We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunda Resort
Ranked #62 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
tenerife
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2008

every traveller may know that there is nothing more rewarding in ones holiday than friendly, helpful, smily staff. this is what you will find at sunda.
we were so kindly and patiently treated that i have no means to thank them.

besides their wonderful staff, the resort is excellently located 5min away from all the lights and shops in ao nang. sunda offers tuk tuk service all day long which is very helpful to get anywhere you want at any time.

rooms are clean and ok with a little great covered shower surrounded by plants and views to trees canopy.it is very green and lush, ok swimming pool and great breakfast. absolutely recommendable. enjoy!

  • Liked — unbeatable staff
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    202
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
52
164
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed in Sunda resort 5 days. Sunda resort was great to us. The valuye for money was outstanding. Very clean, new bungalos, well equiped, breakfast was OK. While there were few guests in the hotel we were getting a restaurant-like service for breakfast. In general, service was always excellent.

Now, the cons
1) 1st and foremost, I do not recommned Ao Nang Nopparattara or central beaches. Better to go to Railay Bay, ir even better to switch Krabi for something else Phi-Phi, Samui or Phuket. Not only my DSLR camera was stallen on Ao Nang Nopparattara beach, but also the beach is a sort of wild, near the road and with no beach infrastructure.
2) Sunda is far for the sea shore, 10-15 minutes walk. Add another 10 minutes walking to get to restaurants and shopping and massage area. Tuk-tuk will take you for 20 thb per person each way.
3) Sunbeds at the pool were missing sun umbrellas and the pool inself was rather small.

  • Liked — New, clean, excellent service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IvanFromSpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

We weren't expecting the resort to be so far from the beach, and felt a little hesitant, on getting out of our sidecar tuk tuk. But we were greeted with a delightful smiling receptionist, who knew our names and was expecting us....even though I thought I had only tentatively booked in!
The resort was only a few months old, and the garden is still being established. With only 30 units, it is small and intimate. The staff are absolutely wonderful, and caring. We chose a room backing on to the "canal" with a lovely outdoor covered in pergola and seating. Opposite our front door was the swimming pool.
For most of our week's stay, we had the resort to ourselves, and enjoyed leaving the drapes open looking out at the rainforest to the canal. The night sounds clacking and chirping, and who knows what else, was wonderful. Truly a little bit of paradise.
The staff could not do enough for us, and we could eat in our room, or in the restaurant.
We shouldn't have worried about being too far from the beach, or the town of Ao Nang, because our tuk tuk was available at any time of day or night, for only 20 baht per person. If that wasn't available, the staff ordered one from town to come and get us. We loved Ao Nang, especially after having been to Patong, where we were harassed by touts on exiting our resort there. Everything was reasonably priced (unlike Patong) - transport, food, gifts. We were able to get people to understand us quite well, as most has a sprinkling of English.
We would highly recommend this delightful resort if you want a quiet holiday, not far from the crowds. (Although in mid May - it was without many tourists, possibly because it is the rainy season!!!) We did get rain, but it made lying on the bed reading and looking out at the rainforest even more pleasant.
Forgot to mention the towels - every day we had fresh linen, and the towels were displayed in shapes of elephants or swans - so beautiful. And the bathroom was amazing - the shower floor was stone stepping stones, with pebbles in between, and the roof was partly clear perspex which allowed the rain in to water the shrubs at the end of the shower.
All in all - a reasonably priced resort, so different from the normal hotel type of resort, with lovely staff and great food.

  • Liked — New facilities, friendly staff, ease to town, swimming pool outside bungalow, great service, big room, beautiful towel arrangements, looking out to rainforest!!!
  • Disliked — Rainy season, staff not understanding at times what we needed, distance from beach (except the weather was bad so it didn't matter)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank EmailQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Me and my 2 other friends were all excited when we reached beautiful Krabilast week! The entire trip became even sweeter and memorable with the hospitality of the wonderful people in Sunda resort. The nice and clean chalet and not to mention its heavenly delicious and tasteful food straight from the kitchen, which made us feel like home! And with the 5 days stint in the resort, we were really attached to its friendly people and awesome surrounding.. We wish to be there again and meet the beautiful friends and instant family we have made there! Bravo Sunda Resort and you have have really made our vacation worthwhile! ~~Nora, Zalina & Zila, Kuala Lumpur Malaysia ~~

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

If you are going to Krabi we would recommend this place! Its great, the staff is so warm and helpful with everything.
You really feel welcomed there.

We have been in Krabi several times before, and always stayed near AoNang, and as we always rent a motorbike, we said; Hey lets stay a bit away from the crowd this year.
Excellent decision.
Great food, clean and nice pool.(a negative thing is that there isnt any shadow around the pool, but they have planted trees, so hopefully this problem is solved next year)
Very clean rooms. Excellent cleaning by staff every day, and safetybox available in each room.

We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. If you want to live next to the beach, maybe you shouldnt stay here, although its just like 10 min walk, and by motorbike(you can rent it at the hotel, or they can drive you by tuc tuc) its about 2 min. To Ao Nang its like 5 min.

The best beaches are though at the islands, and for those beaches you need to get there by boat anyway. We recommend to do a 4 islands Snorkeling trip(BY SPEED BOAT). We have almost done all the snorkeling trips and if you just are going to choose one; choose the 4 islands (phi phi, maya etc). The second best is the 4 island, Hong Islands. Great beaches.

We stayed at this hotel for about 6 nights and we loved it.
we thank the staff for all their help especially Don.

Priscilla and Johannes, Room 119.

  • Liked — Staff, rooms and pool
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2008

Had a great relaxing 3 nights and 4 days holiday in Krabi staying through from January 20th to 23rd at Sunda Resort.

Stayed at a relatively new resort located about 10 – 15 minutes leisure walk from Noppharat Beach but it could be a little dark at night as there no street lights to lead the way. However, on the night that we took a walk, there were a consistent flow of tourists who were doing the same in the same direction or vice versa.

Since it has only opened its doors for business in October, therefore the rooms were fresh and new laced with outdoors nature. Each room is tastefully coloured, simple setup and has a private balcony of it own for outdoor relaxation. The bathroom is constructed semi outdoor in which where the shower is located for guests to enjoy the morning glory with the birds chirping and the sound of insects could be clearly heard. Also found a toad in leaping around in the Bathroom on 3 ocassions.

The Buffet Breakfast served was relatively base that comprise of one Asian hot item of either fried rice or noodle, plain bread or toast, omelets and sunny top, sausages and turkey ham, a choice of 2 to 3 types of cereals and fresh fruits such as pineapples and watermelons. As for the beverages, there were coffee, tea, pineapple and orange juice to choose from.

I found this resort, thanks to sawadee.com as I happened to chance upon this new resort while I was using its website in early December searching for the most suitable accommodation for my Krabi trip in January.

Sunda Resort Staff were all very friendly and helpful in particular its Manager that was very fluent in Mandarin as they had helped with most of our tour and car rental arrangements despite being very last minute i.e. approximately an hour before 9am.

You will find this Resort simple with no frills but yet it provides the basic need for a good stay and not paying for the extras that you may not need during one of those short escapee!

However, upon my return I realized that the rate that I have paid for was much higher as the Resort has revised its rates downward for the same period due to lower occupancy. Fully understand that once a rate is committed when the booking was made earlier, we do not backtrack but the least the Resort could have done was to upgrade our rooms as a gesture of good will since the price we paid for was compatible to the better category rooms. Furthermore, we made our payment at Resort itself cum booking was also made directly through its Sales Office In Bangkok and rest assured the rooms were also available. I only realised of the lower rates as I revisited the website wanting to recommend it to my Borther who will be visiting Krabi this April!

  • Liked — The environment and setup.
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Canny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#39 of 108 in Ao Nang
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#72 of 108 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#30 of 108 in Ao Nang
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#21 of 108 in Ao Nang
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#20 of 108 in Ao Nang
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#45 of 108 in Ao Nang
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Property: Sunda Resort
Address: 19 Moo 3 | Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing