We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With very little effort they could do so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Era Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Era Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“With very little effort they could do so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We had a water front room with a great view.The room was comfortable and kept clean.The biggest improvement that they could make is attention to detail.The curtain rod fell off holder regularity .The ceiling fan was inop.But the absolute worse were breakfasts.They would not resupply until asked.They would bring out one item refreshed and then be out of three other things but would wait to be asked.It really became a joke that they followed the same routine every day.Sometimes out of silverware unless you asked,then fruit,bread.This is such an easy fix but everyone staying there just tolerated the inadequate service.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank relationships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
7
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for a dive trip and this is a good option for Statia. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it has a very nice pool and dining/bar area. Rooms are a little smaller than the rooms at the Gin House but I found the rooms/properties comparable in regards to amenities and cleanliness. Would not hesitate to stay here again on my next trip to Statia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CTMcBeeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel does not have a very positive buzz. A lot of people warned me not to expect too much. But honestly said I was pleasantly surprised: good internet, friendly service and a very good bed. The room was not overly big, but not too small. I find it a reasonable option compared to other hotels on St. Eustatius which tend to be over priced. I do think the breakfast could be a bit better. It's rather basic/spartan. I will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The biggest reason to go to Statia is scuba diving. This hotel is just a hundred yards from one dive shop an within easy walking distance of the rest. That being said this is not the RITZ. Room was spotless and bathroom was clean and smelled clean. It's a basic room with a big screen tv small fridge and coffee pot. For the price this is where to stay for diving. Most of the staff is extremely nice, especially the cook. Service however is hit and miss. You will have to track down the waitresses to order a meal or a drink. But I discovered that's pretty much the way it is everywhere on Statia. Be aware.there is a 300 foot cliff you have to climb to the rest of the island if you don't have transportation. You are here to dive, there are few amenities on the island and no nightlife. Once I got it, the food was good and the rum and coke was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tugboat95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

In February we stayed again at the Golden Era Hotel, a small hotel with swimming pool, restaurant and bar with a beautiful view on the Caribbean Sea. We had a spacious room on the 1st floor with a nice view, hot water and a small fridge. The salt seawater makes it a very challenging job for the hotel management to try to keep up with removing corrossion and painting. The hotel was busy renovating rooms, but this was done quietly and without any nuisance. We tried several restaurants on Statia, but the one of Golden Era was still the best. Don't expect a posh or luxurious place nor a very fast service. If you are friendly and relaxed the staff will go the extra mile. Great snorkeling (we saw turtles, one lobster and a few rays) and also a scuba diving center at walking distance. You can walk easily to quite a lot of interesting historical locations or to the Quill (vulcano). If walking is not for you, the hotel staff will gladly help you to find a rental car or call a taxi. The book exchange on both floors of the hotel is very welcome as the nightlife on St. Eustatius is not the most exciting in the Caribbean. We enjoyed our stay at the beautiful historical gem Statia and at the Golden Era hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyRyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
317 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I have stayed here twice in past two years. 2012 the room was ok but the service was pretty good. 2013 the room was cleaner. I also had room 108 and the pics presented are accurate but it was still a nice room. Breakfast was cold, the service terrible by the young man. When the older woman was present the food was warm and kept full for all the guests. But the young man was lazy and needed prompting to get any food or restock the platters. The ladies at the bar were also very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We didn't sleep at this hotel but we eated twice at its restaurant which is actually very nice. The typically creole food we ordered was delicious and fresh ! Moreover, the cook was very kind and helpful, always ready to do his best to please you.

Definitely a good price for value, restaurant highly recommended !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Eustatius
0.3 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
17.8 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Queen's Garden Resort
19.2 mi away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Era Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Era Hotel

Property: Golden Era Hotel
Address: Bay Rd. | Oranjestad, St. Eustatius
Region: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Era Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Era Hotel St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing