options on the same street.

Room Tip: try avoid rooms facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#75 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ao Nang Beach Resort
Ao Nang Beach Resort
#72 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#34 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#15 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#53 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aonang President Hotel
Aonang President Hotel
#74 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Ao Nang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Ao Nang

Property: The Palace Ao Nang
Address: 208 M.2 Ao-Nang | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palace Ao Nang 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Palace Ao Nang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
The Palace Ao Nang Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing