We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel”
Review of Phranang Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phranang Place
Ranked #94 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Buurmalsen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here in the lowseason and they where rebuilding the place. The rooms are normally 1800 baht but we could stay here for 450 baht a night. Perfect deal.
The room is big with tv and aircon. But the aircon is a bit loud. The bathroom is good size.
They cleaned the room every day, unfortunely they gave us new towels but no new sheets. So after a couple of days it should have been nice to get new sheets. The staff is friendly.
It's 15 minutes walk from the beach and center. For the lowseason it's a good option but I wouldn't stay here in the high season. It's too expensive!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maartje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
15
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2011

No elevator for 4 level hotel. Try to avoid the 4th floor. No ordinary staircase, a steep boat-like staircase instead. Loads of insects, found a cockroach next to my bag and a million huge ants partying all over the room every night. Noisy aircon.
The bathroom was ok and the staff is friendly but that's not enough to make it a good place to stay.
The price seemed reasonable when we booked it but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. There are better options in the same price in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Ao Nang is surprisingly expensive when it comes to accommodation. I chose Phranang Place because it came recommended as a "value" option on a Krabi information website.

As mentioned in the previous post, the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the beach, but on a positive note, one of THE BEST family Thai restaurants is located right across the road from this hotel. Great food - I ate there just about every night.

I chose a Mountain View room. The room itself was "quaintly" furnished, with some pretty tired-looking furniture and worn carpet. And the cleanliness of the room was a bit below the standards I had enjoyed elsewhere in Thailand. To get to my room I had to walk up 2-3 flights of steep, external (outside) stairs - which got quite slippery in the rain. The view is non-existent - just the side of the mountain about 10 metres away. The breakfast was very basic, but that didn't bother me. In summary, this hotel is simply somewhere to leave your bags, have a shower, and sleep at night. Luxury rating = 1 out of 10.

The staff here were friendly and competent, and spoke English to an okay standard. Reception seemed to close pretty early at night - around 7pm. After that, there is a night-time guard. If you're travelling alone, the hotel is "guest friendly" if that is your thing.

Not sure I would stay here again. Would probably want somewhere closer to the beach, and for this price (~1400B/night) I am used to better than this in Thailand. But as I said, Ao Nang isn't cheap. But it is a wonderful relaxing place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Made_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

i met my Fiancee in Bangkok and flew to Krabi airport, where (pre-arranged for 600THB) the hotel met us and took us directly to check in.
first impressions were what great value for the price. we had mountain view room as it was quieter and away from the noise of the main road outside.
the staff were fab and oragnised all trips on our behalf, even the car hire. they were a wealth of information and were more than happy to do all they could. any question was answered either immediately or when we arrived back at the hotel.
breakfast was basic but alot of restaurants literally outside the hotel and all the way down to the beautiful beach. picture postcard. great location and freindly staff.
highly recommened and great to see all the staff on the beach at New Year!!

  • Liked — simple, clean and air condiitoning
  • Disliked — colour of the walls in the bathroom (being really picky)
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fazz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed here for 10 days over Christmas and New Year

It is not in Krabi itself but in Ao Nang which is an excellent diving centre with a lot of
restaurants and bars and great links to the Thai Islands such as Phi Phi whcih is only 45 mins by speedboat

The hotel itself is excellent value. The rooms were clean and had good on-suite bathrooms with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was basic but is included in price and was a good way to start the day. You could even have eggs cooked as you like!!

The best thing about the hotel was the staff. The reception were so helpful and arranged everything we needed and gave great advice as to where we should go and what we should see.

it's location is also excellent, situated only a couple of hundred yards from the beach and close to plenty of excellent bars and restaurants.

All in all an excellent choice if you are on a budget and want to stay in Ao Nang and visit the islands.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

The place that we stay is called Phranang Place. It is a 4 storey bldg with not more than 10 room units. We booked family unit for a family of 2 adults & 2 children. It has a big room, a clothing closet, a wash basin outside the toilet with hot water. the only problem we faced is it does not have any kettle but you can get hot water downstairs. It also has a balcony facing the street with eating & drinking shops. Beyond that, the famous cliffs.

The hotel does not have lift/s and staying on 3rd floor is just right for climbing. The hotel serve only morning breakfast with 4 way to cook an egg, freeflow of coffee/tea, bread & water only. You only get 1 glass of fresh orange juice. So, if you only stay for 4 days, try all.

The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the Aonang beach & Centre where you can engage any boat rides to the many Islands or day trip into the jungles, etc.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dimension9150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#47 of 108 in Ao Nang
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rooms Republic
Rooms Republic
#66 of 108 in Ao Nang
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Ao Nang
The Palace Ao Nang
#74 of 108 in Ao Nang
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Moon Bed & Breakfast Aonang
0.4 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#46 of 108 in Ao Nang
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#42 of 108 in Ao Nang
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranang Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranang Place

Property: Phranang Place
Address: 345 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranang Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Mini Hotel in Aonang! Situated on the main road of Ao Phranang ( Ao Nang ) , the Phranang Place is an ideal base for visitors who wish to relax and enjoy their holidays in quiet surroundings but within walking distance to the beach and the shopping and entertainment offered at Ao Phranang ( Ao Nang ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phranang Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranang Place Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing