We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a group of 6 for 3 nights”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 9 January 2013

During high season, it can be hard to find a good place to stay for a reasonable price in the area, so we were happy to find Sunda. For about $230/person, we had 3 rooms for 3 nights, 3 breakfasts, 1 lunch, 1 dinner, 1 trip to Koh Phi Phi, airport pick up from Krabi airport, and airport drop off at Phuket airport. The Resort has a free shuttle service all day into the late evening to Ao Nang. There are other restaurants and resorts within walking distance. The grounds are beautiful - very wooded and quiet, though you can hear the mosque next door when it calls to prayer. Fortunately for the 5am prayer, if you have your AC in your room on, you can't hear anything (or at least we couldn't). The rooms are clean with great linens, AC, tv, fridge, kettle with tea/coffee, 2 bottles of water/day, fast wifi, and an adequate hot water shower. It's an "indoor/outdoor" bathroom common in these parts, so expect some bugs and not Western-style bathroom. No booze sold or allowed in the restaurant, but we had some in our room without any issues. The 1 dinner we ate was really delicious - spicy and great variety. Breakfast was a large spread of both Eastern and Western choices. We left very early in the morning (pre-breakfast) for our departing flight, and they packed us breakfasts to go, which was very nice. Overall, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights during Christmas 2012. Krabi was full so the choice of hotels was very limited. I found the pricing a bit steep for what they offer, even though it was Christmas and this is the highest season of the year. The rooms were ok, the swimming pool rather small but the garden was nice. The breakfast was on the very cheap side but I did not expect too much anyway. I would stay in a different place if I would have the choice next time. The reception staff was very nice and I liked it that they give you beach towels to borrow when you go to the islands.

Room Tip: Stay at the back end since it's more quiet and nobody passes by your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cape068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The basics of the hotel are excellent! The check in process was quick and easy and the staff were professional.

The room was more than adequate and had all modern facilities as you would need including air con, fridge (with free water daily), wifi and satellite tv.

The pool was great and the free shuttle transfers are a real bonus.

The only one thing I would suggest would be to have a better shower, but that is a minimal worry!

Very much so recommended. I am here with two friends for a Christmas holiday break.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I was there with some friends. We booked the hotel through airasiago (or you can book it from booking.com) 2 weeks before the trip and got a pretty good deal. One chalet only costed us RM80 per night which is considered super cheap. We were served with a welcome drink upon arrival and were given keys to the rooms. The rooms are very spacious and clean with free wifi. We had some problems with one of the safes in the cupboard and the friendly staff came over straight away and fixed it for us.

Transportation is fairly convenient. They provide free tuk tuk rides(big ones which can fit more ppl unlike the 2 seater ones in bangkok) to the Ao Nang street which is less than 5 mins away. Call the hotel any time before 10pm and they will send you back to the hotel.

They have different prices for rooms facing the garden and the swimming pool. Of course those facing the pools are more expensive but the pools are just a small walk away from our chalets so that didn't really bother us.

The good thing and also bad thing about this hotel is, its further off from the street. Compared to other hotels which are just walking distance from the Ao Nang street, you will definitely need a ride to the hotel and the road to the hotel is extremely dark and deserted, which is also a good thing because you can have a good night's sleep without noises from the night life on the streets.

Overall, RM80 a night for a stay like this is really a steal. We really enjoyed our stay there!

Room Tip: Whether the room is facing the garden (cheaper) or facing the pool doesnt really matter because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takayaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Had been to sunda in september with my friends for a vacation. Its a pleasant place, cool, calm and something which one would like to have for a vacation.
The beach is near by, so no hassles as they have the free tuk tuk service.
You can also rent a bike, if you'd like to for a small amount.
Also, the staff is very friendly, the smiles on their face just remove your tiredness after a long journey one takes to reach there from any part of the world.
Even not being well versed with engligh, they made sure all our needs were understood and catered to in the best possible way.
We being pure vegetarians, were served veg food and the food was awesome, the hospitality excellent.
Next time I visit thailand its going to be sunda once again.
The place is not expensive and its best for the money infact more value.

Room Tip: Any rooms would do. All rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiteshBid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

this is one of the best hotel service i had. from free shuttle service, internet, free calls, bell-boy, reception - everything. it is oddly located somewhere (i forgot where) but they provide free shuttle service to ao nang and nopparat thara beach - which is very convenient. the pools were just okay and the view is so-so. shower is poorly designed and it leaks to bathroom is always wet after every shower. the ambiance was very nature-y and it was well maintained - even have wild lizards roaming around the canal which is good if you are a fan of nature. may probably be the best hotel service in krabi.

Room Tip: make use of their free shuttle service to ao nang and nopparatthara beach. ao nang to shop, nopparat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddefinition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Had been to Krabi for 3 nights and Sunda was an ideal choice - Its a 45 mins drive from Krabi airport and its set apart from the bustling Ao Nang Beach in calm, natural surroundings.
Despite not being very well versed with English, the staff were very warm and hospitable and all our needs were catered to.

Our package included breakfast which decent- not really the best but definitely not bad at all. The hotel has a number of cottages with clean ,well maintained rooms and a couple of swimming pools to go along with it. The best part about the across would definitely be its location- surrounded by lot of vegetation (it also has a small stream that runs across the resort) and its staff, who serve you with a smile.

Guests get a free pick up and drop shuttle facility (upto 9.30 pm) to the two beaches of Ao Nang and Naparathara which are both a 10 min drive away.
U can get bikes for rent from Sunda too @ 200 Baht a day which is convenient but you pay a bit more than what you can get elsewhere.
We also booked all our sightseeing trips to James Bond Island, Phi Phi etc from the Resort itself and the Biba - the receptionist, helped us get a good discount as well.

We also got a number of useful tips from Tanya,the manager @ Sunda on stuff to do at Bangkok which was our next destination. Overall , Sunda is definitely a recommended place to stay in Krabi!

Room Tip: Just make sure you have a good amount of natural light coming in - sometimes due to the vegetation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#48 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#46 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#61 of 111 in Ao Nang
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 111 in Ao Nang
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £29 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing