We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & Humble”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #62 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cozy & Humble”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A very humble place with great service and helpful staff. Quite remote from the main tourist area in Ao Nang, but there's free shuttle service so I don't see any problems with this.

The resort is nestled in the jungle so the surrounding was quiet and peaceful. The pool was small but nonetheless lovely, with jacuzzi and a children's pool too!

I would recommend this resort to those who seek a peaceful night of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    202
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
164
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Hello together,
Here you find a very beautiful and nice resort! The Thais are really friendly, the bungalows are so beautiful! Well prepared for a relaxing holiday! The area has 2 pools and is full of fruit trees!

The hotel is not near the center, but you have a free shuttle from the resort! The center is very noisy and stressy! It is good that the hotel is a little bit far away!

Nice stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bylile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

It reminded me of a jungle and in the night you could listen to lots of different animal noises and try to figure out what it was
The resort has two swimmingpools and free ride to the beach, which was nice.. I would stay there again..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at Sunda Resort for 7-nights in February 2014.
The staff where very helpful and the check in was friendly.
The hotel is located in a very quite area and a free Tuk Tuk is available
between 8.00am and 9.30pm.
We used the Tuk Tuk to go out and mostly walked back we didn't find this to far.
The hotel is surrounded in beautiful green plants and is very peaceful.
We did not take breakfast at the hotel and neither did many others.
The bathrooms could do with a good tidy up and better décor.
We stayed in a Garden Room away from the swimming pool

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

As part of our Andaman Sky holiday, we staying at the Sunda Resort. This resort is a little far away from the hustling and bustling of the Ao Nang crowd. We love it because it feeling like we living in the forest in the middle of nowhere. The staff are very friendly and serviceable. The breakfast here is not the best and I would avoid. Other than that, the rooms are clean, the place is quiet, except for the Mosque. But we used to it, so it does not bother us. Also, note that the resort is Muslim owned so they not selling any alcohol. But they don't be mind if we bring our own. Nice place if you are on mid range budget and want to be away from all the noise.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nigetravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a very comfortable, very well made and maintained bungalow style resort. If you want a comfortable place as a base whilst visiting the area this is a good choice. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and there is an excellent FREE shuttle service to the nearby beaches. If you stay after the last shuttle (9:30 pm) a tuk tuk costs just 60 baht.
The only downside we found was that there was no bar at the hotel. However the room had a fridge and we enjoyed our own wine on the balcony.
The bungalows are solid, secure and se in very pleasant gardens as are the swimming pools.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkish_Hotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A good hotel and not very expensive. The bungalows with terrace are nice and very clean and the swimming pool is beautiful and relaxing. The hotel is not very far from the beach. We spent there some relaxing days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#39 of 108 in Ao Nang
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#71 of 108 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#44 of 108 in Ao Nang
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#31 of 108 in Ao Nang
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#23 of 108 in Ao Nang
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#57 of 108 in Ao Nang
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Property: Sunda Resort
Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing