We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, breakfast poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #60 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, breakfast poor”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a pool room bungalow, and got a room that you could just see the pool.
The pool near our room was closed for a day, it looked very dirty, I asked at reception and they didn't know it was closed - they directed me to the other pool, which was lovely, the water was a great temperature and very peaceful.
The breakfast was awful, the tables were filthy, food cold, and not replenished when empty, tea and coffee were on for hours and both tasted horrible.
The good thing about this resort is the free transfers and pick ups around the area, although it was 600 baht to the airport, which is the standard taxi fare too.
Staff were pleasant enough.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank finandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    202
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
164
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
176 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Great value and location. Transportation provided to two beaches, Ao nang and Nontharrat, which were 5 minutes away. Really nice bungalows with 2 pristine pools. In this area, you can't beat the price. Booked 2 nights and ended up staying 4. Loved it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank postal49740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Sunda with 2 elderly ladies and my 5yr old son for 5days 4nites. My mum & aunt loved the fact that the resort serves halal food & they can hear the prayer call. The resort layout is like a kampong-style, surrounded by greenery. So serene, so peaceful. The pool was ok, not so crowded. The food was ok. Breakfast not much choice but we are not fussy eater. There is a free shuttle that is vy efficient. Will pick you up frm anywhere. One of the staff helped me arrange for a 1 day trip to the Emerald pool & hot spring and dropped us at a night market opp the mosque as per our request. The 1 prob we had was 1 of our rm was infested with ants but the staff rectified the prob. I will definetely come back to Sunda if i'm travelling with elderly. But if it is just my family, i prefer to stay at one of the islands.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank quesera18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just got back from Krabi, we stayed at Sunda Resort Ao Nang Krabi.

As soon as we reached, we had a warm welcome from the staff and offered us a chill welcome drink.
After the check-in formalities we were directed to our rooms.

The support staff are very friendly and kind. They make us feel like home away from home. Every detail is explained, and they have the patience to listen and answer any number of queries you may have.

The room was clean, well maintained. They have a unique design to the wash room, the bath area is cemented.

There is a little sit-out for you to relax.

The restaurant offers Thai food and the food is Halal. The food prices are reasonable and very tasty.

The ambiance is perfect for a holiday. Quite and calm place at a very reasonable price. Rooms are cleaned every day.

Ao-Nang beach is around 1km and they have free transfer to the beach and pick up to 9:30 pm. That was a very nice and friendly gesture for the guests.

The tours are arranged from the hotel itself at a discounted price from what you see in the brochures. The tour guide picks us up from the hotel and drop us back.

I would give ***** for the entire experience. Made my holiday even more pleasurable.

If you are planning a visit to Krabi then I strongly recommend Sunda Resorts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anandz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guymon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We started our stay at some VERY remote beach bungalows and couldn't take it anymore so we last minute booked this place. It is about 10 minutes from Ao Nang, so it may seem remote for some, but we had rented scooters and could easily get to and from town. The rooms were very clean, and the resort was quite pretty. We had a poolside room, and the pool was great! Water was warm and there were lots of friendly guests staying there. The only downfall is that it is a Muslim-run resort so you cannot buy any alcohol there at all. You will need to bring in some if you want to have it. Also, if you are used to 5 star lodging, this may not be for you, but we thought it was a giant step up from hostels and no electricity beach bungalows. I would most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay by the pool! It is nice and it's a little further away from the mosque where they have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassi Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in October. Accommodation is in individual detached chalets all set in abundant tropical green foliage, with pedestrian access on raised wooden walkways, all this gives a very natural, tropical feel, and somewhat refreshing despite the heat. there are 2 on site swimming pools which were clean, modern and well presented and very child friendly.
The chalets were light and airy, very well presented with all necessary facilities.
Housekeeping was to a high standard, bed linen changed every 2 days, towels daily. A nice touch was the folding/arranging of the towels into bird or fish shapes, such as swans or dolphins.
A kettle is provided with coffee and sugar as well soft drinks in the small fridge. (no alcoholic is provided as this is a muslin run resort).
The beds are large and very comfortable , the bathroom is well appointed with a power shower, no bath. No water pressure problems.
The resort gives a real ambience of peace and quiet at all times.
The staff are very happy and helpful and speak English to an understandable degree (just).
Breakfast is plentiful but not a lot of choice, other meals more varied but a bit pricy for what you get.
The resort is rather isolated requiring transport to and from Ao Nang, which is provided free , up till 10pm, after which tuk tuk or taxi hire is needed, however, this is very cheap and only some 5 mins from Sunda resort.
Access to all surrounding places including the many islands such as Phi Phi is cheap and regular.
I found a day and evening in Ao Nang was enough to see it all, it is very touristy and commercialised, the beach was ok but a bit narrow at high tide. The far end gave access to a 'Monkey walk' via a very dodgy, and rickety wooden walkway to a neighbouring private beach with one very expensive and private hotel there on. If one is adventurous enough to do this walk, beware, you need to be very fit and energetic, it's a very precarious route and very very steep in places. There are no facilities on this private beach, but the scenery is well worth the effort, if one is able enough.It's about a third of a mile and will take some 45 mins each way.
Nearby Krabi is a great little town which has a lot to offer, ideal for shopping and meandering around taking in the atmosphere of yet another little bit lovely Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happyexplorer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopron, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Well, I have searched a lot to find a good 4 starts hotel in Aonang and I am very very happy to have finally found this 3 stars hotel. I was thinking about booking for our first 6 nights this hotel and for the last 6 nights the Aonang Cliff View Resort, but after our first 6 nights we have decided to remain here. It has a perfect location, tuk-tuk to bring you each day to the main 2 beaches near( Nopparattara Beach and Aonang Beach) few minutes drive, nice staff, clean rooms, quite and you have that feeling that you live in a jungle (due to luxuriant vegetation and lot of birds singing)...so it was for me and my husband a perfect stay and I recommend it 100%. Just tried the breakfast once and I did not repeat it, but anyway with the possibilities you have to eat in Aonang you do not need any breakfast in the hotel ( coffee, tea, water you get anyway for free each day from the hotel). Book Sunda resort and you will not regret it !! Oana and Camil, Hungary/Austria

Room Tip: choose the Canal side room, nice view from the room's terrace and more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oana36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#9 of 107 in Ao Nang
284 reviews
0.8 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#28 of 107 in Ao Nang
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#33 of 107 in Ao Nang
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#35 of 107 in Ao Nang
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#15 of 107 in Ao Nang
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Property: Sunda Resort
Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing