We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #59 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My friend and i stayed in this hotel from 9th-14th March, pool view with connecting door for my daughter and her boyfriend. It is in the most beautiful setting, so green and welcoming. The staff were extremely friendly, if you smile at them they smile back even if they dont understand everything that you are saying.The rooms are spacious and clean, the toilet/shower area was quirky. It was so quiet and i had the best and most relaxed mothers day every, just chilling in the pool (and i hate water). Even the call to prayer managed to have a calming influence on us. We never had breakfast, we made our own tea in the room and brought in some biscuits but the lunch was great, big portions and cheap. The fruit juices were also fantastic, i think the fact that there is no alcohol served is a good thing.The free shuttle to the resort was much appreciated and we nearly always got a tuk tuk back, which was only 30 bahts each. So all those that complained about having to use their mobiles to call for the shuttle, firstly they should have used a thai sim that was free and you could top up with as little as 50baht or just pay the tuk tuk driver and stop moaning. The shuttle is used by all of the resort residents so you may well have to wait 15 minutes or more to use it. We were so gutted when we had to leave, my daughter stayed on for another night, she has lived and worked in Thailand so the fact that she loved it too speaks volumes about the resort. Will definately go back again.

Room Tip: Has to be a pool room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    201
    61
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
163
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

was here from 10-13 march , a great experience overall.
the hospitality of the staff is far better than one you get in 3 star properties in thailand.
the rooms were clean and well made , excellent housekeeping service . the atmosphere of the place is chilled out and relaxing , after a long day at the beach , the small pool serves a good place to hang out at .
we only had breakfast here and was quite decent.
tuk tuk service to ao nang was promt and quick.
great stay and recommended for all budget travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARCHANATALREJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stay at Sunda was pleasant. Krabi is a lovely place & this was quite close to Ao nang town & had a shuttle that could drop you & pick you up easily. I loved the green surroundings & the cottage feel for our room. Loved having tea in the morning sitting outside our Garden view room. Check in took a bit of time & the shower area in the bathroom & the shower was uncomfortable. They have tried to make the shower area with rocks & with a frog pond look, though its a cute idea, its not great to have a shower. Otherwise, loved the greenery around the room & the convenience of location.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are nice and green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShilpaAppaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

What I liked:
Our large pool side room, the pool and the free in-suite wifi that worked well.

What I did not like:
Somewhat unfriendly front desk staff. They could work on their smiles and demeanor.
The breakfast buffet was only ok, and often cold.
Location is a bit far from the beach but the free shuttle was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Here's our review after spending three night here:

Location: A little far out from Ao Nang which is the beach front and quite a long way from Krabi Town but still within walking distance from the markets and shops and the resort provides a free shuttle to the beach fronts and shops. Free shuttle but you have to ring on your own mobile to be picked-up which can be costly and a bit of a problem as the staff don't speak English very well. On one occasion it took me three calls and over an hour wait before we were picked up.
Facilities: Nice room with all the usual facilities and the al fresco bathroom was a nice touch, so was the pool as it was right in front of our unit.
Room size: Quite large and very comfortable.
Staff: Most were relatively friendly but the front desk can be rather abrupt depending on their mood.
Cleanliness: Ok
Cost: Reasonable
Recommendation: Recommended so long as you remember that you'll need to ring on your own phone for a pick-up from town. Forget the breakfast, below average and they appear reluctant to top up when things go low on the buffet table. Tried it once, never again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed 5 days here.
Out of Ao Nang central but there is a Hotel mini-bus taxi service until 9.30pm. Cheap to get Tuk-tuk back to hotel (60 baht). We enjoyed the rurality of the resort, not a hotel feel which is what we were after.
There are two pools, a family one and smaller private one. We had the latter to ourselves and felt like our own pool!! Rooms were spacious and lovely open air bathroom. Breakfast had a good choice. Only query we had was Thais appeared to be allowed to take food back to their room but we noticed Westerners were not (not that it bothered us).

Warm welcoming and an enjoyable stay. I would bother going to the beach on Ao Nang, try the local beach and a walk along to the pier is highly recommended at sunset.

Overall a well established resort and would stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrysoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Overall a nice place to stay, nice location, peaceful, two 7.11 shops within easy walking distance, plus Thai boxing stadium close by again walking distance, both swimming pools were cleaned and maintained. Reception staff helpful, drivers always fun and smiling, cleaning staff could do with a little push, not the best. and i would reccomend not to pay for the breakfast in advance certainly not the best ( and we are not fussy eaters) if there are not alot of people staying at the hotel you can get a menu (very limited) cooked fresh however if the hotel is full there is a buffet breakfast and all food was cold! although it had burners underneath they were never alight to keep the food warm, if you ask for freshly cooked eggs every morning, they are fine with this just explain you dont like cold food. as we stayed for 18 days we missed quite a few breakfasts that we had already paid for, however the hotel overall is a good base and we would definatly go back and reccomend but would not pay for the breakfast, in saying this we ate there at night twice when we had a storm and food was lovely, it is a muslim run hotel so no alcohol allowed with your meal but we had a couple on the balcony, Tanya the manager is very friendly and always there to offer advice, All in all a good hotel, and would def go back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moetbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.3 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#12 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#25 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.8 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#14 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#21 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#32 of 105 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#35 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Property: Sunda Resort
Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing