We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The resort is in a lush green garden setting surrounded by a couple of fishponds, palms, rice paddies and a pandanus plantation. It was the rainy season and every night we feel asleep to a chorus of frog calls. It has two lovely swimming pools. We had a Canal Side room which was spacious and clean. In terms of location it was a little bit isolated however the hotel makes up for this by offering free transfers to and from central Ao Nang. We visited the hotel in the low season so we didn't ever have to wait long to be dropped off or collected from Ao Nang.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Me and my friends check in on May 22 until 24, 2013. We were exhausted for having almost 13 hours journey by train. Sunda Resort's receptionist treated us kindly and so friendly. We also having some credit card initialization problems, and they tolerate with us for payment during check out. The welcome drink also very tasty and tempting. We love the breakfast also. So nice but need to improve for the portion.

Other than that, they also provide us free shuttle to Ao Nang and to the beach. Its good to get suggestion from the staff on muslims restaurant, for snorkeling and island trip agent.

The room was so nice, cooling and fit to my request as for close to nature. My garden view room was closed to the swimming pool and near to the lobby as well the hotel restaurant.

It is not suggested to walk to Ao Nang from this hotel because the route were so dark at night. Took the tuk-tuk, its cheap per person and feel the experience on tuk-tuk. Overall, I'm happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123fNAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My friend and i stayed in this hotel from 9th-14th March, pool view with connecting door for my daughter and her boyfriend. It is in the most beautiful setting, so green and welcoming. The staff were extremely friendly, if you smile at them they smile back even if they dont understand everything that you are saying.The rooms are spacious and clean, the toilet/shower area was quirky. It was so quiet and i had the best and most relaxed mothers day every, just chilling in the pool (and i hate water). Even the call to prayer managed to have a calming influence on us. We never had breakfast, we made our own tea in the room and brought in some biscuits but the lunch was great, big portions and cheap. The fruit juices were also fantastic, i think the fact that there is no alcohol served is a good thing.The free shuttle to the resort was much appreciated and we nearly always got a tuk tuk back, which was only 30 bahts each. So all those that complained about having to use their mobiles to call for the shuttle, firstly they should have used a thai sim that was free and you could top up with as little as 50baht or just pay the tuk tuk driver and stop moaning. The shuttle is used by all of the resort residents so you may well have to wait 15 minutes or more to use it. We were so gutted when we had to leave, my daughter stayed on for another night, she has lived and worked in Thailand so the fact that she loved it too speaks volumes about the resort. Will definately go back again.

Room Tip: Has to be a pool room
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank jacqui2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

was here from 10-13 march , a great experience overall.
the hospitality of the staff is far better than one you get in 3 star properties in thailand.
the rooms were clean and well made , excellent housekeeping service . the atmosphere of the place is chilled out and relaxing , after a long day at the beach , the small pool serves a good place to hang out at .
we only had breakfast here and was quite decent.
tuk tuk service to ao nang was promt and quick.
great stay and recommended for all budget travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARCHANATALREJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stay at Sunda was pleasant. Krabi is a lovely place & this was quite close to Ao nang town & had a shuttle that could drop you & pick you up easily. I loved the green surroundings & the cottage feel for our room. Loved having tea in the morning sitting outside our Garden view room. Check in took a bit of time & the shower area in the bathroom & the shower was uncomfortable. They have tried to make the shower area with rocks & with a frog pond look, though its a cute idea, its not great to have a shower. Otherwise, loved the greenery around the room & the convenience of location.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are nice and green...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShilpaAppaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What I liked:
Our large pool side room, the pool and the free in-suite wifi that worked well.

What I did not like:
Somewhat unfriendly front desk staff. They could work on their smiles and demeanor.
The breakfast buffet was only ok, and often cold.
Location is a bit far from the beach but the free shuttle was appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Here's our review after spending three night here:

Location: A little far out from Ao Nang which is the beach front and quite a long way from Krabi Town but still within walking distance from the markets and shops and the resort provides a free shuttle to the beach fronts and shops. Free shuttle but you have to ring on your own mobile to be picked-up which can be costly and a bit of a problem as the staff don't speak English very well. On one occasion it took me three calls and over an hour wait before we were picked up.
Facilities: Nice room with all the usual facilities and the al fresco bathroom was a nice touch, so was the pool as it was right in front of our unit.
Room size: Quite large and very comfortable.
Staff: Most were relatively friendly but the front desk can be rather abrupt depending on their mood.
Cleanliness: Ok
Cost: Reasonable
Recommendation: Recommended so long as you remember that you'll need to ring on your own phone for a pick-up from town. Forget the breakfast, below average and they appear reluctant to top up when things go low on the buffet table. Tried it once, never again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#48 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maleedee Bay Resort
Maleedee Bay Resort
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#36 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#46 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#61 of 111 in Ao Nang
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
Anyavee Ao Nang Bay Resort
#58 of 111 in Ao Nang
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: £29 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing