We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and great service too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moors Inn

The Moors Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Moors Inn is a traditional British pub with good food, served lunchtime and evening every day. All food is freshly prepared on the premises from fresh ingredients, and features traditional pub favourites like Steak and Mushroom Pie, Lamb Shank, Salmon Fishcakes, & Whitby Scampi. We also have a special's board with options such as Morrocan Lamb Tagine, Pheasant Casserole, or Trout baked with almonds. Our homemade puddings are delicious if you still have room! Dogs are welcome in our bar area, where the same menu is served as in the dining room. Children's portions & high-chairs are available, as well as special diets, please ask. We also offer set price menus for groups including free tea or coffee by pre-booking. Whether you are calling in for a pint and a bowl of chips or a sandwich or celebrating a special occasion with a 3 course dinner, we're here to help you enjoy it. We also offer B&B accommodation for a longer stay in 7 en-suite bedrooms.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the pub for one night, we had our evening meal there and then breakfast the next morning, a great selection of food to choose from, really tasty and home made! Excellent service too, so thoroughly enjoyable meals! We'll be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jane&matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The pub is situated in the quaint quiet village of Appleton le moors,when you walk in it is homely atmosphere.the staff are welcoming and polite,the menu is varied and there is something for everybody including a child's menu.the food is delicious and well presented.i thoroughly recommend it to everybody who maybe passing.i will definitely be going back soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
218 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely pub in lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited here for a welcome drink whilst out walking. Lovely friendly welcome and service which prompted us to book that evening for dinner.
Lovely dining room in restaurant. Interesting menu with lots of choices plus a specials board. All courses were good sized portions.
I chose the Lemon Dover sole with brown shrimp and garlic sauce which was served vegetables and potatoes of choice. I also had Creme brûlée to follow with a fruit and nut biscotti. Both courses were excellently presented and were very tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad-on-Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home made”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Walked from Sinnington early one evening with friends and two dogs. Made so welcome including dogs. Staff were so friendly and accommodating. We only wanted a starter and a sweet as my friend has terminal cancer and we tend to eat as suits him. The food was outstanding and obviously home made, even the ice cream. Thank you so much. Now considering coming back (just my wife an I plus dog) and staying at The Moors Inn for a week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank murphy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fandabidosi Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ate in the bar to accommodate our dog - loads of space and welcoming atmosphere. Plenty of choice on the menu for all courses. Service was very quick and food was scrumptious. Definitely recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loony_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moors Inn also viewed

Lastingham, North Yorkshire
Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Gillamoor, North Yorkshire
Wombleton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Moors Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing