We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is what you get. And it's good.”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #63 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get. And it's good.”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We selected this resort based on previous reviews (which were mostly positive) and the photos we saw on the Sunda website. The photos of rooms and facilities shown on their website was to our liking. And what you see in the website is also what you actually get.

Location
-----------
The resort is not along the busy main streets of Aonang. It is close to the Boxing Stadium. Apart from an independent restaurant outside the resort and Krabi Aquamarine Resort, we did not see anything else in the immediate vicinity of the resort. The location is on the quiet side, which is ideal for relaxation. The resort is surrounded by greens and this makes for a serene atmosphere. Getting around to Aonang and Nopparat Thara beach is no issue at all. The resort provides free transportation to these places and back (you have to call them). We bought a pre-paid SIM card for THB49 and it was enough for the 5 days we were there. We used the free transportation service very frequently since we had 3 children and found that the service was good and fuss free. The free transport runs from 8am to 9.30pm. After hours, tuk-tuk's from Aonang to the resort cost total of THB100, for 2 adults and 3 children.

Swimming Pools
--------------------
There are two swimming pools and during the time we were there (last week of Dec 2011), we often had the pool to ourselves. It was most satisfying to jump in the pool after a day of walking around or coming back from a day excursion. The pools go to a max depth of around 5 feet. But there are children areas at both pools which are fairly shallow. Resort provides pool/beach towels and guests are allowed to take these to the beach or on day excursions to the islands. You can get these at the reception. Just do not lose them, you will be required to pay for lost towels.

Breakfast
------------
Our room rate came with breakfast. There was cut fruits, cereal, muesli, salad, fried eggs, sausages, slices of meat (chicken?), fried rice, fried noodles, porridge, pancakes, french toast, mix vegetables, yoghurt, buns, croissants, sliced bread, an omelette station, milk, coffee, tea, water, and 2 types of fruit juice. Breakfast runs from 7-10am.
Take note of a sign at the entrance of the resort restaurant: alcohol is not permitted in the restaurant.
The resort restaurant is halal, which will appeal to Moslem guests.

Rooms
---------
Rooms were clean and comfortable. We slept well. Beds were equipped with duvets (instead of standard blankets), which added to the comfort level. TV is small, CRT type. Some cable channels are available (example: Star Movies, BBC, sports channel etc). Rooms come with a fridge, kettle and a small safe (too small to keep a laptop, but suitable for cash, passport and compact cameras).
Canal room comes with a fairly generous balcony. Balcony is facing the canal and surrounded by trees.
For the canal room bathroom, the photos (on the resort website) seems to indicate that it is an open shower. However, it is fully closed. Part of the ceiling is translucent material, letting sunshine in and giving the illusion of an open shower. Nice concept. Simple but works.

Wifi
-----
Wifi comes complimentary with the room. The wifi service was good, fast enough for Youtube and the likes.
If you did not bring your laptop, or any other internet enabled device, there is a desktop computer at the reception area. It is free for resort guests. You can also print from this desktop computer. First 3 pages are free. After that, the resort charges THB15 for each additional page.

Overall this is a pleasant and comfortable resort. Environment is peaceful and there is a "feel good" factor. Staff are friendly and genuine. No reason why I will not come back.

Room Tip: Canal rooms have nice balconies. Balconies are overlooking the canal, so in general you have slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travel_no_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    202
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
164
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Went to Sunda in NOV. Requested for an extra bed of which was already prepared when we arrived. Spacious and clean rooms. 5 mins away from ao nang beach, a great resort to be in with its forest feeling. Convenient shuttle service to Ao nang. Night time, u can sit by e pool and stargaze away. Pool view room a must! Friendly staff who were accomodating. Rectified the wifi Issue almost immediately. Will be back definitely, for the beach, the pleasant resort as well as the pancakes~.

Room Tip: Pool room a must if u like to stay in the resort and chill ur morning away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank up15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Spend two nights at Sunda after 12 nights in Ko Lanta. One night here costed 500 bahts more than our excellent accommodation (Long Beach Chalet) there, and we did expect s lot more. It's not a four star place for this price, more like two.
So what was wrong? First: cleaniness. The room was close to filthy. Slapped mosquitoes on the walls, tabs very dirty, curtains dirty. They do wash the floor, but do not manage to maintain overall cleaniness.
Secondly: VERY poor breakfast when it's 500 bahts more per night per room with breakfast. Coffeepot was so filthy you could not see trough it. Cold stuff like youghurt is just there with no cooling at all, fruits look like cut two days earlier. Hot stuff is lukewarm. If you must stay here, eat out!
Location is away from all, but the free minivan is nice. It's only till 9.30 pm though.
I did not quite get why anyone would choose Ao Nang overall, since it's beaches are rather poor and the place is rather touristy. And it's pretty pricey with the accomodation. Do go to Khao Lak or Ko Lanta instead, both very relaxed and beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNNY SOUTHPORT
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

we just stayed a couple of days on way to ko lanta. hotel was fine, good rooms and transport into town when required. two swimming pools and rooms a good size. thje only downside was a poor breakfast and staff who did not keep on top of the job, stocking up and clearing away. we enjoyed ao nang pl;easantly surprised and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CONWAY177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We booked this hotel for one night and ended up staying for five. We really enjoyed our time here and would return. Although the hotel is in a very quiet location and out of town, it does not matter. There is a hotel free taxi into the town which takes 5 minutes and the return journey is only around 60 THB.
The resort is set in nature and is something rather different. It is not luxury but comfortable, clean and has character. We received a very warm welcome from the two hotel cats and they were regular visitors to our room to say hello. We had our washing/ironing done for a really good price and was pleased with the result. There is free internet next to reception and the hotel grounds are peaceful. There is a also a pleasant swimming pool.
The downsides are the breakfast, which is not worth the money as the quality is not great (better eating in town). The cats and lizards enjoyed it more than we did! The hotel bar does not serve alcohol, although you can bring your own. I received a lift from a member of staff to the local off licence. The staff English is limited and there were communication issues on many occcasions. For example it was easier to book our extended stay on the internet next to reception rather than via the reception desk. For the price of the room (1,500 TBH) it was good value and we would come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Absolutely decent place to stay. Without the free tuk tuk service to Aonang anytime you want, it might be a thumb down due to its location which is far from city and beach(tourist attraction). you can always go to reception and ask for transport and 10 mins is all they ask!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azeL_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

If you like the idea of being in a bunglow in the country then you'll like this place. The grounds are beautifully kept and while the 'river' was more a dmp ditch while I was there (March) I'm sure it's a bit more impressive at wetter times of year. The staff are fantastically friendly and the free Tuk-tuk service to and from Ao Nang comes in very handy.

The rooms are very large, clean and bright and come with big private verandas. I loved the indoors outdoor bathroom that came with frequent visitors of the froggy kind. There are downsides. Ao Nang is a Moslem area and this particular hotel is dry so you'll need to buy and bring your own (cheaper anyway). The rooms have a fridge, though, so you can keep your Singha beer nice and cool. They also have kettles so brits like me can make lashings of proper tea on demand.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boroughbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#41 of 108 in Ao Nang
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#47 of 108 in Ao Nang
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#57 of 108 in Ao Nang
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#72 of 108 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#32 of 108 in Ao Nang
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#24 of 108 in Ao Nang
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Property: Sunda Resort
Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing