We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way, way past their golden era”
Review of Golden Era Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Era Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Worn down, stuffy room, with black mold covered airco unit, jammed doors, no working light in bathroom, instant coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Golden Era Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

Like the island of St. Eustatius, the Golden Era Hotel, a sprawling, monumental structure located on the waterfront below the town of Oranjestad, is steeped in a proud sense of place and history. Like the town on the cliff above it, this historic old hotel is proud to have been and proud to be. The Golden Era Hotel, like the people of Statia, offers an unpretentious invitation to relax and appreciate the calmness and quiet of the island.

If you are looking for genuineness of soul (Shall we call it integrity?) a good place to start is by sipping a famously delicious pina colada on the porch of the Golden Era Hotel. Watching the clear ocean that attracts divers and snorkelers to Statia each year wash the rocks clean you will be invited to look inward and learn who you are--or maybe who you want to be.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoozAppleBay_Tortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

I stayed at Golden Era during a few days of diving in July.

As far as Statia hotels go, Golden Era Hotel fills the role of the affordable hotel at the lower end of the market. The Caribbean must be filled with many hotels and motels like this one -- locally owned and operated, but falling mostly under the tourist radar for one reason or another. Apparently I am the very first person to review this hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

The location of the hotel cannot be faulted. (Indeed, it is right beside one of the island's top-rated hotels.) A few rooms face the sea. The restaurant is located on the waterfront, making it a pleasant place to dine. The beaches, snorkelling and dive shops are metres away.

The hotel has a bar, a salt-water pool, and a lush garden setting. Lizards, chickens and cats run around. At the waterfront, there is an old beat-up unused pier. To the left of the pool, just metres away, are the ruins of an old 17th or 18th century Dutch warehouse, half emerged in the sea. About 50 metres away there are small sandy beaches located in the middle of these ruins. How about that for Caribbean character?

The breakfast is simple and filling. Coffee, juice, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, toast, muffins, johnnycakes, oranges, etc. Not gourmet or varied, but more than enough to do the job.

I really enjoyed swimming and snorkelling in the bay in the front of the hotel. Off to the left in particular, there is a submerged ruined wall with active underwater life just a few metres from shore. Apart from a wide range of interesting fish and creatures, I saw turtles and rays just while snorkelling in front of the hotel.

I don't know what the other rooms in the hotel are like, but I had a large room with a high ceiliing and a large bed. The room was spotless. The bedding, towels and curtains were of a good standard and clean. Everything in the room functioned properly, including the TV (with multiple channels), air conditioning (a crucial point in July), shower water pressure, etc.

The only real downside is that the room (and indeed the hotel itself) is two stars and needs to be renovated. OK, it needed to be renovated years ago is probably more like it. Despite its good points, my room had a functional "old hotel room" feel about it. (I am rather hesitant to say that the place needs renovation because I enjoyed the affordability of the place, and of course that would all change if it were renovated.)

This hotel doesn't have a gym, internet, or anything like that. (For cheap internet, go to the STENAPA office just down the road a bit.) It has a few deck chairs laying around.

The hotel charges "Antilleans" (whatever that means) less than other guests. The rest of us get a 15% surcharge, which is labelled a "service charge". Perhaps other hotels in the Caribbean do this as well to make such hotels more affordable to locals, but I resented it. In my humble opinion, the hotel (with its good points) is already a little overpriced even at the Antillean rate. If you can't get the lower rate, you might as well spend a few extra dollars and go to the hotel next door.

Final word. If you're watching your costs and are able to get a good rate, this two-star waterfront hotel is a viable option as a base for diving, snorkelling and exploring the island of Statia.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank norbertdamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: beneden meer kans op water om het toilet door te trekken, maar misschien is dat nu veranderd .
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29alorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Als je internet nodig hebt, dan moet je daarvoor een speciale kamer boeken. Enkele kamers hebben uit...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aldsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Eustatius
0.3 mi away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
123 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
184 reviews
21.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
18.9 mi away
El Momo Cottages
El Momo Cottages
#1 of 3 in Windwardside
254 reviews
24.1 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Era Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Era Hotel

Address: Bay Rd. | Oranjestad, St. Eustatius
Region: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range: £110 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Era Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Era Hotel St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing