We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Decameron Baru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Decameron Baru
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is great, the staff always give their best to suit your needs, and there are plenty of activities to do during the day!
If you want or need peace and love being surrounded by nature this is the place to be!
Only bad thing is that the all inclusive will probably mean some extra weight and the end of your trip

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,402
    1,078
    414
    154
    103
See reviews for
1,080
1,336
39
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corunna, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent resort, clean, beautiful grounds, excellent staff who would do anything for you and not stand there with their hand out. They taught us spanish and we taught them english. Food was good, a la cartes a little better, but staff at the Thai a la carte need to take lessons in keeping track of everything as they seemed very disorganized. Darlee, Maria, and Zami made our meals at the buffet special. Juan Pablo and Darnillo at pool #3 made our stay enjoyable. Bus ride to and from the resort is rough but entertaining. Lobby bar staff need to learn how to keep track of who to serve next and only serve a certtain area of the bar and not wander all over the place. We definitely will return.

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 are quieter and close to pool number 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TOM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the RD Baru ( April 5 - April 12 2012 ). I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who enjoys all inclusive, carribbean style vacations. We came across this resort by chance, and after some research decided to give it a try as it was different than your typical cuba, DR, Mexico and to add another pin to our travel map.

First - throw away all your preconceived notions you may have about Colombia as being "unsafe or scary". The city of Cartagena is as safe as any other major city .... felt safer there than Toronto. People are friendly, helpful, keep in mind vendors/sellers do approach you as they would any other carribbean destination, so after a few "no gracias" they will leave you alone.

Resort location - 1.5 hours from the airport. The road is not as bad as some people make it seem. They are working on paving the road, however there is a bumpy section. You get to see a taste of the real Colombia on the way. The bus does go on a barge across a river, only lasts about 5 minutes...and you can get off the bus and stand on the barge if you feel uncomfortable. The resort is far from everything, as its 1.5 hours from the city and nothing around it which is a positive if you like seclusion, however a negative if you want to go into the city.

Excursions - There is not too many options to choose from. There is a half day snorkel = 25$. A city tour ( by bus = 140 or by boat = 170) We did the city tour and it was well worth it as you get to see the old town, san felipe castillo, la popa, emerald factory and lunch included. downfall = no alcohol included and the tour guides cater to an "older" crowd and not much spunk for young people.excursions do no go every day, need a minimum people and other excursions were not english speaking.

Food - Typical buffet style food with buffet style quality , as 90 percent of the hotel is spanish guests ( colombia, peru, chile, argentina etc) food reflects that. However, the pastas, tacos, crepes, sushi stand one night , seafood jambalya, pork stuffed pig was good. Very very hard working people in the kitchen area. A la cartes - Asian was good, portions were small , we were hungry after. Italian was good and filling. Seafood restaurant was excellent - get the "grilled mixed seafood" you will not be disappointed. Lobster, calamari, mussels, shrimp was to die for.

Rooms - nice, big, clean, a/c, flat screen TVs, and the rooms did not smell musty. Blocks 1 and 2 are ocean front, blocks 3 and 4 near the quiet pool. Bocks 5 and6 were close to disco...and blocks 10 and 11 would not recommend as very very far from everything.

We enjoyed the layout of the resort as we are active people who enjoy excercise, However would not recommend for wheelchair/ people who require assistance walking. There is ALOT of stairs at this resort. The design is on different levels, you need to constantly walk up/down stairs as the beach, pool, bar, buffet, reception were all on different levels. and rooms were on different levels too.

Beach - water is blue, sand is brown. never had an issue finding a chair on the beach or by the pool.

Bar - recommend tipping at the bar. tipping goes a long long way. We had exceptional service by the "guy with the baseball hat". Very attentive, once we tipped - was always there to refresh our drinks , even ahead of everyone else ..who just kind of buin front of everyone and yell for service in spanish.

Not alot of people speak english here, maybe a few words. but at times was hard to communicate. However, they are extremely nice and attempt to try and understand.

overall, this resort was alot of fun. We had an excellent vacation and would recommend . We rated a 4 star for the amenitites/ excursions/ and a few downfalls such as you needed to pay for internet, not alot of stuff to buy in gift shop and was far ride from airport. however we had a 5 star time!!!

Room Tip: Try and stay in Blocks 1-4. Blocks 5/6 are loud near theatre until about 1130. blocks 9 and 10 are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Nic_Andy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Trip to hotel
- there were lots of complaints about the trip from the airport to the hotel but it’s not bad at all. All but 20 minutes is on paved roads, the 20 minutes that is on a gravel road has a ton of potholes and it’s very bumpy but the bus goes slow. The most interesting part is that you take a small barge across a river to Isla Baru. There are 2 spots to take the barge across we took one there and one going back. The barge is pulled by a little boat and the whole ride is less than 5 minutes.

Hotel
Check in was fast and our room was ready, very organized.
The hotel exceeded our expectations; don’t be worried about the 4 star rating. We have travelled to many hotels and have been at 5 star for the last few and were worried about moving to a 4 star. The hotel is only 2 years old and everything still looks fresh and new, it’s very clean, well groomed and furnished in modern furniture. There are 4 pools, they all have different levels of wind and noise so there is something for everyone. There were also many loungers; we always found some whenever we went to either the pool or the beach.

Rooms
The rooms are well furnished with a king sized bed and flat screen TV. The only oddity is that there wasn’t a clock in the room but they do wake up calls if you need one. We were in block 8 on the second floor which I would recommend; you get a view of the bay and in a quiet spot. I would avoid block 7 which is right in front of the mangroves and a bit smelly at times.

Food
The al a carte restaurant’s are outstanding and once again exceeded my expectations. We ate at all 3 and they were terrific.
The buffet is good, breakfast is always great with lots of choices. We only ate lunch at the buffet once, it was ok. They also offer lunch at the beach bar and at the beach bar across the bay (we didn’t even realize that we could go over there for the first few days). The lunch at the beach bar across the bay was the best, fresh fish with salad and rice was outstanding (and the cocoman drinks that are only available there were my favorite). Dinner at the buffets is ok but not outstanding. Not a lot of choices for kids.

Beach –
The beach is smallish on the stretch in front of the hotel but if you go to the area where they lend out the kayaks then you can take al little boat across the bay (don’t swim across, very strong currents at different times of the day) then you can get to more beach and also walk to playa blanca which is about a 35 min walk. Play Blanca has a bohemian feel with hostels that rent out huts and small basic restaurants. There are some fish to see at the main beach at the second last pier and some more fish to see across the bay but the wooden posts that are sticking out of the water. Lots of small fish to see and I did see one large puffer and one small eel.

Tours
We took the bus into the city, it was $18 US. They drop you off at a Decameron building where you get a map and can use the bathrooms and get a cold drink and snacks throughout the day. I would highly recommend going to the city, its is beautiful and very safe. We took a cab to la popa which is a church on the tallest hill in the city, saw Castillo San Felipe which is a very large old stone fort from the 1600’s (definitely recommend making the effort to see this) and also went to the inquisition museum (small but interesting with a very pretty courtyard, I think it was about $7 USD each)

Snorkeling
-we did the snorkeling tour from the hotel, it was $27 USD each for about an hour. It was good, the place they take you to is fairly deep for snorkeling but I still enjoyed it.

Recommendations
Learn some Spanish, not a lot of English is spoken there but everyone tries
Bring pesos, and maybe some US cash. We only brought US cash and it was inconvenient and you end up paying more.

Room Tip: We were in block 8 which gave a view of the ocean and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lilly_travelling_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I recently went to Cartagena Colombia and I stayed at the Royal Decameron in Baru. Although I thought it was a beautiful resort, there were somethings that I wish I had known about. First they don't tell you that the 3 hour drive to the resort is rough as the roads are not modern. And on the way to the Resort I was expecting a nice ferry ride but it was not. It was just a smalll barge! Also on the actual Resort, it is very beautiful but if you need any medical care be advised that there is an extra charge and they do NOT accept credit card for medical services. Needless, to say I was very inconvenienced about the lack of medical resources. Baru is three hours away from the nearest hospital so you have to pay a private doctor for anything you need including an over the counter medication. Also becareful with wild dogs. I was bit by a dog while in Cartagena when we stopped at a small place to get a drink. I don't blame anyone, it was just a little scary. Also, there were no clean towels a couple of days because there was no water in Cartagena. But the staff does need to work on being more customer service oriented.

Room Tip: Make sure to tell them you want a room right on the water because they have them, but you have to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mery m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We visited the Decameron Baru the last week of March. The bumpy road was not that bad and the barge to cross the river was no big deal, it fits 2 buses no problem (previous commments stated that it barely held a bus) They will be building a bridge soon so the barge will not be necessary. It was about 90 minutes from the airport.

The rooms are beautiful and clean. We paid extra for an oceanview room but I don't recommend this as the hotel's idea of oceanview was very different from ours. We looked over the pool and a large tropical plant blocked most of the view. We also did not get our king sized bed but no big deal. We heard many people complaining at the front desk about the same thing.
The whole block of building 1 was practically empty, they were the true oceanfront rooms, but you have to pay even more to upgrade to those so we did not bother.

The food was excellent but as mentioned in many other reviews service was an issue, mostly in the sense that they were understaffed. We always got our first drinks but if you wanted refills you had to track someone down and ask. Everyone was constantly busy so you could not get too upset it's not like they were standing around, and at least they were quick to remove your empty dishes.

The Thai a la carte was fantastic we went twice, The italian was also very good and they actually did refill your wine glass there..many times. The only bar open in the evening was at the lobby and it could not handle the capacity. You had to wait a very long time for your cappucino or drinks, no problem just order them 2 or 3 at a time there is always a way around it. Some cocktails needed work so we stuck to the ones they made well. We suggest that one of the pool bars remain open in the evening to alleviate the long line ups. The lobby area had some beautiful loungers where you can look at the stars and sip your drinks.

The beach has a sandy area but little shade, we preferred the other side where there were umbrellas and excellent loungers (better than sandals) there were steps down to the ocean and the water was crystal clear with good snorkelling. The water was a refreshing temperature and very calm.

We took the day trip to Cartagena, we went by boat (I was skeptical but I did not get sea sick as you follow the coast ). We were met at Boca Grande by an air conditioned bus which took us around. Do not buy the cigars! the cubans were obviously fake so we took a chance on the colombian cigars which fall apart when you smoke them and are not good for much except kindling for your bonfire. You will visit a shop selling emerald jewellery but their prices are not great, you can get them cheaper in Canada. Lunch was at an excellent restaurant in Cartagena, you walk to it through the narrow streets. The vendors will follow you the whole way so you will have to keep saying no or ignore them. The city has a lot of history and was very interesting.

There is not a lot of shopping unless you go on a day trip, the hotel gift shop is small, there is nothing at the airport as it is being renovated, and there are a couple of beach vendors. The prices in Colombia are not cheap even after bargaining most will let you walk away rather than agree to your price. Coffee is also overpriced, you can get an equivalent coffee cheaper at home.

We enjoyed a bamboo massage at the spa, we chose to go inside for the air conditioning as the outside tables had a pool and people all around we did not think that would be very relaxing. We were very happy with our choice, the rooms and ambience were wonderful.

We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing holiday here. English speaking guests were definitely the minority but if you know a few words of spanish or french you will get by with no problems, the staff have limited English and like to learn more from you, they are also very willing to help you with your spanish. Important to note there were very few bugs and I returned with NO MOSQUITO BITES this has never happened to me before! We would not hesitate to go back, the price is very reasonable for what you get!

Room Tip: Building 1 has the true oceanview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Awaynext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just returned home a couple of days ago, and we totally loved it. This was not our first trip, we have been to many all inclusive resorts in Jamaica, Honduras, Mexico, Cuba, DR etc. This was our first Decameron Hotel though. More in details:

Rooms: We had block 4, on the second floor. We really liked it, though it was more of a vegetation and pool view from our balcony, but we were really close to all the amenities. Walking to the buffet was literary 5 mins. Little walk to the beach downhill though, and you must walk up after! The room was super clean, beautifully designed, the A/C was working perfectly (thanks god!). The only negative point here is that there was no hot water at all, so we had to take cold shower! We had plenty of water bottles in the mini fridge.

Pools / Beach : We haven't been a lot around the pools, we found that the water was way too hot, almost unpleasant and not refreshing at all. But the pools are beautiful, big enough with areas for kids, and well maintained. The pool at the spa was our favorite, it's so calm there with an amazing view, the only sound is birds and parrots song.
The beach is where we spent most of our time, there is plenty of chairs, no need to "reserve" a spot. You can easily find some shadowy area under some palm trees. The beach is nice, a little small but still really good. There's another rocky 2 floor part on the side with chairs and red "parasol", there is stairs to get right in the ocean. That place was one of our favorite, it's so pretty with so many flowers everywhere, really enchanting. There is some nice big waves in the ocean, we really enjoyed it.

Playa Blanca: Really worth to go there, its a beautiful place to take pictures and to enjoy the beach. We didn't want to walk cause my mom have a knee injury, so we went to the little marina at the hotel, and made some arrangements with a guy to get there by boat. ($) Took 15-20 minutes. I think the hotel should really offer that trip by boat.

The food: I can't say anything bad about the food, was really great. There was always a lot of fresh fruits to choose from, morning, lunch and for dinner. Food tasted really good, there was a lot of varieties every day. Was always fresh. We tried the snack bar on the beach once for lunch, was ok. French fries and hamburger, if you like that kind of stuff. We preferred the buffet. My parents found the coffee and the wine really good, so nothing negative there. The pasta at the buffet were really good as well as the desserts. One hint though, bring a big plastic cup, the barmans will be happy to fill it with your favorite drink, and you don't have to go back to the bar every 10 minutes. A la carte restaurant were really good, we tried all of them. Italian was the most disappointing one, we had pasta/lasagna just like we would get at the buffet, and the ambiance was so noisy and unpleasant. The other two were much better.

The service: I think that's where all the negative critiques comes from the other reviews. Seriously?! We had a great service. At the buffet, we were not waiting for coffee, waters or for someone to empty the table. The secret is simple; be friendly! Smile, try to talk in Spanish, tell them your name, try to make them learn a little bit of french or English! These people are so nice, treat them like friends, and you'll get the best service possible!

The hotel in general: I think it's one of the most beautiful hotel I saw in my life. Flowers everywhere, beautiful grounds, lots of vegetation, the red & white color theme, the rooms, the spa, the little mangrove path to get to the water sports...etc. Plus, there is cleaning crew everywhere at all times. Lots of stairs to climb though, and the road to get to the hotel is bumpy, but not that bad. It's also really safe to walk there, even at night. Give this place some more time and it'll be paradise.

Weather: Sun is intense there, so bring a lot of sunscreen! We had only two cloudy days (the days of our excursions, so I wont complain!), rest of the week was all sunny, clear sky. No rain at all.

Excursion: We went to Cartagena by bus (18$ US per person) from 8h30 to 6h30. Was great, its a beautiful city with a lot of little shop to buy some souvenirs. The Decameron office there is really convenient. They are providing drinks, beers, bottles of water, a map of the city, snacks for lunch, and you can also use the internet for free there. And they have A/C ! Was a really great trip, super safe, and we didn't have to follow a group or a strict schedule. ( That's why we picked the bus instead of the boat).
We also visited the Botanical garden and 2 small villages. (110$US per person I think). We started by a 1hr bus ride to get to the botanical garden. That was my favorite part, the guide was really nice, we saw one big red monkey in the trees, a lot of butterflies, a lot of little black & yellow frogs, some lizards, parrots etc. Great place (but really hot!). We stayed 1hr in there, following the guide. Then we got back in the bus for a 2hrs ride, to get to a little village named San Jacinto. There we saw the real life of Colombians peoples, there was a typical dance show with a local band. We also visited a little museum. Then we went to another little village named San Juan, we had a really typical lunch in a small restaurant. We like it, but we didn't know it was a 6hrs bus ride in the entire day...that was kind of a unpleasant surprise! But it was really interesting, for sure.
One last thing to say, when they gives you the little book where all the excursions are (about 20) the guy from Nolitours told us that they need 10 persons to officially book it, so most of them you cant really pick them cause they are not popular. For the botanical garden we were exactly 10. Apart from Carthagena and Isla Rosario, it might be really hard to try something else... And I was disappointed by the lack of wildlife, I was expecting something like national park, volcanoes, canopy tour...something to discover the wildlife of South America. But, no. forget it. At least I had my little hour in the botanical garden! =)

So far, It's an amazing destination, and I would go back at anytime!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Killashandrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
7.1 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
324 reviews
9.8 mi away
Baru Playa Eco Beach Resort
11.0 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#31 of 153 in Cartagena
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Scondida
Hotel Playa Scondida
#4 of 4 in Isla Baru
71 reviews
8.7 mi away
Agua Azul Beach Resort
Agua Azul Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Isla Baru
40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Manglares Isla Baru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Baru

Property: Decameron Baru
Address: Baru Km 7 | Sector Portonaito, Isla Baru 130017, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isla Baru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Baru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the paradisiac Baru peninsula, 75 minutes from Cartagena and member of the TripAdvisor ‘Hall of Fame’ for its certified excellence during 5 consecutive years, the Decameron Baru allows guests to enter a magical experience that will disconnect them from the outside world. The resort is located amidst a tropical forest and its architectural design intermingles with an ecological environment surrounded by many beaches, among which is the popular ‘Playa Blanca’, considered one of the best beaches of the Colombian Caribbean, and the luxurious ‘Playa Puntilla’ beach, where our travellers may enjoy a private club and several sports such as kayaking, rowing, scuba and snorkeling. Partying and enjoyment are guaranteed, enlivened with the rhythms from the countries of the great Caribbean basin such as ‘champeta’, a genre that mixes African and Colombian Indigenous sounds and that introduces travellers to the local culture. As a complement to pleasure, you may sharpen your senses with the delicacies of typical and renowned Colombian Caribbean cuisine. From this destination you may explore Cartagena’s colonial history and visit other important cities from Colombia’s northern territory such as Barranquilla, a commercial, river and sea port and seat of the multitudinous Carnival, as well as historic Santa Marta, considered the most beautiful bay in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Decameron Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Baru Hotel Isla Baru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing